We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Breathtaking Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We spent several days at the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel during Christmas/New Year's 2010/11. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. Rooms were very nice, mattresses were very comfy. The best part of the hotel was it's amazing location. It is located on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. Most evenings we enjoyed the sunsets with some refreshing cocktails. Will definitely stay here next time we're in Dar.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yo_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
We are thankful to you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

Such positive reviews encourage us to set higher standards of hospitality for our patrons and motivates us to go that extra mile to satisfy our esteemed guests.

We were delighted to read your acknowledgment on our code of practice which is designed to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness in our rooms.
We are and will continue to strive to improve on the standard of service.

I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Santosh Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    148
    63
    12
    15
See reviews for
36
72
32
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We were headed for our great safari adventure and decided to stop through Dar for a few days to check out the local sights. We found this hotel on the internet and were very impressed. It was centrally located, approximately 40 min from the airport without traffic. All the rooms have a magnificent view of the ocean. Our room was state-of-the-art with every amenity we could possibly imagine, equipped with all the essentials including a wall-mounted plasma screen; plenty of english-speaking channels; modern decor; safe big enough to fit my computer; complimentary wireless, walk-out balcony; fridge and yes, hot showers. My personal favorite was the high tech computer desk with the built-in data ports, making this user friendly for business as well as non-business folks. The food was delicious and extensive. We spent most mornings sitting by the ocean, enjoying the coffee and full-service authentic breakfast buffet. The fruit was amazing and fresh-cut every morning!

The hotel is conveniently located, navigating through the city center towards the outskirts where we encountered all the beautiful embassy residences along the coastline. We were received by hotel security at a gated entrance, which provided us with some sense of reassurance of safety. There were plenty of places to visit if you want to eat and shop. You can get to most places by taxi, which cost around 5000 shillings, or $3.5 USD.

Yes, we eventually made it to the Ngorongoro and Serengeti safaris, and it was memorable... to say the least. We decided to spend a few extra days at the Coral upon our return, to celebrate New Years. They throw a great event, including live music, dinner and dancing. The fireworks display was unforgettable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niraj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
We are thankful to you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

Such positive reviews encourage us to set higher standards of hospitality for our patrons and motivates us to go that extra mile to satisfy ouy esteemed guests.

We were delighted to read your acknowledgment on our code of practice which is designed to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness in our rooms.
We are and will continue to strive to improve on the standard of service.

I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Santosh Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Great location. Staff very friendly. Food was excellent. Best part was the mattress...sealy posturpedic...makes a big difference. Management excellent. Great place to relax and a very good home base especially those who wAnt to go on safaris. Highly recommend for famalies.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VMoney-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
We are thankful to you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

Such positive reviews encourage us to set higher standards of hospitality for our patrons and motivates us to go that extra mile to satisfy ouy esteemed guests.

We were delighted to read your acknowledgment on our code of practice which is designed to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness in our rooms.
We are and will continue to strive to improve on the standard of service.

I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Santosh Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at Coral Beach Hotel during December of 2008. The staff was amazing. Everything that we wanted from a hotel. Excellent food, drinks and nightlife!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulsey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
We are thankful to you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

Such positive reviews encourage us to set higher standards of hospitality for our patrons and motivates us to go that extra mile to satisfy ouy esteemed guests.

We were delighted to read your acknowledgment on our code of practice which is designed to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness in our rooms.
We are and will continue to strive to improve on the standard of service.

I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Santosh Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

I spent about 6 weeks total at the Coral Beach last Dec-Jan, and am back again for another stay.

Since I've been gone, the hotel has become part of the Best Western family, and while I would expect this to elevate things, for some reason the hotel feels a little more shabby than my last visit. There is nothing specific... just that the pillows don't seem as nice, the breakfasts are a little less appealing, the reception desk has been renovated and doesn't look as nice. The grounds however, look great-- they've done a great job of landscaping.

I think the thing that bothers me is that while to rooms look great when you enter, some of the little details are off-- for example, the phone by my bed is dying, 2 lamps in my room don't work, and the shades on the door and window can be hard to open and close.

That said, this place is still miles ahead of the Colosseum, where I spent 2 nights last year and had to escape!

If you are thinking about Coral Beach, there are a few things to note:

-- the rooms on the pool side of the new wing are actually much nicer than the ocean side, as they have a balcony and a stronger wifi connection.

--the small pool is lovely, but fills up with children on the weekends. I had been looking forward to a lazy weekend afternoon at the pool, but there were 15 kids splashing and screaming. Great if you are here with your kids, not as appealing if you are a solo traveler who wants to swim a few laps or lounge with a book.

--the rooms never get completely dark at night because the shades are slatted and there is light that comes in from the frosted window in the bathroom. I sleep with an eye mask to block out the light.

--The bathroom has a slatted sliding door-- fine for the solo traveler, but it might make people on a romantic getaway a little uncomfortable since you get visual privacy, but not from sounds or smells...

-- the desks have a powerstrip that takes a variety of plug types-- a nice touch as my computer has an american plug and my cell phone, the 2 pin euro plug.

--use the in-room safe. I had some cash and my american cell phone go missing last time I was here. I didn't alert the management since I only discovered that they were missing after I'd left. This could happen anywhere, and it was a good reminder that I need to be a little more careful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCVazaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
We are thankful to you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

Such positive reviews encourage us to set higher standards of hospitality for our patrons and motivates us to go that extra mile to satisfy ouy esteemed guests.

We are and will continue to strive to improve on the standard of service.

We were delighted to read your acknowledgment on our code of practice which is designed to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness in our rooms.


I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Santosh Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

I booked a standard room which was a big disapointment - rather shabby, leaking taps, etc. and as I had 5 days of work combined with a weekend I moved to a superior room the next day which was quite lovely. Stunning views over the indian ocean, nice finishes to the room, free wireless internet . This hotel is great if you like a quiet place to relax and/or work. The pool is reasonably sized for a good swim, the gardens are well maintained and the terrace by the sea has the best view for sunsets. The staff were very friendly and helpful - but do not expect the polished service of Sea Cliffs or the Kempinsky.
I would recomend this hotel for both business and holiday travellers .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2010
We are thankful to you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

Such positive reviews encourage us to set higher standards of hospitality for our patrons and motivates us to go that extra mile to satisfy ouy esteemed guests.

We were delighted to read your acknowledgment on our code of practice which is designed to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness in our rooms.
We are and will continue to strive to improve on the standard of service.

I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Santosh Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

I am please to say that the service I recieved from Coral Beach Hotel was very good, I was recieved by attentative staff who got me to my room quickly. The room was very nice and big, with everything I needed which made my stay even better. The Hotel is well placed/located with awesome views out into the bay especially in the evenings. I especially liked the angles of the architecture and lanscaped surrounds taking into account the outdoor bar, relaxation area and pool location which was overlooked by the dinning area - very nice.

Dinning at Coral Beach Hotel offered a variety to cater for all types which was also fab.

I would definitely return and would recommend Coral Beach hotel to colleagues and friends. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTangaroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
We are thankful to you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

Such positive reviews encourage us to set higher standards of hospitality for our patrons and motivates us to go that extra mile to satisfy ouy esteemed guests.

We were delighted to read your acknowledgment on our code of practice which is designed to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness in our rooms.

I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Santosh Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#11 of 99 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Address: Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travellers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guest rooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savour fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing