We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Mahe Seychelles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A great place to stay at in Dar es Salaam. The hotel itself is just awesome and cleanliness seems to be one of their priorities - thank you !!! The staff members are all very pleasant, friendly and courteous at all times. I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass the kind words to our housekeeping team in particular. They take great pride in their work and in maintaining the high standards of cleanliness so they will be very happy indeed to see their efforts acknowledged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    195
    39
    24
    7
See reviews for
38
59
29
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel premises are very nice and clean with gardens and swimming pool with sea view. The hotel has a gym, a casino and a hair dressers.
I have stayed in other hotels in Dar and found this one extremely clean and all employees are very helpful especially GRO Manager. The rooms are spacious, with all the typical comfort supplies: Satellite TV, radio, shampoo, etc.
The hotel has 2-3 restaurants all of which have extremely nice food.
One of these restaurants serves as the breakfast area. At breakfast there is a vast variety of fruits, cereals, biscuits, bread and eggs cooked according to your preference.
Next to the hotel there is a mini mall, where there is a supermarket and various other stores and restaurants. If you are to dine outside the hotel I would suggest a fish restaurant which is on the top floor of the mall and down stairs you have a very good italian restaurant.
Although the hotel is a bit far from the city centre,it is located in a very nice quiet area. There are always taxis outside the hotel and most taxi drivers speak excellent English.
The hotel has a parking area in case you wish to park your car.

Room Tip: delux rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishasafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your review and all the helpful feedback to other travellers. Our Guest Relations Manager, Nana, does an excellent job so we will make sure her efforts are rewarded. She'll be delighted to hear the positive mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My business partner and I stayed for a week at the Sea Cliff Villas. It is very convenient, with a good variety of restaurants and coffee shops in the complex.

Our best meals were at the hotel's own two restaurants.

The only constant struggle throughout the week was internet connectivity. This is included in the room rate, but more or less useless.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel premises are very nice: gardens and swimming pool with sea view but unfortunately you cannot swim at the nearby sea. The hotel has a gym, a casino and a hair dressers.
I have stayed in other hotels in Dar and found this one extremely clean and all employees, willing to assist. The rooms are spacious, with all the typical comfort supplies: Satellite TV, radio, shampoo, etc.
The hotel has 2-3 restaurants all of which have extremely nice food.
One of these restaurants serves as the breakfast area. At breakfast there is a vast variety of fruits, cereals, biscuits, bread and eggs cooked according to your preference.
I must add to my review that when we stayed there, I had my birthday and the hotel upgraded our double room to a suite!!!! I really appreciated that !!!
Next to the hotel there is a mini mall, where there is a supermarket and various other stores and restaurants. If you are to dine outside the hotel I would suggest a fish restaurant which is on the top floor of the mall.
Although the hotel is a bit far from the city centre,it is located in a very nice quiet area where most expats live. There are always taxis outside the hotel and most taxi drivers speak excellent English.
The hotel has a parking area in case you wish to rent a car.
I will surely stay there on my next visit to Dar.
And a last note/gossip: I was told that Angelina Jollie stayed there too, a few years ago.

Room Tip: Ask for a double with sea view or a corner suite, which has sea view as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

It is very relaxing and beautifull,the view over the indian ocean is amazing.Its highly recomended,defenitly one of the most beautiful place,and it is such friendly staff.The sea view rooms is amazing .To fill that roaring tummy you get a lovely breakfast,lunch and dinner. So I would recommend you plan your next holiday to the SEA CLIFF

Room Tip: Sea view on the first floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrikaner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I travel quite a lot in Africa, and this is definitely the best hotel I have stayed in so far. It has a really nice ambiance about it, fantastic facilities and is wonderfully located right on the ocean.

Overall impression was very good - excellent food at the restaurant (especially for Africa!) and such a lovely outlook when you're having breakfast - you sit overlooking the crashing waves. My room was exceptionally clean, everything worked perfectly, but the bathroom was very small and only had a shower. You can barely move unless you close the bathroom door.

The amenities are great, lovely pool and nice gym. Only downside is there isn't a swimming beach within walking distance which would have been a bonus!

My only gripes would be that the reception staff weren't very friendly, but the concierge was very accommodating. Other problem I had was that there was a lot of noise coming from outside (I faced the Sea Cliff Village), lots of banging and clanging that disturbed me on one of the nights.

Tip:
When arranging a taxi through the concierge, tell him where you are going and ask how much it should cost. Even though the taxis you take are based at the hotel, this is Africa and people will try to take advantage of tourists. A trip to the city centre should cost no more than 15000 TZS. I forgot to ask this on my first day and ended up paying 45000 TZS each way!!

Another tip: the chicken and pineapple pizza is scrumptious!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

It was my third visit to Dar, and third hotel I tried. Next visit I will definitely stay at the Sea Cliff. The hotel is very comfortable, and by the sea (no beach) so the heat is a bit more bearable than in the city centre. I liked the decoration of the rooms and the standard rooms are of a good size. The breakfast was really good as well and there are a few options of restaurants in the hotel. I was very impressed with the Indian/Chinese restaurant and there are a few shops a few metres from the hotel.
The pool area is really nice, very clean and with permanent service.
The only issue I had is that I booked a packed breakfast well in advance for the departure day, we reconfirmed at night, but the breakfast was not ready in the morning - the morning staff knew nothing about it... Was very unhappy about it as it was my departure day and there is nothing to eat at the airport (which looks like a third world country bus station).
But I will happily stay at the Sea Cliff again! (next time in a sea facing room)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room in a higher floor - avoid 101/201/301 rooms: windows face on a service are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keli_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over the festive season! I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the Karambezi Cafe team (for breakfasts) and The Alcove team(Indian/Chinese restaurant) - a lovely way to start the New Year.

I will also look into why your packed breakfast didn't arrive and would like to apologise for this oversight on our part.

I've already raised your room tips with the rest of the Hotel management team here so we can take action. Pointing out specific rooms like this is very helpful since we can easily identify areas for improvement.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to your sea-facing room in Sea Cliff Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing