We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Business Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A good business hotel with interesting decor. Rooms are nicely laid out as well and the buffet in the evenings is great (especially the curry). Breakfasts are decent. Well located for meetings in the city. Staff are friendly but a bit slow. The grounds are lovely as well if you take the time to stroll around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our property and we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have noted your comments with regards to speed of service and would like to assure you that we will work on it and institute necessary remedial measures.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Clean, nice and relaxing rooms. accomodating, honest and sincere staff. I lost my phone during the stay and realized only when i got home. I emailed the hotel and i got quick response! Thanks to the honest housekeeper Ms. Clara Bura and the guest relation manager Ms. mariagoreth for their time, patience and effort to send my phone. I have Been in diffrent hotels around the world and no matter how exquisite the hotel's facilities are, what truly tops it all, is how well the staff accomadate their guests, and at Serena Dar Es Salaam, they made me feel I AM AT HOME so im giving this hotel a 5 star rating! I will denitely look forward to stay here again!Keep up the good work and more power!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joggy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are also pleased to note that you received your mobile phone in good order and rest assured that Ms. Clara and Ms. Mariagoreth will be recognized for their outstanding response and assistance. As your have rightfully pointed out, we also believe that it is our staff that make up the hotel and we invest heavily in their welfare and training.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Serena hotel is a hotel that you would say is OK but nothing really special. Nothing to complain about but the thing is that there is nothing extra either. The breakfast is OK. The room is clean. The swimmingpool is OK (but small). The staff is friendly but not extra friendly. The wifi is very slow! And you have to pay for it. Not what you expect!
The fitness center is to small in my view - always overcrowded.
The location is excellent in the middle of the "business district".
Overall - a good place to stay if you not expect any surprises.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay. We have noted your comments and rest assured that they have received our full attention and we will work on ways of adding "extra touches" that make all the difference!

We are investing heavily on our WiFi connectivity and this should be resolved within the next month or two at the very latest.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is exactly what one would expect from a hotel - clean, decent service and comfortable. Location was good for my purposes but not recommended for getting easily to and from the Peninsula where many of the restaurants are located (traffic is terrible). Recommended if on business in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kimbostoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Kimbostoo,

Thank you for taking time to review our property and we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Whilst the traffic issue is beyond our control, I hope you were informed about the new restaurants that have opened up in the City Centre that are equally as good as those ones located on the Peninsular!

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I’ve enjoyed staying at Serena properties in a few other countries, and was therefore optimistic about my booking at the Serena in Dar es Salaam. I was not disappointed. I found the staff eager to please, the location perfect for meetings downtown, and the view of the Indian Ocean absolutely lovely.

As other guests have commented, the internet service needs upgrading, but otherwise I was very pleased with the hotel. Desdery Dotto, the Guest Relations Manager, is also a great resource if you need assistance with anything during your stay. Also recommend getting an ocean facing room - it definitely adds to the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to note that we lived up to the brand promise!

We have noted your compliments on Desdery and rest assured that he will be duly recognized for going the extra mile!

We are address the WiFi connectivity issue and we should resolve it within the next month or two.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Serena for over a month while on a business trip in Dar. I found the hotel to be a 100% satisfactory on all counts possible, especially on a long stay - rooms are large and have a good view, the breakfast is elaborate and is kept varied, the lobby is welcoming and one can get some work done there when one is tired of sitting in the room. The guests are cosmopolitan and an evening at the bar makes for pleasant conversation.
An added advantage for Indian travellers is Temple street within walking distance, which is chock full with Indian restaurants and temples, which makes for very comfortable meals.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Salilsood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Salilsood,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your stay. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have shared your compliments with the team.

We have recently entered into an agreement with the adjacent Gymkhana Club and all our in-house guests have direct access to the club via our Garden Gate. Our guests can either walk on the grounds, play tennis or squash or even enjoy a round of Golf!

Thank you again for your review and please do not hesitate to let us know what else we can do to make your future stays' with us more comfortable.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It is right in the middle of all the city centre action. So if you have work in the city then this is the best place to stay. It has some good eating options, their buffet is good but their black forest cake is OUT OF THE WORLD. I have not had a black forest cake better than theirs!

The staff is professional and eager to assist, I have always enjoyed staying here.

The wifi is not as good and I usually stay on my 3G and hardly switch to their wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south have a better view since all front facing rooms have just a view of the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nipun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments have been shared with the team. Our Pastry team are elated with your reviews on our Black Forest and we will ensure that we "protect" our recipe!

We have noted your comments on our WiFi and we are investing heavily to ensure that this is resolved within the next few months.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.9 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
530 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £160 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing