We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joke!!!”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a joke!!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

When on a business trip you tend to pick hotels that will make it easy to continue doing business as if you are at home or the office. The internet access in the rooms of this hotel is a joke! It was impossible to do email from the rooms. We had to go work in the lobby where the access was ok.

Besides the above this hotel has a policy to charge you the full amount for your stay up-front, not reserve an amount, charge it!

For a 5 star hotel the staff are remarkably unprofessional. I had to ask the cleaning staff to tone it down at night and concierge could not understand basic English.

We will not be using the Sea Cliff hotel again for business trips

Room Tip: Internet access from the lobby is pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Mr. Albie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant stay. I would like to clarify that we do require a deposit upon check-in however guests can choose to pay for the first few nights only. I have also made a note of your comment about the slow Wi-Fi, our team has been working to resolve this issue as soon as it was brought to our attention.

We would like to assure you that your comments are being taken seriously and we appreciate the honest feedback. We hope the occurrence of this incident will not change your view about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Cliff Hotel.

Kind regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    192
    39
    24
    7
See reviews for
36
58
29
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms, nice pool, friendly staff and a decent bar. Ticks all the boxes. Worth a stay. The staff need tips all the time, but that's just Tanzania in general. Far enough from the busy town. There is a general store which is a 2 min walk from the hotel which is handy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scotty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Scotty E,

Thank you for the fabulous review! We are delighted that all aspects of your stay with Sea Cliff Hotel were enjoyable. We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

just one of the nicest places to stay. far from the busy Dar es Salaam but close enough to go. I like the bar, restaurant with the sea view. food and service is excellent, one of my favorites, to relax after the bush, being a tour guide.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Alex G,

Thank you for choosing Sea Cliff Hotel during your recent visit to the Dar es Salaam. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We can't agree more in regards to our great location and how wonderfully close it is to sights, shopping and activities for all types of guests from the business travellers to the vacationing family. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Tanzania.

Sincerely,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Not great as a business hotel location because of Dar's traffic and it can be hours from the airport and the CBD if you pick the wrong time of day but a great place to chill after a week in the city. This about my 4th stay. Great views and the bar areas are good as is the restaurant above the waves. Plenty of alternative dining close by, good pool, friendly staff. What more do you need for a one, this time anyway, or two night stopover. Can't see it as a holiday destination though.
The jewellery store missed sale by not opening until 1030 but that's life.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. the front entrance and the taxi rank aren't that wonderful unless your in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buccaneer-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Buccaneer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sea Cliff Hotel again.

I agree, the traffic is quite unpleasant during some hours! I am glad that your stay here was worthwhile and that you enjoyed our various dining options.

We hope to welcome you on many more visits.

Kind regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I went with my family to stay there for a night, the AC didn't worked whole night and after calling at the reception they sent one mechanic but all in vain he came ans said "sir the chillers were off but you will get cooling shortly" which didn't happened any how the staff was co operative and the hotel was clean and hygiene

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Pankajnourhia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate the valuable comments. We are concerned by your recent experience and would like to apologize for the air-conditioner not working. We always strive to provide the highest quality service and accommodation and regret to learn your visit was not on par with your expectations. We will speak to the appropriate management team members to correct the issues you have brought to light.

Sincerely,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very nice hotel and reasonably priced. Lots of food outlets too and a casino which is pretty plush ! The rooms are nice and the view to die for. We spent alot of time at the pool overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Third floor ocean view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhapsodysDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear PanikK,

Thank you for the lovely comments. The view is indeed very nice and I am really glad you enjoyed
your stay.

Kind regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I keep coming back and staying at the Sea Cliff when I am in Dar so there must be something right about it. Decent rooms but make sure you book the sea view rooms. Wifi has improved but remember to get your code from the front desk every day as it's only good for 24hrs. If you like fresh coffee you will be disappointed that a country that grows such great coffee only has self-service instant. I travel with a good coffee press so not a problem. There is a supermarket next door that by East African standards is good. Coffee, wine, cheese fresh bread etc. There are also a couple of restaurants near the hotel worth trying out. The Karambizi restaurant in the hotel serves a good breakfast but I have yet to find a hotel that can make poached eggs are not soggy (use a holder guys). The grilled tuna steak is really good, best thing on the menu. Chili-crab is OK but I've asked them to stop putting flour thickener in the sauce which makes it a messy meal and spoils the otherwise nice dish. Getting a low carb. meal might be a problem if that is your preference but I did talk to the restaurant manager to get plain rice and veg without being drowned in butter to go with the tuna steak. Wine and beer on the expensive side but with the view its a nice place to sit and relax after work. The gym is OK but only two running machines so get there early. Remember you are competing for space with the travel savvy consultant who gets up at 5:30 am. Nice big pool if you like to swim. You can go for a jog along the shore front but not early morning or early evening, just too deserted and Dar is getting a negative reputation for muggings. Hotel very safe as is the 1 minute walk to supermarket and restaurants. Hotel staff very pleasant. Organize transfers to and from the airport with the hotel shuttle.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions as this assists us in further improving our services. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and taken the time to pass your feedback to both the restaurants.

We appreciate you choosing Sea Cliff Hotel for your recent visit to the Dar-es-salaam and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing