We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Casino and Sea View Restaurant”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Casino and Sea View Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is in the peaceful location of the toure drive...It had an amazing sea view open lounge called kaskazi lounge......the casino was decent enough with lots of Chinese people playing various games...the casino was very lively...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikkyhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Vikkyhyd,

Thank you choosing Sea Cliff hotel as your home in Dar es Salaam.

We are pleased to note that you found the hotel to be peaceful and lively and hope to welcome you many more times in the future!

Best Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    195
    39
    24
    7
See reviews for
38
59
29
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Absolutely great location, great service & a equally great restaurant, also everything you might otherwise need is in the vicinity, great transportation hub in this part of the peninsula, safe at night for a stroll (100 m on either sides, in Africa thats almost as good as a mile after dark), loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacevertex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Space vertex,

Thank you for the kind review regarding your stay at Sea Cliff Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and found the location to be convenient and safe.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I must say up front that this was a working trip, not a holiday. I stayed at the Sea Cliff hotel for four weeks. The staff are extremely friendly and very eager to make your stay as good as possible. We were staying in an off the main hotel complex called "The Village", a small area with some hotel rooms and shops, restaurants etc. Most of the rooms in the Village are very small (408 to 422), (Especially the bathrooms) but, because we were staying for so long we were upgraded for free to the higher grade rooms. (401 to 407) All these rooms are large with nice bathrooms. The management could not have done more to make our stay a good pleasant one and the Cleaning staff were friendly and efficient. For eating there is the "Alcove" restaurant, which is Indian & Chinese food but the best was the main hotel restaurant "Kambezi" which has the reputation of the finest restaurant in Dar and it is really good.
It is open to the ocean so it can be too hot and humid at some times of day, but, what a view at breakfast with the sun rising from the ocean in front of you!
Enjoyed it, and many thanks to the managers for their kind helpfulness.

Room Tip: See the review re the "Village" which is a few minutes walk from the main hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mr. Bonny81,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are happy to know that you found the staff to be attentive and friendly. Since you were a long staying guest, it was our pleasure to upgrade you and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Karambezi restaurant indeed has a beautiful view, we will surely pass your compliments to Karambezi Restaurant staff.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

his hotel has very small rooms but they are clean. The bathroom was fairly spacious so that was nice. There was far more street noise all night long than I would have liked but we were on the 2nd floor--big mistake for this property. It is close to nigh club. too noise parking area

Room Tip: second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Great sea view.

Restaurant serves Chinese n Indian food but we chose Indian food for 2 straight nites. They were just great. Variety of choices for breakfast as well.

Room is spacious n clean. There is a small casino in there which kept me entertained.

I don't even need to get out of the hotel.



Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Occasiontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the posting such a lovely review regarding your stay.

We take pride in offering a variety of entertainment options and it is gratifying to hear that our facilities are enjoyed by guests.

We are also proud of having one of Dar es Salaam’s finest Indian restaurants which opened in 1989. Next time you are in the hotel, please do also try some of our delicious pastries at the Karambezi Cafe!

Kind regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I cannot think of any negatives about this hotel. The staff are all super helpful. The food at the restaurants is wonderful. The scenery is marvelous. If you are in Dar es Salaam, you will be missing a real treat if you do not stay at the Sea Cliff Hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to eat at the hotel restaurants. They are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mr. Ron B,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel

Thank you for posting a great review on Trip advisor following your recent stay at Sea Cliff Hotel. I will pass your kind words to my team who are always eager to know what the guests think about our service.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again whenever you come back to Dar es salaam.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very nice hotel with very light and airy rooms.Sea views are beautiful.
Breakfast meals were very nice with good fresh fruit and nice food.
the conference rooms were also quite large with a very good view.
VGA projector no HDMI projectors and sadly no large screen (43inch) digital TV.
Wifi was spotty went down sometimes but the staff were more than happy to help and very professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mr. PPM2014,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip advisor. We are pleased to note that you admired the spectacular view, enjoyed the buffet breakfast and were content with the meeting rooms.

We sincerely apologize for not having good internet network during your stay with us. Our Internet strength is usually strong. If this problem occurs on your next visit, please do not hesitate to inform us so that we can send an appropriate member of the team to come and fix it.

Thank you once again for choosing Sea Cliff Hotel. We hope to see you soon!

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing