We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel if slightly dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peacock Hotel Limited
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel if slightly dated.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The double room with private bathroom cost us EURO 100 per night (October 2012). They first quote us USD 130. The room on the 6th floor had views towards Mosque Street and Bibi Titi Mohamed Street. Nice bed and large television. The warm water for the bath took a while to warm up but was sufficient.

Free internet access, we used the computers in their Business Center after getting a voucher with code from Reception. Breakfast was very nice, a good range of food from Continental to English Breakfast. Staff were friendly. Enjoyed our stay here alot.

Room Tip: We told reception exactly what type of room we wanted (balcony with a view) and they showed us a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    44
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
6
25
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

At the prices Peacock Hotel charges for a room, things should work.
On 13 Aug 2013 in room 504 the TV remote did not work but to their credit was replaced. However there was no tea making facility as advertised and as in our companion’s room. After a number of requests, a tea tray was produced and the light on the kettle was checked but the kettle did not heat the water.
On 19 Aug 2013 in the same room 504 again there was no tea making facility. After three calls to reception and over an hour later a tray was produced. An apology was proffered but by then too late for tea.In room 505 the TV did not work properly only getting two channels with snow effect.
When we checked in we had asked for the room to be sprayed as no nets are provided nor are the French windows screened and as on our last stay in that room there were mosquitoes which appeared to come from the en suite. This was never done.
Obviously the room cleaner does not check that everything is working or does not report it when not working.
Shame about the small things otherwise a reasonable place conveniently situated.

Room Tip: For a quiet night’s sleep on Grill Nights, currently Mondays, avoid rooms overlooking the pool e.g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okonkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice about this hotel: Good, central location, very friendly staff, clean and rather large rooms with safe lockers and tea facilities, wifi is working very well, breakfast and diner is nothing special, but okay. The rooms are quite even though the hotel is on a busy road, the view on the park is nice.
But I also had some bad experiences: When I came for the first time to Dar in the middle of the night, I had ordered an airport transfer and they had forgotten about it, so I was all alone without knowing anybody at the airport. Then they gave me a room without safe locker, saying no other room was available. At another occasion I had a problem with opening the safe locker, but I needed the content quite badly. They kept saying the guy to help me would be coming in a few minutes, but it took 6 hours - then why not admit he will not be around for a while. That drove me nuts. If you have a room quite at the top of the building the noise from the life music on certain days can be very loud and annoying.
Still I keep coming back, because I do not know any better hotel in Dar for that price

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eulenspiegeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

As a returning visitor I always like to stay in this hotel. Hotel is located near the center of Dar. The staff is very competent, helpful and friendly. Room service and cleaning is excellent. I always feel at home! I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The rat running past us from the pool deck into the hotel summed up the experience. Overcharged by the front desk. Dirty pool. The room did not have a minibar or room safe - as advertised ("sorry we don't have another room") No table lamp - anywhere in the room just one florescent bulb overhead. Breakfast was average. This would be a hotel room "of last resort". I'm sure there are much better hotels for the money in DAR.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cielopictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is located on one of the main streets of Dar, in the night up to 15 min drive from airport. pretty reasonable prices, cleanness makes this hotel good option for one night sleep in between the flights.

welcome was pleasant, there is a free wifi, working pretty well, rooms are small, but clean! water, tea and coffee in the rooms, views from balcony not really welcoming.

we tried dinner in the resto at the basement, indian food pretty ok, even if restaurant looks really cheapy, cheap asian (indian) decor.

but 2 issues why i put only 2 stars are different,
- we have ordered wake up call for 2:45 am (early flight) - there was no wake up call as the guy at the reception was sleeping ........(shoes off, well installed in the sofa)
- morning shower at 2:50??? yes, this will wake you up as there was no hot water

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tequila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel is very clean, staff are prompt and very kind especially the women who work in the restaurant. The food is very delicious and the festival of Tanzania on Wednesday nights is a great treat. I do think this hotel is a little overpriced.

The pool is pretty to look at but I doubt if anyone has ever used it. It does have wireless out there and it's nice to work on the tables.

The showers do not have hot water. It's cold to lukewarm at best.

Ask for a room -01 to -10 all other rooms in the middle of the hotel are very dark.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#40 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#65 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City Center
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City ...
#39 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Hotel Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel Limited

Property: Peacock Hotel Limited
Address: Bibi Titi Mohamed Street | PO Box 70270, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Hotel Limited 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and personal calm will greet you as you walk into your home-away-from-home in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Offering authentic Tanzanian hospitably, the hotel originally commenced operations in 1992, and stands as one of the city's premier hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Ideally situated in the heart of Dar es Salaam, Peacock Hotels - City Centre & All Suites offers a great location with excellent value. It is strategically located in the city's dynamic business, financial, government offices, shopping, entertainment and educational hubs and within walking distance of connection by boat to Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Jovago.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peacock Hotel Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing