We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in dar es Salam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

In may 2012 my wife and I stayed in this hotel for 19 days. The hotel is centrally situated in the city centre, has excellent staff who takes care of all the details, has large garden and large swimming pool. The breakfast and new restaurant with theme nights is the best in town. At breakfast try local dishes like mandazi (fried puff) and other delicacies. The hotel is now owned by Serena group and the management has started making positive changes for example no problem with air condition, some rooms have been renovated and the lobby looks great. Just one area of improvement is to put iron and board in each room, saves hustle of calling or being called for iron pick ups.
Otherwise highly recommended if you want to be in town - since the traffic is dar es Salam is extremely bad.

By the way the wifi is chargeable at $3 per hour or $10 per day

Room Tip: Normal room and club rooms are almost the same only difference is that in the club room you get acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant (next to the breakfast room) is excellent. I never expected to go to Tanzania to have such good dinners. Pity about the music loop in the restaurant, though. Bland bland (yes, bland) music that contrast with the smiles and service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevWengerTrayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel when it was Movenpick for years (2009-2011) and no that is it Serena (late 2011+). It's basically the same, good rooms, comfortable beds, very nice swimming pool and breakfast buffet, adequate gym and VERY centrally located to the business district (handy). Food is reliable, but not amazing sometimes -- although Serena says that they are changing the menus too now, because of their recent take-over. Not really the hotel to stay at if you are on vacation though.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty quiet, as the hotel is set back from the road. Weekend music on the back-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Serena (used to be Movenpick) has a lovely garden and pool area, so it means that you can relax and rest in the city. The hotel is only 20mins from the Airport (except in rushhour) and so if you need to have a sleep before flying on it is also a good option. The bar has a singer on Thurs/Fri/Sat night and whilst he is old school in style he is good fun and helps create a good atmosphere. The food in the Italian restaurant was excellent, although there was no one in there and it is very "cold".

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room then request one facing the garden/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelloverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is very nice, new, clean and modern. There are still a few hitches. When I checked in my room wasnt ready-but I saw them give another person a room ahead of me, to which I complained and they just said I would have to wait. When I finally got my room the key did not work, they need to send a technician-which took nearly two hours. So what happend was they let me in the room and said they would send someone to fix the lock. I had been traveling overnight so I went straight to bed-I woke up with two people in my room-the technicians. They had not knocked or checked to see if someone was in there, they just walked in! I was there for a conference and required business centre services, but it was a saturday and the centre was closed-I urgently needed things copied and the front desk staff offered no solution-fortunately there was a gentleman next to me (another guest) that told the staff to let me into the executive floor and do the copying there-reluctantly they did.
It did take quite a long time to check out, I checked out the night before I left and took about an hour.
Other than that, the hotel is good-the internet worked and there is wifi. The fitness centre is clean and modern and there is a wonderful selection of food available. The hotel has the potential to be very good, but it still has a few hiccups, as long as you are prepared in advance you shouldnt have any problems.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Serena have recently taken over this hotel (formerly Movenpick).
It is a city Serena hotel. So you get just that. Nice, easy location and full of business people mainly. I came with young children who were very welcomed. There is an effort of Sunday entertainment by way of bouncing castle and face painting - aimed at the families coming in for Sunday brunch. There is a huge lawn and my kids enjoyed finding golf balls shot into here by the next-door course.
The hotel has a swimming pool and small gym; so much of a much there. There are a few restaurants offering different dishes throughout the day and room service is of course available.
All food we had was good in quality, and the selection was good too. Lovely fresh salads at the buffet at lunch and a huge choice at both the buffet breakfast and lunch. If you stayed a long time, then I imagine you’d get bored of it. None of us ended up with a dicky tummy, so that is something.... and really you can get that easily in Dar.
The service started very well, very much Serena standards, then slipped a bit over the weekend- probably taking a breath as some of the business guests depart.
There is a nice bakery in the reception – for cakes and pastries and coffees. Although I would prefer an ice-cream parlour like at the Serena Mombasa.
We booked late and didn’t get a family room, so we were put in the executive floor with an adjoining room and that suited us very well.
It’s clean, doesn’t smell (like some in Dar!) and the food and service are good. If you want a beach hotel, then this isn’t for you. If you need the city and are on business then this is probably perfect.
There are babysitters, but they charge a lot for them, and I am always worried when I pay the hotel, rather than the babysitter direct – you wonder how much the babysitter really gets!
If you are travelling from Kenya, then note that Precision Air regularly remove hold baggage if the plane is too heavy. They removed both our bags and we had to wait a day before they arrived again (ours got lost after being removed).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safarimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I've traveled throughout Africa and have encountered some good and bad hotels. This is a good one.

It was clean, the service was good and the pool is amazing. I wasn't a fan of the food - it wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. Either way, if you're in Dar es Salaam, this is your best bet and I commend all of the many hard workers there who make this an enjoyable (and safe) hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCJD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.9 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
530 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £160 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing