We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Serena's the right place for business we had our cocktail party with our clients on Thursday and is was a success. The service was good. The hotel is very clean and service is excellent it's unbeatable. I recommend this place for business vacation too. It's right in the city centre. The view as well is excellent. The hotel is super clean

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hedva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear Ms. Hedva,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We are delighted that you chose our hotel to host your cocktail reception and most importantly, that we were able to meet your expectations. We have shared you comments with all the staff - particularly the service team!

We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you again!

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    311
    125
    25
    11
See reviews for
47
89
33
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Faces of Hotel personnel are your close firends.They may be black but theır hearts Real tanzanit Blue and brillant White dinamond .Everybody was very friendly and kınd.From the gate to the peak of Hotel was very warm.They behaved professionally everywhere what I need.no warnıng ,No noıse,no panıc,No stres.just peaceful and famıly type of Hotel.food and meals were very delicious.the prices were Realy reasonable.many vısıtors from dıfferent hotels were Ready at serana Hotel restaurants.open buffet at dînner was 25 $. Cheaper but best qualıty. Everybody was racing to help yolu.never search any Hotel in dar es salaaam correct address ıs SERENA.Thanx for everything form TURKEY.

Room Tip: Seaview Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ufuk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear Ufuk,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your compliments have been shared with all the staff.

Our team is without exception entirely focused on taking care of our guests and I am glad that we did not disappoint you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dar es Salaam!

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

a top market hotel with all the trimmings clean good food and drinks friendly staff nice pool just on the edge of town nice rooms and tidy air cons and safes would recommend going out for drinks and food a lot cheaper

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments have been shared with all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for one night before heading off on our safari. It was a lovely place to recover from the long flight. The gardens and pool area got us in holiday mode and the buffet dinner and breakfast were delicious. The staff were very welcoming, always smiling and eager to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay with us and we hope that you had a pleasant safari!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and your review was shared with all the staff who were very inspired by your comments!

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again in Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel.

Warm Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights on business. Very convenient location for meetings at the hotel and within CBD . Good all round service. Good variety at breakfast. Good service at all restuarants and coffee shop. However will need to constantly upgrade all round to keep up with new built hotels such as Grand Hyatt , Kempinsky , Hilton etc

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have shared your review with all the staff!

We will soon be commencing a phased renovation/upgrade of the hotel and this will greatly improve our physical product.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here twice in a one week period. The first time for four nights and the second time just for one night. The first room was in desperate need of updating. Two out of the three drawers were falling apart. Wifi signal was abysmal and they ended up hang to put a booster in my room. Even then, internet access was pretty intermittent. At least the bed was comfortable. It ended up taking about 45 minutes to check out because the room rate was incorrect and required manually adjusting the rate by someone in the back office.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and I would like to assure you that the issues highlighted have received our full attention.

We would like to sincerely apologize for our bedroom product not meeting your expectations. Whilst the hotel will soon be going into a major rehab, we still strive to offer a zero defect with our current bedroom product and clearly this was not the case during your stay and for that we highly regret. As for the WiFi internet, we are currently installing a new system that will address this issue once and for all.

Thank you once again for your contructive comments and we look forward to hosting you again in future and I assure you that you will have a much better experience.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel on my business trip at the beginning of May as my colleague lives in the neighborhood. The hotel has a big nice garden and pool area.

I good a room upgrade and therefore my room was spacious and well equipped. The room was close to the elevator and facing the street side - but you did not hear anything. It was really quiet. The room and bathroom was a very clean - however the furnitures are a little bit worn out. The A/C is silent.

The breakfast is nice with a huge selection. You can sit even at the outside. For lunch they offer nice sandwiches.

All over all a good hotel for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrnkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have shared your comments with all the staff. The issue of furniture in the rooms will be soon addressed when we commence our renovations and we are all excited about this upcoming hotel upgrade!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
659 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Property: Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing