We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACARIANS IN THE BED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2009

IT IS A VERY NICE HOTEL WITH REALLY NICE ROOMS AND GOOD RESTAURANT.
unfortunalty the bed was full of acarians and we finished our vacations with very bad skin damage untill today.
besides that, the hotel was half empty and our flight was at night, so we asked to stay untill our flight but they asked us to pay 100usd more over the rate. after long discution we only paid 50usd more.
the hotel is to far from everything and there is no buses or taxis to go around. It is in the middle of a very nice area but nothing around. We could only hire taxi from hotel.
The top is we went there thinking to get a last beach day vacation but there is no beach at all and the watter is really dirty as i never saw before.
swimming pool is quiet and nice but no way to lay down close to it and no showers at all either.... ummmm finally it was nightmare to spend a full day there. we felt as in a prisson.
REALLY TOO FAR FROM DAR ES S. ... AND NO WAY TO GET ANY TAXI OR BUS FROM THERE EXCEPT THE ONES FROM THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel and acknowledging our product and services we offer including our restaurant which has indeed received great reviews.

I was very disappointed to read your comments of possible ‘acarians´ in our beds, after investigation we have realized that you have taken a safari in the bushes and we therefore assume you might be having post allergies effects. Please note that our recent risk assessment which carried an in-depth survey of our premises and operations reassured us that we do not have any risk or infestation.

Our checkout time at the Hotel is at 11:00hrs, I understand that you wanted to keep your room for additional 10 hours to catch your late evening (23:20hrs) flight hence you were asked to pay additional $100.00 for day late, but I am glad to see our front desk staff offered you a discounted rate of $50.00, I would however like to confirm that this service is chargeable.

Coral Beach Hotel is located in the ‘exclusive’ Msasani Peninsula area just 7km away from the city centre with over 90% occupancy. As a business hotel, naturally our guests are not in the hotel during office hours. Our prime location with the most ravishing sunsets offers beautifully manicured gardens, outdoor swimming pool and sun deck, Seafront & Private Dining, Makuti roofed Sun Set Bar and 4 conference rooms which has received great reviews from both business and leisure travelers.

On the outset, I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

I just came back from a business trip to Tanzania and stayed at the Coral Beach Hotel - it was a bit pricy but worth it. The staff were all really very nice and supportive. The view was beautiful and you could fall asleep to lapping waves a stones throw away. The view from the dining area was a series of sailing boats, palm trees, open vista - perfect to reflect. The rooms were very big for a single and the bed massive, with large desk, wireless. Good room service. Overall a really great place to relax and really good bar too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldacorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to thank you for your acknowledgment on our product, service and location. I will indeed personally share your comments with my colleagues at our next staff forum as we take guest feedback very seriously to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Our room was very comfortable, light and spacious.

We much enjoyed eating in the resaurant by the Indian Ocean.We had a wonderful evening (very romantic!). The food was excellent and the service could not have been more attentive. Even breakfast did begin at 6am as advertised -- quite unusual in Africa!

Some aspects of the service at reception left a little to be desired, but the hotel was obviously anxious to satisfy customers and to learn from any mistakes.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VolunteerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel, we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the food in our sea front restaurant and the services we provide. It is indeed very easy to forget about the hussle and bussle outside once emersered at our sea front which offers ravishing views of the Indian Ocean and one of the best sunsets in Dar es Salaam – I so glad you enjoyed it!

I was also glad to read your acknowledgment that we do indeed take guest feedback as essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N, Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I would like to thank staff members for the service after depature when i realised i had forgotten some clothing in my room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsAwena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2009

We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback on our staff and thank you for your comments that you enjoyed your stay with us hear at Coral Beach Hotel.

Indeed, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hasnain Alloo
Coral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

A bit difficult to find but great quiet location, stunning rooms in new wing! Food a bit pricy, we enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakobinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2009

We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback and thank you for your comments on the New Wing.

Thank you for acknowledging our prime location which indeed offers the most ravishing ocean sunsets.

We look forward to welcoming you to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hasnain Alloo
Coral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Me, my wife and our teenage daughter stayed at this hotel on the nights of July 6 and July 8, 2009. I have to say that every aspect of our stay was perfect. The staff was excellent, the rooms were excellent and the attention to our needs was supurb! The rate was very fair for what they offer and the sunsets were spectacular! We sat out on the grassy area and had beverages and watched as the sun set. We also ate out there and the food was great. While we were at Mikumi Game Preserve on July 7, they even stored our luggage for no charge. We met Marcel and she was particularly helpful during our visit. We also met Arthur who was very attentive to our needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a nice (beautiful) place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Dar es salaam and for taking the time to share your review with us.

Your positive comments regarding our staff here at the hotel is very much appreciated and having their efforts recognised is indeed very rewarding.

I was also glad to read your acknowledgment on our product, service and location which will help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

A gem. Lovely grounds, small hotel, good breakfasts.
Had a pleasant stay with only a few annoyances. Female front front desk staff surly. Guests cannot make outside phone calls from room phone. Three phones in room and only one worked!
Bath tub stopper not fixed despite many calls to maintenance to repair/replace.
Made hotel manager aware of issues so that other guests would not be inconvenienced.
Manager apologetic but one wonders of these repairs will take place?
Overall, a decent, laid back hotel with a nice Tanzanian feel to the place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2009

Thank you for the feedback as this gives us an opportunity to review the levels of service we offer hear at Coral Beach Hotel. Our records show that the product issues highlighted have been resolved and our Front Desk Staff retrained.

We would like to also thank you for the positive comments highlighted following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Hasnain Alloo
Coral Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
332 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Plot 956/1412 Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2017), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing