We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We've stayed here for a few days every year for four years now. We are welcomed like friends, the rooms are large and clean and everything works. The pool area is lovely and the restaurant has wonderful views and good food. We always find it a fitting end to our travels inland and welcome the bit of luxury it provides. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babiedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    164
    65
    12
    15
See reviews for
37
74
36
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Due to business my wife and I had to stay in this hotel for a long time, although this is not a pleasant experience, the personalized attention coming from Ravindra; who was always there to see the restaurant area delivered at its best and Arthur at the front desk always willing to help on anything you need. Really made our stay very pleasant and help us cope with the situation.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EDLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is my 2nd stay at BW Hotel. I stayed for 6 nights. I appreciated the Hotel very much. I will define all the features that I availed one by one.

Room: Big Rooms, Well Decorated with modern furniture.
Bathroom : Big, Equiipped with Hair Dryer, enough Towels and Bath Accesories.
Airconditioning: Centralized AC with Digital Temperaure Conntrol. Chilled AC.
TV: LCD TV with 16 DSTV Channels. It must have more channels to accomodate people from different regions.
MiniBar: Yes
Light: Very good arrangement.
Internet: Fast, Maximum connectivity, Skype Video Chat is possible without delay.

Restaurant: Breakfast needs more improvements but I found it improved since my last visit in march 12. Dinner has less dishes and quantity is not enough according to price. Also, presentation of food is not good. Must improve it.

Pool: Yes

Gym: Yes, but I could not avail as I was very busy.

Others: It is situated 2 mins drive from Sea Cliff and 2 mins drive also from Slip way where you can find Money Changer, Restaurants and Supermarkets. Transport is less available and you need to ask Hotel Reception to arrange it.

Staff: Management Staff is Friendly and co-operative specially, Mr. Hemant Kr. (Front Office Manager) is well supportive and gives equal attention to all guests. Reception Staff is also good but Restaurant staff needs more training.

OVer all, I liked this hotel and will intend to stay again !.

Room Tip: All rooms in the New Block are Perfect ! Room Numbers are 4 digits. 3 Digit room Numbers are in Old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyedYasirAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was there on business for a week. My room was satisfactory in regards to cleanliness and the view was great. The food was subpar. It was difficult to find time to go anywhere else for breakfast so I ate at the hotel most mornings. I did not care for the quality and I’m not a picky eater. Other than that, it was a reasonable week stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2012

this is my second stay in Dar Es Salaam. i am a seasoned traveller and travel at least 2 weeks a month.
i was pleasantly suprised with the Coral beach. the rooms are of a good size and very comfortable with a nice sea view. beds are really comfortable and not hard as rocks!
i found most of the staff to be helpful and friendly.
the food from the cafe on site was great and although i never ate at the cafe but rather opted for room service, i was over joyed to see how fast the service was. Siven is doing a wonderful job to turn around the kitchen. the food is also VERY tasty and I found myself enjoying the HUGE fish basket even though i am not a fish person. :)
my only thing was that there could be just a little more variety at breakfast, and the rooms needs to be serviced a little better. one should not have to ask them to replenish the mini bar or bathroom items.
but all in all, i think this is a great hotel and restaurant with awesome potential :) i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed 2 nights here on a recent trip to Tanzania. The hotel arranges airport transfer if needed and there was a very warm welcome when I got to the reception. The standard room was comfortable with everything you would expect.
There is a bar and outdoor restaurant overlooking the ocean. I didn't get to enjoy the pool or use the gym but good to know that the facilities are there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower110208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

As our company has a office in Dar Es Salaam, I stay at the Coral Beach Hotel often.

I must say that I am really impressed with the upgrades that are being done to the hotel and the rooms in the new wing are really nice and comfortable. Although I do think that they can put things like shower caps, ear buds and other essentials in the bathroom.

The staff are really super friendly and always willing to assist. Arthur at the front desk is always so friendly with a huge smile on his face as the guest arrive, making one feel like to have just arrived home.

Ravindra, the Restaurant Manager, always make a point of coming to the guest and checking if they are happy with the meals. The menu has changed over the last few months and there is a nicer variety on the new menu. The food is getting better and better as they now have a South African chef in the kitchen.

Although, they upgrading the hotel, I have not felt inconvenienced at all during my stay at Coral Beach and I stay often at least two weeks every two months.

Thank you for making stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirl_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
2.7 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#15 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Address: Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing