We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
1 review
“Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very nice hotel and reasonably priced. Lots of food outlets too and a casino which is pretty plush ! The rooms are nice and the view to die for. We spent alot of time at the pool overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Third floor ocean view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhapsodysDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear PanikK,

Thank you for the lovely comments. The view is indeed very nice and I am really glad you enjoyed
your stay.

Kind regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    182
    38
    22
    7
See reviews for
36
57
29
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I keep coming back and staying at the Sea Cliff when I am in Dar so there must be something right about it. Decent rooms but make sure you book the sea view rooms. Wifi has improved but remember to get your code from the front desk every day as it's only good for 24hrs. If you like fresh coffee you will be disappointed that a country that grows such great coffee only has self-service instant. I travel with a good coffee press so not a problem. There is a supermarket next door that by East African standards is good. Coffee, wine, cheese fresh bread etc. There are also a couple of restaurants near the hotel worth trying out. The Karambizi restaurant in the hotel serves a good breakfast but I have yet to find a hotel that can make poached eggs are not soggy (use a holder guys). The grilled tuna steak is really good, best thing on the menu. Chili-crab is OK but I've asked them to stop putting flour thickener in the sauce which makes it a messy meal and spoils the otherwise nice dish. Getting a low carb. meal might be a problem if that is your preference but I did talk to the restaurant manager to get plain rice and veg without being drowned in butter to go with the tuna steak. Wine and beer on the expensive side but with the view its a nice place to sit and relax after work. The gym is OK but only two running machines so get there early. Remember you are competing for space with the travel savvy consultant who gets up at 5:30 am. Nice big pool if you like to swim. You can go for a jog along the shore front but not early morning or early evening, just too deserted and Dar is getting a negative reputation for muggings. Hotel very safe as is the 1 minute walk to supermarket and restaurants. Hotel staff very pleasant. Organize transfers to and from the airport with the hotel shuttle.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions as this assists us in further improving our services. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and taken the time to pass your feedback to both the restaurants.

We appreciate you choosing Sea Cliff Hotel for your recent visit to the Dar-es-salaam and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Busy hotel with two nice resturants, good gym and pool.
My room was not so nice for 270$ i was downgraded due to that my flight was cancelled and my room was prepaid!! The hotel is nice but my room was 3 stars. I would stay here I get a bettet room. Breakfast was perfekt and the sea view is fantastic

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lussiluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Mr. Lussiluss,

Thank you for the feedback.

Please accept my sincere apology regarding the room. Since your flight got cancelled and you arrived on the 4th of February, we only had a single deluxe room available on that day.

Kindly contact me upon your next visit; it will be my pleasure to offer you an upgrade to one of our superior deluxe rooms. You can send me an email at sales@hotelseacliff.com.

Regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I regularly stay at this hotel, situated right on the beach. It has excellent views, excellent food, excellent atmosphere and of course, great staff. My first business trip this year, and I was happy to have stayed at this place again. Reservations lady, Cecelia Kelvin is wonderful in arranging the bookings, and ensures that you are well taken of. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maistryj2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Maistryj2801

Thank you for the kind review. I have passed your remarks to Cecilia and the rest of the team.

Karibu tena!

Regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daroca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I had stay Seacliff for a week.Excellent hotel for a business,Nice location with good review,staffs they after you when you need anything,amazing rooms,Excellent Breakfast from Karambezi Cafe.I had good time to the hotel no stressed up due to staff's smiley at all time mostly receptionist they were good to me,I have to say thanks to Hamidy and his Manager they were kindly to me,they was friendly and helpfully to assist to get a room with see view to me.The Malls is just next door and its was priceless to me.Many worlds to say but its Incredible hotel in Dare salama.I appreciate Seacliff for their kindness to me.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Patrick L,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to read that the manager on duty was able to accommodate you into a Sea view room.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Amazing location and great service !
My room was nice and spacious. The staff is absolutely fantastic and made my stay very enjoyable.
Breakfast is excellent... especially due to the amazing view on the Indian Ocean !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzongette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Sea Cliff a few times. Always great at the Sea Cliff. Room is usual excellent. Great dining. Staff are cordial and quite efficient. Nice pool area. I expect to be back in Dar Es Salaam soon and will stay again at the Sea Cliff

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
3.8 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing