We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food and facilities”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice food and facilities”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Sea cliff is a perfect hotel when it comes to food and its facilities. Rooms are spacious with good decor, clean, and nice views. Food is good and marvelous and the have several restaurants around the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avetravelandtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Many thanks for the positive feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    189
    38
    23
    7
See reviews for
36
57
29
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Used this hotel for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. Nice hotel and good service. Meals where delicious and the breakfast buffet is good.

I was very tempted to use the helicopter shuttle service to the airport when I left, but unfortunately had to book out at 4am to catch a flight and it would have been too dark to enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandJZambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Many thanks for the positive feedback, sorry you could not enjoy your last day properly!
Hopefully next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsons Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Sea Cliff recently on a business trip. We had early morning starts, tight laundry turnarounds and a busy schedule. All purvarrangements were handled effectively. The rooms are large and comfortable with excellent bedding. Most importantly, staff are well trained and genuinely friendly. Our next transit stay in Dar was at the Two Trees by Hilton, which should be avoided at all costs, and must rate as one of the world's worst hotels. As it is not listed on Trip Advisor, I cannot post a review. Back to the Sea Cliff: food was good, not fancy but tasty and wholesome. I would definitely come back to the Sea Cliff, knowing I will receive warm, efficient service and a comfortable room.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here on a business trip to Dar....have to say, beats the hell out of many other business trip hotels. The building is beautiful, the views of the Indian Ocean are stunning (if you ignore the container ships waiting to dock) and the staff are delightful
Sunrise is stunning and if you are very lucky, as we were, you can watch the whales gamboling...do whales gambol? And if you want to gamble there is an on site casino too
Plenty of choices to eat without leaving the hotel and the upstair bar offers a wonderful view
breakfast overlooking coral watching the octopus fishermen...bliss
Visit the yacht club for sundowners and watch the sunset - obviously

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarriPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Many thanks for your great feedback, the whales were fantastic to watch indeed, amazing sight and so close to the hotel, we need to make sure they come more often! Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed there on business for 2 nights in July 2012. Good to have meetings in the lounge (1st floor) by the seaside restaurant. The lounge is comfortable for meetings. The view is quite impressive with the high and low tide during the day. There could easily be a 3 m difference between the tides. Restaurant is always busy and the food is good whether for lunch or dinner. I have been twice to this hotel. The room is clean and comfortable so I have not really been tempted to try another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your nice review and for making the right decision to stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I arrived in Dar es Salaam with only an over night stay before i went inland to rural areas. After a long flight it was very welcoming, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere and great food. On my way back out of the country, i overnighted again.... and another perfect way to end my tour of the country. I really love it there...... You have got to try the Calamari starter and the Grilled Snapper main, at the restaurant.... probably the best grilled fish i have had in a LONG time...

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilmarlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Many thanks for your very positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your two stays with us and we hope to see you again for some more calamari and red snapper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

As its name implies the Sea Cliff is perched on the edge of a cliff overlooking the a magnificent view of the Indian Ocean. The Hotel is set in a tropical garden splendid in its array of indigenous flora.
Spending 3 nights here including a Friday was a real treat , the rooms are excellent and well located within the grounds. The Friday night atmosphere in the bar overlooking the ocean was mix of nationalities from all corners of the world , good fun was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Many thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing