We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
Ranked #54 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel last month. Despite some of the poor reviews I tool a risk and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is wonderful and has a brilliant location overlooking the Indian Ocean. The service was very hospitable and I will definately be staying here next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemanshu27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and positive comments on Trip Advisor. It is very encouraging and motivating for all of us to receive such positive feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam.

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    39
    30
    38
See reviews for
23
22
22
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Rooms are large and comfortable. Great pool area and ocean views, but lacks ambience. No bar and very basic restaurant and coffee shop. Overall good value, but be prepared to have to go out in the evenings for any form of night life. Staff are helpful and friendly. I stay here regularly on business trips by choice over supposedly higher rated (and more expensive) hotels on the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bflannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback. Feedback is a very important tool for us to work on areas that need our attention, and let me assure you that we are committed to initiate immediate steps to correct the area highlighted.

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I just returned from Golden Tulip yesterday. I would say it needs major refurbishment. Staffs are friendly but they need little bit warm up and did go through regular training. I felt like some staffs never got any training but didn't face major problem as they were flexible. Lift doesn't work and breakfast is very basic. If you are ordering something from kitchen at breakfast make sure they repeat your order. Staffs at coffee bar don't understand English well so you may end up with wrong one. Also they were quite slow serving orders. Room was big and spacious. I asked for see view but it was a road+sea view. Wifi was free but was not great, they need to increase the speed. Also sometimes it doesn't work properly. Cable TV was not great. Picture quality was bad. Room amenities were simply an okay. Towels were dirty. I didn'tuse their towels as I carry my towels all the time. Now let me talk about the good stuff. It has the amazing view of the sea which you might not get from other hotels. I will go there again if they improve the quality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DHK_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback. Feedback is a very important tool for us to work on areas that need our attention, and let me assure you that we are committed to initiate immediate steps to correct the area highlighted.

The Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam is known for its high levels of guest satisfaction and we would certainly use your feedback to take the right steps to prevent a reoccurrence. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Meanwhile I would be happy to contact you to take things forward if I may please have your details.

Please do visit us again and give us more opportunities to serve you

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I opted to stay at the Golden Tulip because I assumed it would have beach access, unfortunately this was not the case so we only slept at the hotel.

Breakfast was passable however even though I had paid for breakfast I opted to pay for breakfast else where. The fruit was edible.

While I didn't eat at the resturant, I would not recommend it as freshness is questionable.

The hotel itself is in a great location but sadly needs a major revamp to realise its true potential. There are loads of better choices elsewhere in Dar es Salaam.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sir,

The Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam is known for its high levels of guest satisfaction and we would certainly use your feedback to take the right steps to prevent a reoccurrence. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Meanwhile I would be happy to contact you to take things forward if I may please have your details.

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hands down they have the pool with the best view in Dar es Salaam. The hotel is ideally located on the peninsula close to all the major attractions in town. The service is great with a friendly and proactive staff and the rooms are very comfortable and offer great views. Will certainly be staying here again on my next visit to Dar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam and taking out your valuable time to share your thoughts. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience here.

At Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, we always strive to provide our guests a memorable stay with personalized services and are glad that we could exceed your expectations.

We would be privileged welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam always

Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
500 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

For 20000 TZS (if you are not a guest) you can use the hotel pool from 7:30AM to 6PM. You pay at the reception. The place is excellent - you are at the pool and are looking at the ocean, cliffs and waves. Water is clean and personnel ls friendly. You get a towel (even two) and they will arrange a parasol.However, it happened that they had some event at the afternoon so we had to move to another side of the pool, which was without parasol... It is possible to buy coffee and drinks from the hotel, and even some snacks and pastry. Unfortunately, the Internet was down (or so I was told - so I did not get the password). The lobby is spacious but the staff was a bit confused explaining me how to get to the pool, when I came, they sent me to the first floor... All in all, excellent experience in this lovely place. Again, this goes just for the pool, I was not a hotel guest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam


Thanks & Regards,
Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This luxury hotel has a spectacular setting on the coast of Dar es Salaam with a large swimming pool in a dramatic setting on a cliff overlooking the ocean. there is good waiter service at the pool and inside the hotel.
the rooms are comfortable and reasonably priced. i liked the hotel so much that i returned to Dar for two extra days of sun and pool.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDManagement, Manager at Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your generous comments. We are grateful to you for the time and effort you have taken to give your feedback.

We wish to sincerely thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam.

Thanks & Regards

Thirunarayanan Raja
Operations Manager
thiru.raja@goldentuliptanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#11 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam

Property: Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
Address: Toure Drive, Msasani Peninsula | PO Box 6300, Dar es Salaam 6300, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Golden Tulip Hotel - Dar es SalaamFor a luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean. Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam, a pearl on the Indian Ocean, is located on the Msasani Peninsula, one of the Dar es Salaam’s most tranquil and elegant neighbourhoods. It is 4 kilometres from the city centre, main business area, international organisations and embassies, while the airport is just 18 kilometres away. The hotel has fantastic views overlooking the Indian Ocean and offers exclusive services to its guests. With an interior inspired by a blend of Arabic and Swahili cultures Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides a unique and comfortable experience, starting from the lobby through to the large spacious rooms. Free wireless internet is available, making it the ideal hotel for both business travellers and holidaymakers. Golden Tulip Dar es Salaam has 84 full-sized rooms, 4 Executive Suites, 2 Diplomatic Suites and 1 Presidential Suite. All rooms and suites have a private balcony and offer all the comforts you would expect of an international hotel on the East African Coast. They are air-conditioned and are equipped with satellite television, a large writing desk, in-room safe, direct dial international telephone and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are all equipped with hairdryers. The hotel offers 24-hour room service and laundry services. Both restaurants provide a unique dining experience in a relaxing environment be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sanaa Restaurant a la carte restaurant, located on the first floor provides a panoramic view of the ocean while Ocean View Grill & Bar directly overlooks the ocean. Le Rendez-Vous Café is open all day for that informal business meeting over tea or coffee, or simply for a nice break, which will not be complete without one of the chef’s fresh pastries. Additional business and leisure facilities include spacious banquet and conference rooms, which provide ideal venues for meetings, conferences and weddings for up to 500 guests while the infinity pool offers that is perfect for a quiet moment of leisure with stunning views of the Indian Ocean in the backdrop. With competitive rates throughout the year, Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es Salaam provides great value for money in an ideal setting. A luxurious stay with a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing