We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A well managed property. The hotel offered very pleasant stay. I stayed in a room attached with kitchen and found it very comfortable to prepare my own food. Internet connection was okay. Other facilities like gym, swimming pool were available as usual. I would recommend it for business trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangaslakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience here online. I am extremely glad that you had a fantastic time with us. I will share your feedback with the TEAM. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    48
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
9
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I recently spent 6 months at this protea hotel from March to August 2013 and was overall very impressed. Bar a few issues I was impressed by the level of service I received as well as the cleanliness of the room and facilities. The restaurant and cleaning staff were amazing, but my few issues came from the front desk...they need a firm boss. You can definitely see the effort that management is putting into the place. I'd recommend this hotel for any business trip.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John_Golding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear John_Golding

Good day, jambo from Protea Hotel Oysterbay. 6 months is a long time, and i am really glad that we managed to offer you a very satisfactory stay bar a few minor issues. I have duly noted your comment about the front office, we have undertaken a few trainings and appointed a front office manager. I am sure that these efforts are going to make a difference. We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group general Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@protadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Decent Hotel located about 30 minutes from airport. WIFI extremely slow, and the room i stayed in had a huge hole in the door. Decent restaurant which serves good food throughout the day. Overall, for a business trip, quite decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for staying with us and posting this candid review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay - minus the internet and door issues. Our service provider faced a major problem for a couple of days which affected the speed, but this has been fixed and I hope to be able to provide faster, reliable internet on your next visit. I apologise regarding the door, this was an oversight from the maintenance/house keeping departments as the room was cleared to be sold before the work was completed. Kindly contact me on your next visit, I will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 a long while a couple of months ago, the overall experience was ok. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly but the food was not really inspiring. The rooms were average but clean. Loved the pool, but the gym needs work, its in a small stuffy room and the air conditioner was not working for a while. All in all it was an ok experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Tara S

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to review the property. Ever since your last stay we have appointed a new Executive chef and a few other senior chefs. The menu has also been changed and we have introduced weekly menus. Our GUESTS have reviewed that the food quality is exceptional now. I acknowledge your comment about the gym. As you probably know the renovation of rooms are completed now and we have started with the public areas. New gym equipments have been ordered and we are positive to have brand new equipments in place by end of September. The existing gym will be shifted next year to the new block which will be constructed.

We hope that, with these upgrades in place, your next experience with us will change to excellent from a mere OK. Thank you once again for the comments. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We arrived at 5am on Tuesday 2nd July after a long flight from Manchester. The hotel have been recommended to us by Locals as the President of USA was in Town and our Hotel of choice was full.We had two rooms appartment and its was clean. They gave us lots of water when requested and we used the resturant for Lunch which was very good. Breakfast was poor but that was the same in most hotels that we stayed in.
The staff were very good and helpful. Not our choice but would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2PFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Oysterbay. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. I am glad to learn that even though ours was not the hotel of your choice, you found us of good value for money & that you would stay with us again. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the breakfast buffet of good value, I always felt the buffet offers great variety - but in our trade we believe that the GUEST is always right. We learn every day, so please let me know what you think could be added on to the buffet to make it more interesting. I look forward to hear from you.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again. Karibu tena!

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Average place,located near a big church (Sunday can be fairly crowded but not really affecting the hotel residence)
Relatively large rooms but some got a strange humid smell, require serious cleaning project to get it out.
All in all reasonable to stay and having a little more intimate atmosphere...for those who wish to keep low profile

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Shiko_m

Good day, greetings from Protea Hotel Oysterbay. Thank you for staying us and taking time to review your experience. Extremely sorry to hear that the room had odour, we recently finished refurbishing and a few rooms were reported to be having paint smell. We will check all the the rooms again and do the needful. We look forward to host you again and offer a 100% satisfactory stay.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dsm
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel during a business trip. Stayed in an apartment style room. There were bugs in the room although the cleaning staff sprayed the room. The towels had a damp smell and so did the bed sheets. The food was good and service was very good. There is a pool and gym area although I did not use. The room itself was clean and so was the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Revy8

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. sorry to hear that the linen was damp, I will definitely look into this and tackle the issue. We replaced all our linen last week and it would be a shame if we cant satisfy GUESTS even after doing so.

Mosquitoes tend to be a nuisance if windows and doors are left open, this happens mostly while the cleaning staff cleans the rooms. But this issue is curtailed by the spraying which is done twice daily. Again, we will brainstorm and see what can be done to ensure this problem is eliminated. The spread out layout, while gives a great sense of space, poses it's own problems too.

Kindly do contact me on your next visit, my TEAM and I will ensure that you leave as a happy CUSTOMER who considers us of great value for money.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
2.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
2.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam

Property: Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Address: Cnr Haile Selassie & Ali Hassan Mwinyi Rd | Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing