We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and refreshing”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Was recently in dar again before flying out to the Selous, and I had the pleasure to stay at the Hotel Seacliff. It really is a wonderful hotel and the location is perfect. The staff are brilliant and very helpful and the rooms were fantastic. I always am concerned about room service in town hotels as its an area that is always difficult to control and its a pretty important element for me when choosing a hotel and I was well impressed with the room service here. They have the main restaurant down by the ocean front which does room service and they also have the fine dining restaurant on the ground floor. I called down and asked if they would do a room service from this and they agreed and so i ordered a chinese dish and it was superb. A little pricy BUT the portion would have been enough for 2 so infact good value. It arrived piping hot and with all the condiments and the waiter was excellent.
I highly recommend this hotel for businessmen and tourists alike as they cater equally well to both and i will be back - if i can get a room that is :)

great shopping centre right next door with a variety of fast food options available and all excellent value for money

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kckenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

The village rooms are outside the main hotel complex in part of an adjoining small eating and shopping complex. Rooms good size but quite dark and basic; also noisy some nights from bar/cafe area outside and would avoid ground floor courtyard room. WIFI is free but connection in this part of hotel is patchy/slow - The main rooms in hotel are better so consider paying the supplement. Breakfast outside overlooking the ocean is nice with fair choice of fruit, bread, crepes etc and cooked too if you want it. ATM machine in hotel handy for drawing local currency (in TS10,000 notes). Pool area is pleasant and quiet but service was generally slow. Taxis available outside most hours and the little supermarket is well stocked. So all in all, not a bad choice for Dar.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank DCBLEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Really nice hotel with excellent staff. Very helpful and friendly. Overlooking the sea, my room was very nice.
The shops/restaurants next door are handy.
The bar in the hotel is vey friendly.
The breakfast at the Sea Cliff is excellent - by the sea with the birds hopping about the place - had to remind myself i was in Dar to work.


Would definitely return with my family.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank topdadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dar Es Salaam for business. I lost my wallet with my credit cards in a taxi and the hotel manager went out of her way to assist me in retrieving my wallet. The business centre was excellent in services varying from printing, scanning, and FedEx-ing documents for me. The rooms were nice and spacey with a large desk and enough space to work, especially rooms on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at Sea Cliff for nearly 3 weeks in March and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Location - absolutely stunning, literally on the sea cliff's edge at the top of the peninsular, ok it takes a little longer to drive up there after working in the city but for me it was well worth while to 'escape' and enjoy the wonderful view over the ocean. It is also next to a small shopping complex so you can safely pop out for bit and pieces and eat at other restaurants, the sea food one you can actually charge to your room.

Food - the best breakfast of all the hotels I have stayed in in Africa, enjoyed overlooking the sea, it can't be beaten! The restaurant by the sea is friendly at night and often has a band - you can be as social at the bar or just sit watching the ships, lovely.

Hotel staff - extremely friendly and I found them very caring. I suffered for 24 hours the after affects of eating shell fish in town and the staff were amazing, 'Nanna' looked after me, popping in occasionally to see if I was ok and I was ushered to the hotel Doctor who made sure I had everything I needed for a speedy recovery.

Overall, a lovely tranquil place to stay in crazy Dar, the hotel also was very accommodating when I popped off to Zanzibar for the weekend (as long as you give them advance warning), by checking me out and looking after my large suitcase for 2 days without a problem. I would highly recommend the hotel... it's just a shame I didn't have much time to enjoy the gorgeous swimming pool!

Room Tip: Bring a laptop to take advantage of the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have being staying at the Hotel Sea Cliff on and off for the last three years. The service and staff are excellent. On my last stay check in and check out was fast and friendly. The room was very comfortable ,and the food was great. The Management team are some of the best in the business!! When in Dar Es Salaam the Sea Cliff Hotel is the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The Indian Ocean overlook from the restaurant and bar is fabulous. Breakfast watching the sun rise with the dows, fishing boats and sailboats is a memorable experience as is the sitting cliff-side when the waves come crashing into it--watch the spray and splashes though if you are adverse to getting a little damp. There is a secluded meeting area just over the main area which is excellent for an after dinner discussion over coffee or other beverages. The pool is very nice and the cliff side location is magnificant. Many of my colleagues and I have stayed here many times over the past ten years and it has become our home away from home in Dar es Salaam.

Room Tip: Request ocean view second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlayloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £124 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing