We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel in downtown Dar es Salaam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I’ve enjoyed staying at Serena properties in a few other countries, and was therefore optimistic about my booking at the Serena in Dar es Salaam. I was not disappointed. I found the staff eager to please, the location perfect for meetings downtown, and the view of the Indian Ocean absolutely lovely.

As other guests have commented, the internet service needs upgrading, but otherwise I was very pleased with the hotel. Desdery Dotto, the Guest Relations Manager, is also a great resource if you need assistance with anything during your stay. Also recommend getting an ocean facing room - it definitely adds to the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to note that we lived up to the brand promise!

We have noted your compliments on Desdery and rest assured that he will be duly recognized for going the extra mile!

We are address the WiFi connectivity issue and we should resolve it within the next month or two.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Serena for over a month while on a business trip in Dar. I found the hotel to be a 100% satisfactory on all counts possible, especially on a long stay - rooms are large and have a good view, the breakfast is elaborate and is kept varied, the lobby is welcoming and one can get some work done there when one is tired of sitting in the room. The guests are cosmopolitan and an evening at the bar makes for pleasant conversation.
An added advantage for Indian travellers is Temple street within walking distance, which is chock full with Indian restaurants and temples, which makes for very comfortable meals.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Salilsood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Salilsood,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your stay. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have shared your compliments with the team.

We have recently entered into an agreement with the adjacent Gymkhana Club and all our in-house guests have direct access to the club via our Garden Gate. Our guests can either walk on the grounds, play tennis or squash or even enjoy a round of Golf!

Thank you again for your review and please do not hesitate to let us know what else we can do to make your future stays' with us more comfortable.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is right in the middle of all the city centre action. So if you have work in the city then this is the best place to stay. It has some good eating options, their buffet is good but their black forest cake is OUT OF THE WORLD. I have not had a black forest cake better than theirs!

The staff is professional and eager to assist, I have always enjoyed staying here.

The wifi is not as good and I usually stay on my 3G and hardly switch to their wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south have a better view since all front facing rooms have just a view of the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nipun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments have been shared with the team. Our Pastry team are elated with your reviews on our Black Forest and we will ensure that we "protect" our recipe!

We have noted your comments on our WiFi and we are investing heavily to ensure that this is resolved within the next few months.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Spacious rooms, A very nice pool. Service is slow, but that seems to be a cultural thing. Breakfast has a good spread. Dinner on Wednesdays is really good with all possible species of sea food, fresh ( Dar is a coastal town ) and can be cooked according to your wish.

Some Indian dishes are available as part of the standard menu.

They have a Separate way to the pool which offers a lot of privacy.

Room Tip: take a pool facing room. It has a nice view of the Sea and also a golf course ( not part of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deekshitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Chef Eshton and his culinary team have noted your excellent food reviews and they will ensure that they keep up the high standards!

Thank you again and please do not hesitate to let us know what else we can do to make your future stays more comfortable.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have stayed here for several nights on several trips. The staff are exactly what I expect, they always try had help. Although I would like the shower to be separate, it is always clean. The change in staff attitude form the previous brand is amazing. Twice have they been able to find lost items. The seafood buffet on Wednesday is excellent. I think the value proposition is the best for Dar. The sandwich bar for lunch is great.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank JOI2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments have been shared with all the staff. As an organization, we believe staff are our greatest asset and not only do we ensure that they benefit from extensive training, health and community support, but we also believe in encouraging their full participation in both our present and our future.

We have noted your comments on the separation of the shower cubicle and Bathtub and would like to assure you that this will be resolved during the bathroom renovations.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed there for a night on my way to Entebbe. Good hotel located in city center and rooms are spacious and comfortable. Food quality is good and offers good options to vegetarians as well. Rooms on top floor offers spectacular views.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabhaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking time to give us feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and your compliments have been shared with the team.

Please let us know what else we can do to make your future stays more comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dar es Salaam.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was my first stay at this property since it had been converted from a Movenpick to a Serena. The level of service has gone dramatically downhill. It is still conveniently located for business in town, but it no longer justifies its price premium over competitors.

I had originally booked a single room on the Executive Floor with lounge access. The front desk staff indicated that all the non-smoking rooms on the Executive Floor were taken, so he offered me an "executive" room on the 2nd floor instead of the 7th, with 2 single beds instead of one double. When I complained, the manager admitted that this was not actually an Executive room and she reduced my room rate.

But from there the problems only escalated. They did not program my room key correctly, necessitating another visit to the front desk. And then the internet login was not working, since the room must have still been under someone else's name. Later that evening I had to return to the front desk, since the key needed to be reprogrammed again. There were also no hand towels in the bathroom.

For a business hotel, the in-room internet was terribly disappointing, even by Tanzanian standards. There were 3 separate tables of guys using Skype in the executive lounge for conference calls, because the service was so bad in-room. You can walk across the street to Subway and get much better internet from their free Raha Wifi spot.

On paper the hotel has a very good in-room entertainment system, but it was not working for part of my stay. During my second day, the system would turn itself off every time you selected a tv station.

The furnishings are fine, a bit dated but perfectly functional. Serena seems to do a great job of buying conveniently-located hotels, but a number of their outposts need modernization. Hopefully they can make this Dar es Salaam hotel more like their Kampala branch and less like the Nairobi location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatinginDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay with us.

With regards to the level of service, we definitely failed to deliver our Brand promise on this occasion but rest assured that all the areas highlighted have received our full attention. We have already commenced a series of structured interactive trainings that will surely improve our service delivery.

We are also addressing the in-room internet connectivity and this should be resolved by April 2014. The in-room entertainment system is now up and running and we do not anticipate to have any outages anytime soon.

Finally, with regards to the property upgrade, we will be commencing the first phase of our renovations sometime this year and this should greatly improve our physical product outlook.

Once again, thank you for you review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
674 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £169 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing