We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Africa was all fireworks, but this place was a dud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Africa was our delayed honeymoon, and almost everything we did lived up to our expectations. But then there was the Coral Beach.

We actually were only using Coral Beach Hotel as a transit hotel in between flights into and out of Dar Es Salaam. But even as just a stopover place, this hotel disappointed in almost every way.

Located a cool 40 minutes from the airport, we got to see the city in the dead of night. When we arrived, the place certainly looked impressive. Located on the Indian Ocean, we could imagine what the views might have been had we been there during daytime hours. Things looked good to start.

We got our room the first of the two travel nights, and we went up there and opened the door. Oh my god. The smell was atrocious - mildew and sewage. We quickly requested a new room, and they admitted they had done some work in the room that day. Why they still gave it out is beyond me.

The rooms are ok. They have a decent bed, but the bathroom was kind of gross. The tiles looked like they hadn't been cleaned in forever, and there was obvious mildew. The television was a nice touch because we hadn't seen anything in forever. And the views from the room would have been spectacular had it been during the day.

We ordered room service that night - lobster and lasagna. It took over 45 minutes to get food, so we were a little impatient by the time it arrived. The grilled lobster was actually tasty, but the lasagna was pretty bleak. A hit and a miss on the food. Very pricy though.

We had an early flight out of Dar, so when we arrived, we asked when we would be picked up. The guy said 6am, so we went to our room and set the alarm and were set. The next morning, we get a call at 5:15am. Apparently, they didn't have enough airport shuttles, so we were being asked to be ready at 5:30am. Umm, ok. Annoying, but we had packed the night before. If they had just told us up front, we could have planned for it instead of rushing through a morning of getting ready to leave for a new city - talk about stress.

On the way back through Dar, we had a similar experience. They wrote the wrong time down for the wake up call, so we never got a wake up. Thank God that I woke up and we didn't miss our flight.

So a smelly room, overpriced room service, terrible lasagna, and two botched transports - not exactly what you want in a place to stay. 2 stars seems generous.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2009

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Dar es Salaam and for taking the time to share your review with us.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the great views the hotel offers of the Indian Ocean which has been one of the main topic of reviews received from many of our customers, especially on ocean sunsets, which unfortunately you were unable to experience as you were on a transient evening stay with us.

Naturally I was extremely concerned to read your comments on various other aspects including allocation of un-serviced room but was glad to hear that our front desk staff rectified this by moving you to another room. Both our operations manager and I were extremely concerned to read your comments regarding the food standards and airport transfers but very glad you have detailed your complaints. It is only by guests sharing frank and honest feedback such as this that we can address and rectify areas where we are clearly failing to delivery.

I would like to thank you for this very helpful feedback and I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the future and are able to show you how truly passionate we are about great customer service.

Kind Regards,

Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2009

The hotel was fabulous! The new wing was gorgeous with a breath taking view of the Indian Ocean. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help at any moment. The food was great too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_kool34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Dar es Salaam and for taking the time to share your review with us.

Your positive comments regarding, Food and services offered in our Sea Front Restaurant is very much appreciated including positive comments and acknowledgment on the service our staffs provide hear at Coral Beach Hotel which we are proud off.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Our stay was great, we stayed there while attending a conference and it was very nice to be able to come back to such a beautiful hotel every night. The food and the staff was really amazing. A little more pricey than other hotels in Dar, but well worth the money. The drivers from the hotel we had were all very nice, and accommodating, and a lot more reasonable and safer than hiring individual taxis.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadingSpecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

The hotel is becoming a great conference destination and such review is important for us which helps other travellers make an informed choice on their conferencing requirements and accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging our product and prime location which indeed offers the most ravishing ocean sunsets which has been received very well with positive comments from our guests.

I will personally pass on your comments on our staff, as it is so much rewarding when staff efforts get acknowledge by our guests.

I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I stayed in this hotel for two nights with family and it was truly exceptional. The staff made us feel incredibly welcome and the rooms were fantastic! I understand we were situated in the new building but my mum was in the old building and both rooms were excellent!
We also ate at the hotel on both evenings and the restaurant is in a lovely location on the sea front! The waiters and waitresses were so friendly and could not do enough for us!
Particular mention to the taxi driver who the hotel provided for us who saw us onto the boat to Zanzibar and made sure we had the correct tickets etc.... those who have experienced Dar Es Salaam ferry port will know how much of a relief this was!!!
Hopefully we will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estrellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms in the new wing were spacious and welcoming. The breakfasts were also fantastic. However, every morning we woke to new bed bug bites!! If this problem can be resolved, Coral Beach will be one of Dar es Salaam's top hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timetraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel, we are thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Feedback such as this is essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and procedures and strive to exceed all expectations.

Naturally I was very disappointed to read your comments on bed bugs, the matter was raised with Rentonkil which is a leading provider of pest control and the risk assessment which carried an in-depth survey of our premises and operations reassured us that we do not have any risk or infestation of a bed bugs in our Hotel. In many cases we see our guests who have come back from safaris in the bushes have post allergies effects including those who have enjoyed various offerings of seafood available which are not in there daily dietary .

I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel sometime in the near future.

kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

IT IS A VERY NICE HOTEL WITH REALLY NICE ROOMS AND GOOD RESTAURANT.
unfortunalty the bed was full of acarians and we finished our vacations with very bad skin damage untill today.
besides that, the hotel was half empty and our flight was at night, so we asked to stay untill our flight but they asked us to pay 100usd more over the rate. after long discution we only paid 50usd more.
the hotel is to far from everything and there is no buses or taxis to go around. It is in the middle of a very nice area but nothing around. We could only hire taxi from hotel.
The top is we went there thinking to get a last beach day vacation but there is no beach at all and the watter is really dirty as i never saw before.
swimming pool is quiet and nice but no way to lay down close to it and no showers at all either.... ummmm finally it was nightmare to spend a full day there. we felt as in a prisson.
REALLY TOO FAR FROM DAR ES S. ... AND NO WAY TO GET ANY TAXI OR BUS FROM THERE EXCEPT THE ONES FROM THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel and acknowledging our product and services we offer including our restaurant which has indeed received great reviews.

I was very disappointed to read your comments of possible ‘acarians´ in our beds, after investigation we have realized that you have taken a safari in the bushes and we therefore assume you might be having post allergies effects. Please note that our recent risk assessment which carried an in-depth survey of our premises and operations reassured us that we do not have any risk or infestation.

Our checkout time at the Hotel is at 11:00hrs, I understand that you wanted to keep your room for additional 10 hours to catch your late evening (23:20hrs) flight hence you were asked to pay additional $100.00 for day late, but I am glad to see our front desk staff offered you a discounted rate of $50.00, I would however like to confirm that this service is chargeable.

Coral Beach Hotel is located in the ‘exclusive’ Msasani Peninsula area just 7km away from the city centre with over 90% occupancy. As a business hotel, naturally our guests are not in the hotel during office hours. Our prime location with the most ravishing sunsets offers beautifully manicured gardens, outdoor swimming pool and sun deck, Seafront & Private Dining, Makuti roofed Sun Set Bar and 4 conference rooms which has received great reviews from both business and leisure travelers.

On the outset, I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I just came back from a business trip to Tanzania and stayed at the Coral Beach Hotel - it was a bit pricy but worth it. The staff were all really very nice and supportive. The view was beautiful and you could fall asleep to lapping waves a stones throw away. The view from the dining area was a series of sailing boats, palm trees, open vista - perfect to reflect. The rooms were very big for a single and the bed massive, with large desk, wireless. Good room service. Overall a really great place to relax and really good bar too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldacorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to thank you for your acknowledgment on our product, service and location. I will indeed personally share your comments with my colleagues at our next staff forum as we take guest feedback very seriously to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
502 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.4 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Plot 956/1412 Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £75 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2017), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing