We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, wonderful rooms and very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent just one night in between flight.
It takes about an hour from the airport but the location is beautiful, on the beach and with a nice view. The rooms are really beautiful and clean.
There's a nice pool and a good restaurant.
The staff is friendly and helpful, and they gave us a late check-out till 2.30pm at no cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orion2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you fore your valuable feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure giving you a late check out without any extra charge which we gladly do if possible.
We look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Downtown Dar Es Salaam is loud and busy. When I need to escape the intensity of Dar, Coral Beach is an ideal place. It's close to downtown Dar - about 15 minutes away. And the Slipway is within walking distance. Coral Beach has a beautiful view, and it's peaceful. The staff is incredibly friendly. Some even helped me with my Swahili. I've always had good luck with internet in my room. (The internet at the business center was slower.) The shower in my room is wonderful - two shower heads! Plus there was a deep tub for soaking. It doesn't get more luxurious than this at this price. I've stayed at Coral Beach 3 times now, and I've always had great experiences. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I request the room with the tub - and the higher up the better. These rooms have a great view, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon for your 4th time.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel has an ideal location close to the water. Some driving into the city center but nothing that should scare you off. Nice small swimming pool with a limited amount of sunbeds. The property it selves aren’t particularly big so you know this place and it's comforts within short time. Nothing much to say about the room I’ve got. Nice and clean with functioning air condition. What more to require.
The seaside restaurant is very good. Nicely priced dishes served well prepared. The service there were also excellent.

The two downer's is firstly the internet connection. It's very slow and limited coverage. In these days hotels should understand this is perhaps the most important thing business customers react on and it’s so easy to do something with it. Especially in the DAR area.
Secondly the breakfast. Very limited choices of cold cuts. Actually non. One type of cheese were served and this was the kind were the slices are packed into plastic. Terrible.
Lot of hot local food but being European this thing are a little heavy for me early in the morning. The last day I stayed there I understood eggs were served on request. Fine but why make the guests aware of this then?

Otherwise this is a nice hotel with good service and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oistein_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
We had indeed a challenge with our Internet as one of the main part "blew" up so to say. Unfortunately we could not get it in Dar es Salaam - so as you say it is easy in Dar, it is in fact not quite that easy as many items are simply not available especially when a specific part breaks.
We however managed to get that part shipped from Dubai and it is all working fine.
Are we are in the process of upgrading our Breakfast offering, in future you will see a very different kind of choice. Many of our Guest however enjoy the hot food.
Again, thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nice rooms. Nice bar and food. The service was good except for a few things.
I was here on a business trip and couldn’t get internet access in my room. Neither the WIFI nor the Ethernet plug worked. I did ask and a guy came up and basically agreed that I couldn’t get any internet. He also informed me that none of the ethernet cable work at all! This is quite annoying, as I had to basically sit in the lobby to work.
They have a guy Arthur who works here and, if you are English, will put on a stupid English accent the whole time he talks to you. Sounded more Australian and pi@@ed me off.
You also cant make calls outside of the hotel easily. To make a local call you have to phone down to reception and they call it, and ring you back o put you through!
And international calls are not possible at all. I am going to have a massive mobile bill when I get home.
We were in the newish wing with nice rooms with god views. The showers were bad going hot and old and changing in strength. It wasn’t too much of a bother though.
I wouldn’t return again. I found the lack of Internet very annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vocalbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
just before your arrival the main distribution switch which provides internet to all floors blew.

Unfortunately the part was not available here in Dar es Salaam and a complete new one was not available either as these are POE switches. We managed to buy one in Dubai and had it brought to us asap. Once the new item was installed, the internet challenge is resolved.

As for the Telephone calls, the Tanzania Telephone Corporation has not repaired the damaged telephone lines to the whole area. We are in constant touch with them but they are indeed taking their time - we apologize for any inconvenience but in todays world almost anybody uses Mobile Phones anyway.

I thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

When we opened up the door to our 5th floor room we were greeted by an amazing ocean view of the sun setting in the distance. It was a lovely welcome after a long journey. Both the room and bathroom were clean and the bathrooms had soaps, lotion and shampoo.

Breakfast in the morning was tasty with a a nice selection of fruits, pastries and other breakfast items. The restaurant overlooking the ocean is beautiful and the perfect place to eat a meal at sunset. Prices may be slightly more expensive than other restaurants but the atmosphere makes it worthwhile.

The pool area was quite nice as was the small sandy beach area. When asking questions, staff were quite helpful. Laundry service was quick and overall the stay was fantastic.

It was a lovely way to begin our stay in Tanzania.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you for your feedback. we appreciate any guest comment. Our restaurant is offering a quality selection of food and our pricing is in fact below other top end restaurants in Dar es Salaam.
We are looking forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

When we entered the room, our first reaction was "waow !"
Nicely furnished with a beautiful wooden floor, our room was great and the large terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean is fantastic. It was indeed very confortable however, when you enter the bathroom, the feeling of contentment stops right there ! It's small, looks old and needs to be redone ASAP.
The restaurant was good and the staff very nice. The tables and seats are not appropriate to the standard of the place while the bar's got beautiful wooden ones.
There is a slight lack of professionnalism upon check-in. When we reserved, we enquired about a possible pick-up at the boat arrival from Zanzibar and never got any answer, not even to say "we don't do it but here is our advice..."
Also, we were assigned room 5109 which is not signalized. It's part of the 2 bedrooms suite #5105 but there is no way of finding it by yourself without the proper indication. How come they can send guests alone to find a "non existing" room number is beyond our imagination !
Anyway, it was a nice stay in a nice place and the slights "gaps" are totaly fixable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.
Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality service.
The Bathroom of room 5109 is indeed smallish - this is due to building constraints. The beauty of this room is however that the actual room with its amazing Balcony makes more than up for this.
As far as our restaurant is concerned, we are in the process of upgrading our restaurant and new tables and chairs have already been ordered.
As far as the rooming to your room, I am extremely sorry for this incident. As the General Manager I am surprised to see such kind of feedback about our receptionist. Be assured that management is very series in addressing this shortcoming on our part.
I am however pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in Coral Beach Hotel from 30 May to 11 June with a short break to visit Mikumi and Chalinze Mzee.
We enjoyed our stay very much. Although we had a standard room for the first night, this mistake was corrected the day after and we moved to the booked room with sea view. The room was excellent and was kept very clean. The housekeeping was very attentive.

The hotel has a great location, beautiful gardens, friendly and attentive staff, and an excellent and service-minded management.
The restaurant has good food in a fantastic beachside setting.

Coral Beach has a cosy and relaxed atmosphere. You can just enjoy Dar es Salaam without feeling like you are in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPersoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family and we look forward welcoming you back as in future as we have now almost completed our new look at our Palm Garden Cafe - I am sure you would enjoy it.
Best personal regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.4 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Plot 956/1412 Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2017), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing