We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
Ranked #49 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hated this hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Staff is rude, we bought buffet service and there was literally no food, manager was not delicate to handle complaints...its a pitty because the building has many pictures of African Countries history and the view to the sea is spetacular! But again, its useless if you have a school with beautiful classroom built with the latest technology if the teachers are horrible.

They should definitely train more their staff and change the way they handle their guests.

BTW, my friends mobile phone was stolen in their restaurant, and employees charged me money to take pictures for us...and guess what, nobody did anything when we reported those things!

Its also sad because its very expensive!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzano_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback. Feedback is a very important tool for us to work on areas that need our attention, and let me assure you that we are committed to initiate immediate steps to correct the area highlighted.
Dear Guest,

The Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam is known for its high levels of guest satisfaction and we would certainly use your feedback to take the right steps to prevent a reoccurrence. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Meanwhile I would be happy to contact you to take things forward if I may please have your details

Thiru Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    56
    40
    31
    37
See reviews for
22
23
22
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We staryed there for 3 nites and loved it! Great service and friendly staffs! Far from the city hassle and chaos....very handy! The hotel is very clean and everynight there's chocolates on your pillow!. The view from our room is amazing...overlooking the Indian Ocean! Easy access to transport as well...

I will definately go there once again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam and taking out your valuable time to share your thoughts. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience here.

At Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, we always strive to provide our guests a memorable stay with personalized services and are glad that we could exceed your expectations.

We would be privileged welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam always

Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

When I arrived in the morning there was no power at reception so I couldn't check in. I was nonetheless given a room where the AC was working. About and hour later the power in the whole hotel went down which meant you couldn't see a thing in the bathroom and the rooms got very hot and sticky very fast - I felt like I couldn't breathe properly. The power was back on temporarily over night but off again the next morning so we moved to a different hotel.

Even when the power was working, the wireless was not.

The safe wasn't working at first and I asked for help which came but when he couldn't figure out the problem didn't return for ages by which time I had figured it out myself.

I accept that the infrastructure is not of the same standard as in Eirope for example but at $170 a night that just not acceptable.

The location and the pool are great though. Right on the coastline with fantastic views.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I recently stayed at The Golden Tulip and I had a great experience overall.

The rooms were nice, comfortable and with great views! The personnel was really friendly, helpful and they always tried their best to make our stay pleasant. I specially enjoyed our lunches at the Sanaa restaurant, fantastic food and again excellent service!
I truly recommend the hotel to anyone else going to Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden tulip dar es salaam.

thanks

Thiru Raja
Operations manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Just come back from Dar recently visiting friends and stayed at the Golden Tulip. I just happened upon it as I hadn't made proper plans. I had a really great stay there. It was affordable and I found the staff very friendly. Food was tasty too.

The place has a charm about it which is very attractive and the pool and views are absolutely stunning.

There is some development working going on, but I bet it'll be even better when it's all finished. Really looking forward to going back! Miss you guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden tulip dar es salaam.

thanks

Thiru Raja
Operations manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
275 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My colleague had booked this hotel because he knows the owner; I was a bit apprehensive because I had read some of the not so good reviews and thus would never have stayed at this hotel. I arrived around 21hh, and my worries were confirmed when there was nobody at the entrance to get my luggage, and the female receptionist wanted that I pay the 3 nights in advance. What if I would get a bad smelly room? I refused to pay even 1 night in advance but told the receptionist to take a copy of my credit card, now what happened, she took it and put it in an envelope which she would deposit in the hotel’s safe. Of course I refused and just walked to my room, 2 flights of stairs up because the only elevator seems to be out of order since years. One evening I came to my room and found 2 mechanics working on the air-condition. When I asked how much longer the works would take they honestly answered that they don’t know. So down to the reception where I encountered the receptionist of the night of my arrival and requested a different room. After 5 minutes waiting in vain for a positive response with room number (the occupancy was about 20%) I exploded. One of the managers saved the situation, I got a room, my belongings were transferred, and as compensation I was offered a free dinner at the restaurant where I was the only guest. One of the main shortcomings: There is no gym.

After all the negative now the positive: The setting is great with a fantastic panorama view to the ocean and the distant skyscrapers of Dar es Salamm, the pool is gorgeous, the garden well kept, the vast lobby lofty and with a nice breeze. The rooms are spacious and clean, for the shower one stands in the bathtub, beds are king size, bedding comfortable and clean, excellent wireless internet reception (though not for the Apple Air of my colleague), breakfast and dining room are on the 3rd floor with the amazing view, breakfast is moderate but sufficient for everybody’s taste. The staff at breakfast, dining and in the lobby are very friendly and attentive. Taxis are always available and it is a scenic and very short drive to town.

After my initial stay of 3 nights I left for Lake Victoria but back in Dar I returned to the Golden Tulip, it has charm and a view difficult to beat. True the hotel is falling short of it’s potential, it could be a great hotel but it's definitely one of my favourites.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I arrived October 17 1am, The man at the reception offered me a room was very smelly due to chemicals of Pest control and the AC was not cooling so when i complained he offeres another room and it was also smelly then i asked to get refund as 3 nights were fully paid but he insisted to deduct complete 1 night, take my advise dont think of staying at that hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback. Feedback is a very important tool for us to work on areas that need our attention, and let me assure you that we are committed to initiate immediate steps to correct the area highlighted.
Dear Guest,

The Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam is known for its high levels of guest satisfaction and we would certainly use your feedback to take the right steps to prevent a reoccurrence. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Meanwhile I would be happy to contact you to take things forward if I may please have your details

Thiru Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Court
Sea Cliff Court
#25 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Property: Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
Address: Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula | PO Box 6300, Dar es Salaam 6300, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Golden Tulip Hotel - Dar es SalaamFor a luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean. Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam, a pearl on the Indian Ocean, is located on the Msasani Peninsula, one of the Dar es Salaam’s most tranquil and elegant neighbourhoods. It is 4 kilometres from the city centre, main business area, international organisations and embassies, while the airport is just 18 kilometres away. The hotel has fantastic views overlooking the Indian Ocean and offers exclusive services to its guests. With an interior inspired by a blend of Arabic and Swahili cultures Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides a unique and comfortable experience, starting from the lobby through to the large spacious rooms. Free wireless internet is available, making it the ideal hotel for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Golden Tulip Dar es Salaam has 84 full-sized rooms, 4 Executive Suites, 2 Diplomatic Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. All rooms and suites have a private balcony and offer all the comforts you would expect of an international hotel on the East African Coast. They are air-conditioned and are equipped with satellite television, a large writing desk, in-room safe, direct dial international telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are all equipped with hairdryers. The hotel offers 24-hour room service and laundry services. Both restaurants provide a unique dining experience in a relaxing environment be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sanaa Restaurant a la carte restaurant, located on the first floor provides a panoramic view of the ocean while Ocean View Grill & Bar directly overlooks the ocean. Le Rendez-Vous Café is open all day for that informal business meeting over tea or coffee, or simply for a nice break, which will not be complete without one of the chef’s fresh pastries. Additional business and leisure facilities include spacious banquet and conference rooms, which provide ideal venues for meetings, conferences and weddings for up to 500 guests while the infinity pool offers that is perfect for a quiet moment of leisure with stunning views of the Indian Ocean in the backdrop. With competitive rates throughout the year, Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides great value for money in an ideal setting. A luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing