We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed here three times. It is a great hotel, a few downsides, but mostly great.

The pool is fantastic, with an awesome view. The bar service at the pool can be slow sometimes, especially if there are a lot of people, but be patient and nice to the servers and you get what you want. The pool area is very clean and orderly. The grounds of the hotel are very pretty too, lots of nice landscaping. No beach access but good ocean view.

The gym is very good, lots of great weights, machines, and cardo equipment in good condition and with an attendent. The gym is well air conditioned so it is very comfortable to work out in. Open 24 hours.

The restaurants are top notch. They are more expensive than area restautants, but that is to be expected of a hotel restautant. Again the view can't be beat.

The breakfast is the hotel's high point. Wonderful selection, eggs and combos to order that are included in the price. The servers don't always understand your English, but speak slowly and point at the menu and you will get what you want. They are very attentive if you are nice to them.

The rooms are nice, clean, beds comfortable. The A/C doesn't chill your room, but it is OK. The ocean front rooms are way cooler as they don't catch the afternoon sun. The city view rooms heat up faster and cool slower. Also, for some reason, the wifi works better on the ocean front rooms.

The area is awesome, with a great little shopping center next door with a grocery store. Buy your drinks at the supermarket next door, it is about 1/3 the price of the hotel drinks. You can put your stuff in the minibar fridge, but beware, the maids are used to seeing the minibar stacked a certain way and may charge you if you alter the items in there and you will have to argue the bill.

They also offer a grab and go breakfast of coffee tea and pastries in the lobby if you have to leave early. This is nice for early meetings.

The casino is pretty smoky, I didn't care for it.

If you have to go downtown to work, the drive can be a pain. Get a driver that knows shortcuts and you will be ok. But still at rush hour, plan at least 45 min to get anywhere down town and anytime to the airport is at least 1 hour, sometimes more.
You do have an ATM at the hotel too.

Room Tip: Oceanfront has better wifi and don't get the afternoon sun so stay cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tivo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Tivo R,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review about the property and highlighting some of our top features!

The five star rating you have accredited is gratifying and it gives us immense pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at Sea Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel, service was great. Great ambience and decor. Enjoyed my meals at Karembezi restaurant. Had a good stay and their conference rooms were up to par.
Small problem, but not alarming, was with their wifi, I hope they have worked on it by now. Could connect to iPad but had problems connecting with laptop.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Abud J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Abud J,

Thank you choosing Sea Cliff Hotel as your accommodation and conference venue.

We appreciate your comments about the ambience and decor and would sincerely like to apologize for the WiFi connection. Next time you are staying at the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact the duty manager for assistance.

We hope to accommodate you on many more visits.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed overnight but the staff were all friendly and helpful. Room extended until 3pm as i had a late afternoon departure and despite the fact, due to a mix up, i checked out at 7.30 am! A few 'exotic' characters at the cafe bar and the casino but nothing too concerning. Well worth a stay once you battle through the city traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveiraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Daveiraq,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn that you found the hotel to be well worth your stay and that the team was
able to arrange a late checkout upon request.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again hopefully on a longer stay next time!

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My favorite hotel in Dar Es Salam. Great rooms with seaview and wonderful calm location. Staff makes you feel very welcome. This time I was ill on arrival and customer service manager Nana quickly arranged for the hotel doctor and nurse to see me in my room straight after checking in. That really is super service. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotteashanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Charlotteashanti,

Thank you for sharing wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is truly flattering to be addressed as favourite hotel by our guests. We are pleased to learn that your stay was comfortable and really appreciate the remarks about our location, rooms, friendly staff and prompt service. Nana, our guest relations manager, goes above and beyond to ensure that every guest is well taken care of.

It was a great pleasure accommodating you and we look forward to meeting you on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel has a nice casual atmosphere, the rooms are classic,lovely and have beautiful seaviews. I loved the evening meals outside on the terrace at the Karimbeze. We also tried their fine dinning restaurant (India/Chinese) and weren't disappointed. What more could you ask for when starting a new adventure

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear CockyKK,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled hear that you had an incredible stay with us during your time here in Tanzania.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is clean, friendly staff and good food options within the hotel. The breakfast in the AM is awesome and delicious. Hotel staff can assist with any questions about local attractions and getting around. The pool is beautiful and the view of the ocean is unreal. Def worth it!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank YankeeBoy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Yankeeboy30,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Sea Cliff Hotel and we thank you for sharing your generous feedback on TripAdvisor.

Your comments on cleanliness, restaurants, and especially the service provided by our team are very rewarding.

We are happy to learn that your stay with us was comfortable and hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am living in Dar and have used a number of their facilities. They have the best customer service in the area, with staff who know how to make you feel special. Don't hesitate to visit there- they also have stunning views across the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank alluringsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Alluringsent,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Your generous compliments of our staff being friendly and the service being fantastic are very inspiring.

We look forward to your continued visits.

Warm Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#4 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
535 reviews
5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
731 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#9 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
406 reviews
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £184 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing