We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little to complain about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peacock Hotel Limited
Ranked #58 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little to complain about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed here for 5 days for a study abroad so I do not know what we paid nor how arrangements went to book, but this hotel was very nice. After traveling to very poor areas in Tanzania this was a surprise to be in such a nice place. We ate dinner each morning at the hotel buffet style and it was delicious. Liver and meats were odd as breakfast food for Americans but there was plenty of variety. Staff were all helpful and nice. I ran into the manager in the elevator and he was very welcoming. The door key went out a few times and we had an internet issue once and they promptly helped with our issues. Internet was better than expected and I could finally Skype with my family. The hotel decorations were very African and amazing. Even the flooring was nice. I liked the location so I could walk outside and observe big city Tanzania. Shops everywhere. Only negatives would be the showers were tiny and water spilled everywhere each shower and some in our group had no hot water the whole time. Our sheets were changed each day and we got new towels each day. Loved the in room safe and outside pool area. Great for listening to the call to prayer during Ramadan.... amazing to hear!

Room Tip: Get a higher room so you get hot water. Ask for a window view or you are stuck with a dark alley vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    43
    22
    13
See reviews for
6
24
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I usually stay in Peacock City Centre when coming to Dar and decided to write a second comment with a more positive feedback on this hotel.
The good thiings about the hotel: free WIFI access that works most of the times, nice and spacious clean rooms with safe locker and tea facilities, friendly staff.
The water is not always hot, but at this stay it was most of the times.
They now got a small gym working and the pool is nice for a short swim when you return from work. Seems to be a place well liked by many travellers from all over the world. Price is okay for what you get. It is well located. Not far to the city center, to the airport and to the ferry to Zanzibar.
Not particularly good is the breakfast room as it always smells of old cookinig oil, breakfast is nothing special. The staff at the pool bar is slow and they take their time to attend their clients

Room Tip: Choose a room on the right side of the building. It should be higher than the 3rd floor, rather the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eulenspiegeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arusha
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is an average one but terribly overpriced for its service; staff was friendly; bathrooms need a huge makeover, wifi pretty poor and food equally poor; pretty noisy as i could hear the people next door, cleaning stuff were making noise at 6:30am; foodwise, they offered certain type of food but after ordering it was something else; if you can book the ProteA hotel, unfortunately was fully booked but a million dollars better, location, service, rooms, food, service, pool, gym and everything else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maricuqui6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
373 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just went here for big screen tv (world cup) and drinks
As the title say, i didn't sleep here but the hotel in general looked alright. We where here during a Monday when they have the bbq buffet, that was nice but a bit pricy (30 000 at the time), don´t try to ask for a cocktail (didn't know what rum and coke was even if i could order rum AND coke and mix it myself) The pool area was pretty nice and a nice place to hangout and watch the football.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TozCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
361 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have been here 3 years ago and returned for a 4-night stay for business reasons in Februay 2014. The hotel has been updated somewhat in the meantime. It is not a fancy business hotel but it is OK if you need a clean hotel room with bathroom, desk, airco, and friendly staff behind the reception desk. The hotel is centrally located and the area feels safe. I had a room on the 6th floor.

The big problem was the in-room WiFi, which hardly ever worked during my stay, although a technician spent hours to get it fixed. He just disappeared leaving me with the problem. I complained two times but I was not offered another room. In the hotel lobby wifi worked, but airco is very limited there so it not a place where you want to spent the evening doing your business. If the hotel will manage to fix the internet problem I will return, otherwise I have to find a better place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was looking for somewhere reasonably comfortable and inexpensive for a group on a volunteering trip. We didnt have the budget for anything too smart and this was perfect. The staff are very helpful and friendly and everything is very clean and everything works which is not normally the case in inexpensive hotels in Africa. They have a good pool with a bar and the food is excellent.
I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Africa in this sort of price range and this is by far the best so while there are undoubedly fancier places this is great value and I would certainly be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choma, Zambia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three days in early January 2014. Couldn't fault it much but couldn't rave about it either. More like a mid of range establishment apart from the the wonderful pool on the third floor. Breakfast was rather neither here nor there. The biggest downside I think was the drinks were not enough. If you requested for a drink, the default serving is a warm one! ( I guess this is TZ culture) Ask for a cold drink and it is not cold enough. Overall perfect location despite the vendors in the back alley and the unwelcoming views of the old concrete buildings which so much "uglify" Dar Es Salaam.

Room Tip: The rooms on the southern side have a better view of the cityscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LubsNalumango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#45 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#25 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Hotel Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel Limited

Property: Peacock Hotel Limited
Address: Bibi Titi Mohamed Street | PO Box 70270, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Hotel Limited 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and personal calm will greet you as you walk into your home-away-from-home in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Offering authentic Tanzanian hospitably, the hotel originally commenced operations in 1992, and stands as one of the city's premier hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Ideally situated in the heart of Dar es Salaam, Peacock Hotels - City Centre & All Suites offers a great location with excellent value. It is strategically located in the city's dynamic business, financial, government offices, shopping, entertainment and educational hubs and within walking distance of connection by boat to Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peacock Hotel Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing