We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Africa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$71
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western CBD Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$171
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sapphire(Dar es Salaam)
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
90
202
94
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
202
94
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restauranttop floorpleasant roomrenovations goingclub roomnice hotelsmall gymmeeting roomharbour viewexcellent breakfastcentral locationspent one nightclean roomsenjoyed my stayafricazanzibarbusiness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel has very good location , has well appointed rooms , good value for money .
It has a casino for entertainment as well. !
An Indian menu in the speciality restaurent is an added attarction .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOSIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Trip Advisor member,

At the oustet I would like to thank you for posting the review of the hotel.

It very pleasing to note that you liked the hotel and the services. Your compliments on the Indian menu at the all day diner has been noted. I shall pass the same on to the kitchen team. Thank you for appreciating the quality of the rooms and for having felt that we were adequate value for money. It feels good to read coments such as yours. It just re-iterates that the team is on the correct path in regards to guest services.

Looking forward to hosting your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Hospitality of all employees is Good.
It is my 4th trip to Dar es Salaam and stay in New Africa Hotel.
Every employ remembers me by name, I am happy for the concerne of all staff to the Gust, especially by the Customer Relations.
Hope that you will maintain this type of Hospitality to each and every gust
For repeated and regular customers if you introduce some schemeto add some points and benifits based on the points it will be of enchouragement to the gusts and benifit th Hotel.
Hope that you will tke this as a suggestion.
Dr. Pamidi

Room Tip: Regular fruits of gusts choic at free of cost at least to the long atanding gusts (at present only at chech in)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamidi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Dr.Pamidi,

Thank you for posting a review of the hotel.

Its very pleasing to note that the hotel is your choice of destination whilst visiting Dar es Salaam. We value your patronage and hope that we are able to consistently ensure that you have a pleasant stay. I shall share your comments with the team and am sure that it would be a huge source of motivation for them. On the issue of a loyalty programme, we do have a miles programme thats available for guest from India as they can redeem the miles all over the various Sarovar hotels. Request if you were to contact the hotel regarding the same.

Looking forward to hosting your next visit to Dar.

Warm regards,

Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Well i am a regular customer of this hotel since 11 years and i am sorry to say that the carpets in the lobby do really need a change as sometimes they smell awfull. Otherwise it is just like my home when i am away from my home , the most comfortable oplace to live in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aadi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of the hotel.

We are pleased that you like the hotel and that its a destination of choice for you. Your comment on the carpet has been noted. I have shared the same with the housekeeping team and am sure that you would not have reason to complain on your forthcoming visit. Thank you for your candid feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The staff - right from the usher, the receptionists and the waiters at Bandari, All staff exhibited a lot of professionalism and understanding...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for appreciating the services of our team members. The team works hard to ensure that guest such as you are taken good care of. Its nice to hear positive feedback affirming the same. I shall share this with the team. I am sure that they will be super motivated.

Looking forward to host your stay at the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

No complaints. very clean, great breakfast, beautiful room, great location to ferry (2 min walk), and close to airport (10 min car).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for the review of the hotel.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Glad that you found the hotel conveniently located. This is something that a lot of guests have written about and are thankful for. Commuting within the city can be tedious at times and proximity to key destinations is usually ideal. Thank you for the positive feedback on the breakfast and the rooms. I shall share the same with the team. I am sure that they will be chuffed with the feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews