We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here on a business trip to Dar....have to say, beats the hell out of many other business trip hotels. The building is beautiful, the views of the Indian Ocean are stunning (if you ignore the container ships waiting to dock) and the staff are delightful
Sunrise is stunning and if you are very lucky, as we were, you can watch the whales gamboling...do whales gambol? And if you want to gamble there is an on site casino too
Plenty of choices to eat without leaving the hotel and the upstair bar offers a wonderful view
breakfast overlooking coral watching the octopus fishermen...bliss
Visit the yacht club for sundowners and watch the sunset - obviously

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarriPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Many thanks for your great feedback, the whales were fantastic to watch indeed, amazing sight and so close to the hotel, we need to make sure they come more often! Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed there on business for 2 nights in July 2012. Good to have meetings in the lounge (1st floor) by the seaside restaurant. The lounge is comfortable for meetings. The view is quite impressive with the high and low tide during the day. There could easily be a 3 m difference between the tides. Restaurant is always busy and the food is good whether for lunch or dinner. I have been twice to this hotel. The room is clean and comfortable so I have not really been tempted to try another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for your nice review and for making the right decision to stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I arrived in Dar es Salaam with only an over night stay before i went inland to rural areas. After a long flight it was very welcoming, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere and great food. On my way back out of the country, i overnighted again.... and another perfect way to end my tour of the country. I really love it there...... You have got to try the Calamari starter and the Grilled Snapper main, at the restaurant.... probably the best grilled fish i have had in a LONG time...

Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilmarlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Many thanks for your very positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your two stays with us and we hope to see you again for some more calamari and red snapper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

As its name implies the Sea Cliff is perched on the edge of a cliff overlooking the a magnificent view of the Indian Ocean. The Hotel is set in a tropical garden splendid in its array of indigenous flora.
Spending 3 nights here including a Friday was a real treat , the rooms are excellent and well located within the grounds. The Friday night atmosphere in the bar overlooking the ocean was mix of nationalities from all corners of the world , good fun was had by all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Many thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here 2 nights recently before our flight to europe and it was a very good and relaxing stay.

The hotel has all the features you need and even as it was pretty full you felt relaxed.

Some plus thing and some minus then;

+ comfortable rooms, excellent view, very good sleeping quality
+ good breakfast with many choices
+ very good food in general (had a very good prawn-avocado salad and a tender T-bone steak)
+ friendly staff (and its plenty of them around)
+ good location if you like to be a bit outside the city centre.... which is less hectic...

- a bit old and worn down (just some details in the room and public areas, not too much though)
- we had the bad luck of being there when it was end of Ramadan, and the noise from the party in the garden was a bit disturbing... but ended before bedtime, so not too bad
- the taxi drivers could have been a bit more communcative and client friendly
- although many waiters and staff during meals, it felt like sitting in a chicken house with people running around all the time.... but it was pretty good service after all, but a bit unorganised..

So all in all a 5 star experience, and yes, I will be back and I will reccommend this to my collegues and friends. keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thanks very much for the very constructive review, this is 'spot on' and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and planning to visit us again.

Karibu Tena.

Jef Varet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We only stayed one night here on the way to Sumbawanga, but we will definitely come back to stay a few more nights and are planning to take some friends with us!
The location of the hotel is perfect and the atmosphere very relaxed. A very nice place to spend the beginning of your holiday in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review, enjoy the rest of your journey in Tanzania and we obviously very much look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Jef Varet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

From the moment we landed in Zanzibar everything went better than I could ever hope for. Your honeymoon is suppose to be the best time of your life. Sea Cliff made our honey a truly unforgettable experience. The staff are super friendly and they made sure that we felt special for the duration of our stay. They realy go the extra mile to make sure that you have everything that you need. I woud reccomend this resort too anyone. We really had a great time!!!!!

Room Tip: A deluxe suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Congratulations first of all on your marriage and thank you for the glowing review! You've posted on the page for Sea Cliff Hotel in Dar es Salaam but I think it was meant for our sister hotel, Sea Cliff Resort & Spa in Zanzibar
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g482884-d1982645-Reviews-Sea_Cliff_Resort_Spa-Zanzibar_Zanzibar_Archipelago.html

We'll make sure we let them know that they've received such kind words and they'll be delighted to know that they were able to make your honeymoon so special. We wish you many years of happiness ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £124 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing