We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On The Edge”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“On The Edge”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

As its name implies the Sea Cliff is perched on the edge of a cliff overlooking the a magnificent view of the Indian Ocean. The Hotel is set in a tropical garden splendid in its array of indigenous flora.
Spending 3 nights here including a Friday was a real treat , the rooms are excellent and well located within the grounds. The Friday night atmosphere in the bar overlooking the ocean was mix of nationalities from all corners of the world , good fun was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Many thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    189
    38
    24
    7
See reviews for
36
57
29
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here 2 nights recently before our flight to europe and it was a very good and relaxing stay.

The hotel has all the features you need and even as it was pretty full you felt relaxed.

Some plus thing and some minus then;

+ comfortable rooms, excellent view, very good sleeping quality
+ good breakfast with many choices
+ very good food in general (had a very good prawn-avocado salad and a tender T-bone steak)
+ friendly staff (and its plenty of them around)
+ good location if you like to be a bit outside the city centre.... which is less hectic...

- a bit old and worn down (just some details in the room and public areas, not too much though)
- we had the bad luck of being there when it was end of Ramadan, and the noise from the party in the garden was a bit disturbing... but ended before bedtime, so not too bad
- the taxi drivers could have been a bit more communcative and client friendly
- although many waiters and staff during meals, it felt like sitting in a chicken house with people running around all the time.... but it was pretty good service after all, but a bit unorganised..

So all in all a 5 star experience, and yes, I will be back and I will reccommend this to my collegues and friends. keep it up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thanks very much for the very constructive review, this is 'spot on' and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and planning to visit us again.

Karibu Tena.

Jef Varet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houten
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We only stayed one night here on the way to Sumbawanga, but we will definitely come back to stay a few more nights and are planning to take some friends with us!
The location of the hotel is perfect and the atmosphere very relaxed. A very nice place to spend the beginning of your holiday in Tanzania.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review, enjoy the rest of your journey in Tanzania and we obviously very much look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Jef Varet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

From the moment we landed in Zanzibar everything went better than I could ever hope for. Your honeymoon is suppose to be the best time of your life. Sea Cliff made our honey a truly unforgettable experience. The staff are super friendly and they made sure that we felt special for the duration of our stay. They realy go the extra mile to make sure that you have everything that you need. I woud reccomend this resort too anyone. We really had a great time!!!!!

Room Tip: A deluxe suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Congratulations first of all on your marriage and thank you for the glowing review! You've posted on the page for Sea Cliff Hotel in Dar es Salaam but I think it was meant for our sister hotel, Sea Cliff Resort & Spa in Zanzibar
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g482884-d1982645-Reviews-Sea_Cliff_Resort_Spa-Zanzibar_Zanzibar_Archipelago.html

We'll make sure we let them know that they've received such kind words and they'll be delighted to know that they were able to make your honeymoon so special. We wish you many years of happiness ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Cliff Hotel for two nights in July 2012. Sea Cliff is as close to a major American brand hotel that you will get in Dar. It has the typical amenities- pool, two restaurants, fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. As an aside, we tried both restaurtants and the food is good.

The style of the room and lobby is Afro chic. I thought it was well suited to the hotel. We stayed in Room 229, ocean view. It was spacious and had a window the width of the room facing the ocean. The bathroom was spacious as well. The room was clean and comfortable. One note about the bathroom- the shower floor is flush to the main floor of the bathroom. The shower can flood the entire bathroom floor- messy.

There are two negative things of note. The front desk staff is not welcoming and seem a little clueless. The other being that we requested transport from the airport to the hotel. The hotel charged us $60 for the pick-up. This is an outrageous price- you can get a taxi for almost half the cost. I am disappointed in Sea Cliff for taking advantage of guests with that price- especially that it wasn't some kind of luxury car.

As an aside, if you are staying in Dar Es Salaam pre or post- safari, the peninsula is where you want to stay. Very safe and you can walk around to the beach side bars and such.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful and constructive review. We're glad to hear you had a good stay and were happy with the facilities but did want to come back to your other points. Room 229 is due to come under maintenance for 24 hours the next time it is unoccupied to reset the slope of the shower. We've already re-done several other rooms which had the same slight design flaw.

We can only apologise for the impression our Front Office team gave you and will address this during training today. With regards airport transfer pricing, we outsource this service through the Tradewinds Business Centre. They conduct regular reviews vs. other hotels to ensure prices match the market rate. However, we are looking at 2013 pricing at present so we will personally review prices again and ensure your comments are very much taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great location with good service, good food and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is also serviced by a helicopter which helps a lot to overcome the Dar es Salaam traffic.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have a far better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. There are now two helicopter based at Sea Cliff Hotel run by Whirlwinds Aviation offering leisure trips to a variety of destinations as well as airport transfers. At the moment, we have a special on airport transfers for just $150 pp each way (minimum 2 people) with a journey time of 10 minutes. Just let our Reservations Team if you would ike us to book this for you on your next trip. It is undoubtedly the most efficient and fun way to travel in Dar es Salaam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Group stayed 3 nights after long flight. We found the atmosphere very relaxing, food was excellent and the service too. Lovely views and excellent staff. The restaurant on the edge of the ocean was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for posting this nice review. I'm delighted your group were able to rest, relax and recharge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
443 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing