We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasurable oasis in a crowded noisy city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“pleasurable oasis in a crowded noisy city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Here again (third time in a week) our room was not ready at 1.45 p.m. and didn't become so until 2.30, but then we were upgraded to their best suite. In 38 degree heat it's still annoying, however. This is really a business rather than a resort hotel and the clientele reflect that. Decent restaurants, not ridiculously expensive. Good pool. Surprisingly good curio and souvenir shop, not outrageously priced, if you don't feel like braving the infamous Dar traffic to visit the markets. Breakfast service very early in the morning is not great, surprisingly as many guests leave early for the airport to miss the rush hour. Rooms are quiet and have great views along the cliff and over the ocean. At these prices I rather objected to having to pay for web access to print out my BA boarding pass.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    186
    38
    23
    7
See reviews for
36
57
29
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

This is a new and improved Sea Cliff. The old hotel burned down and a new one was built. The old hotel had severe problem with mold and mildew. The new complex has upgraded the bed, the rooms, TV, bathroom, etc. and now is comparable to many other first class hotels in Africa. The bed was very comfortable, the TV worked well and the view from the ocean-facing room was fine. The restaurant provided tasty food and cold beer, although there are several other restaurants right outside the gate, so there are plenty of choices. Make sure to try the Chinese restaurant in the shopping complex across the street. The staff who catered to us during the conference were friendly and helpful. The front desk could be more efficient - but they were friendly. I haven't stayed at other Dar hotels in several years so I am not sure how the new Sea Cliff compares, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

While the hotel was OK, I had relentless problems.

The front desk staff were incompetent, rude and totally dismissive. I was prevented from leaving to catch a plane when I tried to check out at 2.30am even though I had paid my bill the day before. I was told that I had not paid enough and a list of bogus items was produced. The driver of the airport transfer was forbidden from taking me to catch my plane as I was bullied into paying charges that I had not incurred. A manager finally arrived who made things much worse and was even ruder to me. It took over half an hour to resolve-in the middle of the night!

A similar incident occured when one of my colleagues tried to check out.

I also had problems checking in when I was told that I was in the Sea Cliff Village. The room was disgusting! It was in a compound in the shopping mall. It was malodorous, tiny and lacking any natural light and cost $170 a night. I refused to accept it and asked for a proper room in the hotel. I was told that this would cost $350 a night!!! The place is a farce!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speakoutLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and found this a big, impersonal, mainly business-oriented hotel. We stayed in a lovely room, however we found the service inferior. Some staff do not understand English adequately. The food was truly international - steaks, burgers, etc. but nothing that represented local dishes. There was a lack of towels available in the pool area, and again, service was slow. A disappointment. Nice location. We took a guided tour around Dar Es Salaam which was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Modern hotel in Dar , very comfortable , reasonable rates and good food.
Good pool , auto bank , competent friendly staff. All mod cons.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed for only one night unfortunately - would have stayed here for all of our stay had we known of the Hotel earlier.
Spacious and very comfortable with fantastic rooms and bathrooms.
Great selection of food .
Enjoyed the outside bar.
I was up at 4.30 am the following morning for an early flight and noticed that the Manager [or owner] was doing an outside inspection with his family and staff - good to see the management taking such serious care .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTILEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

The Sea Clff is in a great location on the coast with nice views. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Amenities include a gym, pool and small casino. Overall I found the service and food to be good and would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turksmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#11 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing