We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip to Dar es Salam is fantastic with Serena group hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A trip to Dar es Salam is fantastic with Serena group hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights as a part of our job,the view of the hotel on the ocean is great, the room is so clean and quit, the food is delicious and excellent friendly staff, we are going for a job, but we will repeat it again with my family ,a trip to Dar es Sal am is more than my expectation

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    295
    118
    25
    11
See reviews for
42
82
32
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed overnight at the Serena for an evening on my way to work. Hotel is very comfortable with good dining options. I hear that the seafood buffet is fantastic but did not have a chance to try it. They also have a well-equipped gym and a swimming pool. The rooms are large and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kui Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spent about 5 nights in Dar es Salaam for business. Serena hotel was ideal as it was literally opposite our companies Tanzania offices. Staff are very friendly and rooms are big and spacious. They are not he most modern rooms and the lighting isnt great but overall I dont have too many complaints. The hotel food is great as well although was craving a good Coffee or Cappucino as the hotel coffee shop didnt make great coffee at all. Would definatly return if I come back for business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imraan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at the Serena just for an evening on my way back from Zanzibar. The hotel is very central and convenient. Large lobby, small shopping area with exchange bureau adjacent and a nice pool outdoors. Rooms are large and well equipped and very comfortable. I would have liked to stay longer

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Staff is very friendly, cooperative & professional
the hotel is very nice & the food is great.
the rooms are fair enough with a very good view on both sides,
the executive lodge is little bit poor, but still enough for me.
Tanzania is actually one of the best countries I have visited -generally-

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmedamr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Located near the town center. Plenty of eating places nearby. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Good security at the entrance of the hotel. Gardens are clean and pool area is very nice.
Food is good and presented well and good size portions. Bar is good and cold beers available with cold glasses too. No attractions allowed into the hotel which good.
Floor security is better too as security is placed at lift exit to make sure no one is allowed up without being allowed in.
Executive floor is well presented and good mix of snacks & drinks at Happy Hour.
Check-in is smooth as is check out.

Room Tip: High floors are good giving a nice view of the gardens and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nazparmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night only at this hotel in late August on way through Dar. It was very smart, very clean and very efficient. We arrived after midnight after a longish flight and the staff were very attentive and friendly. Smooth check in led us straight to the room which was well appointed and very comfortable. It had a mini bar which was stocked but not over-stocked. Breakfast was included and the choice was huge. There's an outside area which we chose for the sun although it was a little hot, even at 0800. Inside is fully air-conned though. The breakfast staff were all on the ball and the check out worked as it should. All in all a good experience and if our one night was typical, a great place to stay when in Dar

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Property: Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing