We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This review is delayed by a good 08 months so my apologies for the same.

I have visited this hotel in December 2013 for my honeymoon and I must say that my wife and I were not left disappointed. Everything was flawless from the initial booking experience till the last day of our stay there. Since I am from India and booked directly with the hotel, I must appreciate Ms. Veronica Phiri from the Reservations Team who was always kind enough to extend all courtesies and assist in every possible way to make the entire booking process smooth. She was even happy to assist us with our overnight stay and tour at Mikumi Wildlife Park which was an unforgettable and fantastic experience!

We stayed in the Standard Room at Best Western and I must say that the first thing to really take our fancy was the wonderful view of the bay. It was very scenic especially in the day light. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi with good connectivity. We always enjoyed our breakfast at the Marjani Cafe which had a decent breakfast layout. But the best meals and ambiance that we really used to look forward to were our dinners at the Ngalawa Restaurant which is open air and located at the boundary of the bay. The view is amazing while dining here.

The hotel over all is very nice and clean and reasonably priced in terms of accommodation and dining. Staff is very friendly and always eager to help. I would definitely stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Request for the higher floors which will enhance the other fantastic view from the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garfield S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Operations Director at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your detailed feedback. I am very pleased to hear that Veronica - as she always does - went above the call of duty to assist you and your wife.
Indeed, our Restaurants - especially Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant - offers a dining experience not to be missed.
we are very happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having just completed 2 weeks teaching in rural schools in Morogoro District, my stay (the third in years) at this gorgeous hotel was a delight. As a vegetarian it can be tricky in Tanzania to find good options, but Restaurant Manager Smitesh and Chef Ehsan were brilliant and let me customise my own dishes!

It was very quiet and I slept brilliantly and the 2 local shopping malls were easy to access on foot. You must also try and get to Africraft a local recycling centre, which could teach the UK a thing or two!

Room Tip: Ask for 2105 or 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Operations Director at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear sally,
thank you very much for your feedback. Our Food and Beverage Team was very happy to assist you in creating your own vegetarian meal - we love to cater for our guest in whichever way possible.
we look forward welcoming you and many more vegetarian customers to our Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent our last three nights in Tanzania here and it was a perfect end. The twin room was large,clean and comfortable with balcony overlooking the pool. The meals were good,eaten overlooking the sea and served by friendly English speaking staff. Though sometimes things got lost in translation! However I speak no Swahili so no complaints. The warm shower was welcome after the cold of the last 2 weeks and the TV got us up to date on news and sport, I even managed to sleep through the World Cup final.
Everything was clean and modern and the only small comment was the grouting in the bathroom needed attention but that is picky!! The pool area and restaurant and bar were clean, well serviced and well staffed with a barman who was friendly and pleasant and could mix any cocktail!
My son will stay on his way home too as he has stayed in many in Dar and was impressed when visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Sir and Madam,
thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward welcoming you and your son back.
Warm regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There are only two things great about this hotel, that is the amazing location and view of the oyster bay and the facts that it is slightly cheaper than other hotels. On the other hand, the rooms are awful with rust on most metal surfaces, the TVs in the rooms are tiny and channels limited, the service is okay but the food selection is the worst thing about it.

I visited in July 2014

Room Tip: rooms in the upper floors offer a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Sir,
Greetings to Nairobi. Thank you very much for your comments.
I have duly noted your feedback and am sorry that obviously we have not met your standards as far as our hotel or our food is concerned because it appears that you as a young Gentleman from Kenya appear to have such sophisticated palate that is beyond our reach and knowledge; even thou as the General Manager I have over 20 years of experience in this Industry within the 4- and 5-star Hotel environment.. It is also interesting that many Ambassadors enjoy our food and hotel at large. Again, thank you for your interesting comment.
Yours truly
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a good time, enjoyed hanging out on the gardens and loved the views from the terrace! Real Ambiance ! Sunset watching is best enjoyed from the views from this hotel! However, the rooms were at best terrible i must say,Ok, the bedding was ok, but, TV sets need to be changed, wanted to catch up on how far ISIS is from Dar, and didnt have even a single news channel, let alone movie channels.Food was average, and the hotel staff were nice though.

Room Tip: a good place for those who enjoy sight seeing ...and a gate way to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,234,432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your feedback.
as you recall, our TV sets are Flat screen and we in fact offer DSTV which shows several News Channels, hence I am not sure how you could not find one.
I also acknowledge your comment on our food which is rather a surprise as our Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant is a thought after dining spot. Our rooms are spacious but unfortunately did not appeal to you which is unfortunate.
again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was a memorable experience to stay in the hotel like western Coral Beach,I was impressed by the ambiance, the view form the hotel of sunrise, sunset and the beach as well.pleasant environment to stay, spend some time with my friends and family.Nice sense of gardening and plantation.The location itself gives a glory to the resort,the accommodation is awesome with beautiful sense of house keeping,the service is great and makes me feel to enjoy some more time to spend again.
I would really appreciate to give me a nice service and pleasant stay and would like to spend some more time to enjoy .

Room Tip: corner room suites are larger and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 504gopishankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Sir,
greetings to Canada.
we appreciate your detailed feedback and the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did.
We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Tanzania.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Best Western Coral Beach Hotel in Dar Es Salaam is a haven after a long flight and harrowing battle through awful traffic to get there from the airport. Once ensconced in the room a visit to the garden pub is in order and to sit under the tall trees with an ice-cold lager watching the sluggish yachts is very heaven indeed.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the yacht club and provided an ever-changing vista over the bay. Try to book one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Sir,
as we host many South African visitors for leisure or business, we are always happy to ensure that you have your ice-cold beer and can enjoy the view we offer.
we look forward welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
6.5 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#14 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Plot 956/1412 Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £75 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2017), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing