We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We spent two nights here resting up before our safari and had the best time. The hotel was designed in the days when form was just as important as function. The rooms are very spacious, and soundproof. The public areas and restaurants are cool and quiet ...high ceilings, fantastic light fittings, curved walls, timber floor to ceiling windows to landscaped gardens.... all very spacious and elegant but not overdone. We enjoyed the "business" atmosphere of the hotel, situated in the downtown CBD and the fact that locals came for Sunday Buffet, weddings, conferences etc. Great place to watch the world go by! Not touristy at all.
We ate in the upmarket restaurant option both nights as the food and service were so exceptional. We would have liked to spend more time in the bar but it was a bit noisy with radio music and unfriendly staff who seemed grumpy with one another. This space could have a really cool vibe given its great architecture, old photos and view to the gardens. It just needs some imaginative management and it would be a great meeting place.The staff at reception also displayed an unwillingness to smile and I felt this coldness let down what is otherwise a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: We had a standard room overlooking the street and it wasn't at all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank millington16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Dear Millington,

Thank you for taking time to comprehensively review our hotel.

I agree with you on the form and functionality of the architectural design of the hotel and this has ensured that the hotel stands out despite its age! Our Sunday Brunch is the best in Dar and our covers keep going up every week!

We noted your comments on the staff and remedial measures were instituted and we are continuously investing in their training and development.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Had my wedding here on 16th August 2014, everything thing was on time from check in to break fast, cheap rates are on weekends. Remember to count what's in fridge in your room as every thing will be charged. 24 hours room service with 30 minutes time scale. Had a room with views to gardens and ocean view.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and congratulations once again on your wedding!

It was a pleasure hosting your wedding and we are delighted to note that we did not disappoint you on your most important day of your life! It is true that being a City Hotel, our weekends are not as busy as our weekdays and therefore we have great weekend accommodation offers!

Once again, than you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you on your 1st anniversary!

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Bad experience altogether! Room was not prepared as we requested although when we booked in they did read what we required from the system. Had to wait four hours for them to fix the room, which is not recommended if you are hot and dusty! Dining room staff was friendly and a good variety of dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Estelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Dear Estelle,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your stay. It was unfortunate that you had to wait that long for your correct rooms to be allocated and for that we sincerely apologize. We have since rectified our operating procedures and rest assured that such mishaps will not happen again.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My favorite cafe place in downtown Dar. The ambient inside and outside cafe is excellent for a meeting, relaxation and enjoying tea or cafe latte. The cafe is frequented most of the time by outside visitors. It is popular among business people in Dar who have offices adjacent to the hotel and in central business area of dar. There is no free wi-fi but for writing, reading and thinking in the earlier morning and late evening is an excellent place to focus and for concentration to avoid crowded offices environment in the heaven of peace. The outdoor area has an excellent garden which is facing the gymkhana club a 5 minutes walk. There is even an access gate to the club where club members and guest golfers fro the hotel can go straight to the Gymkhana. The staff who served in the cafe are excellent in customer care and service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dudi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Dear Dudi,

Thank you for taking time to review our Bakers Basket Coffee Shop. As you have rightfully pointed out, it is one of the most popular coffee shops in Dar and we are happy to note that our product and service levels are excellent. We have shared your comments with the staffs and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I had a great time at this hotel while the world cup was on. I watched some of the games at the hotel bar on the ground floor over a favourite drink and it was fun. You can also order some selected snacks and meals from the bar. There's an option to sit outside on the verandah and enjoy the coastal breeze as you wind down. The rooms are great and airport transfer is arranged by the hotel and executed by European.

Given that the hotel is within Dar es Salaam's CAN, you get easy access to the business community and other facilities in the city easily. For airport transfer, however, allow between 45 minutes to 1.5 hours depending on the time of the day as traffic gets really bad especially at pick times. The hotel's restaurants serve great sea hill and international cuisine

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Dear Lenny M,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been shared with the staff. It is indeed true that our location is very prime and convenient although the traffic in Dar can be a challenge!

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at Serena for 7 weeks (4 weeks and then 3 weeks) !
It was clean and comfortable, and good location for business (water is 1km but not for swimming). Rooms are fine, bathroom a little basic in decor. However everything was always clean and worked well (especially the AC which was a god send!). Each evening the lovely lovely cleaning staff would stock your room with fresh bottled water and anything else you might need.
Pool small but very refreshing after a long day in the heat. Good cleaning service.
Three restaurants, food was good. The main restaurant has a cook to order station which serves really really great food! Curry night was my favourite :) The more upmarket restaurant - a fish restaurant - cooks the most incredible sea food!
The main issue with this hotel was the staff... some were absolutely amazing but some were unhelpful and rude. The cleaning staff, porters, chefs, some waiters were so lovely - we would chat each day when I came in and I got to knew them pretty well. They really made me feel welcome and are an asset to Serena.
However.., there were many reception staff, waiters, business services staff that were rude, and unhelpful. The most simple task proved too difficult (like ordering me a taxi for a certain time). I often felt like, as a guest, I was an inconvenience to their job. The reception staff have a lot to learn from the porters and cleaners!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelMonkey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your stay. We are pleased to note that you were happy with your stay with us save for the few "bad apples"! Your review was shared with the staffs and particularly the Reception team and trainings implemented to correct these anomalies.

We are confident that the issues are now resolved and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Sincerely

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I had the wonderful opportunity to stay for 2 nights at the Dar Es Salaam Serena Hotel. Our experience was extremely pleasant from the moment we arrived. We are always greeted with smiles and the hotel staff ensured our requests were taken care of. The room was spacious, ambient and the king-size bed is rather large.

The breakfast menu was varied and outstanding. Whenever we stepped out of the hotel; even briefly, we were pleasantly surprised to find our room made clean and tidy – this is something which we noticed lacking in other hotels.

Thank you for making our stay very memorable and the lovely basket of fruits in our room! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoizRashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2015

Dear Moiz,

Thank you for taking time to reflect on your stay and we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We invest heavily in our staff because we believe that they are our greatest assets - it is therefore refreshing to note that they treated you well!

Your review was shared with all the staffs and they were very motivated by your comments.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting you soon.

Sincerely

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
725 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
526 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#9 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel

Address: Ohio Street | P.O. Box 791, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Moevenpick Royal Palm Hotel Dar es Salaam)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £158 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of luxury at the very heart of Dar es Salaam, the elegant and cosmopolitan Dar esSalaam Serena enjoys an exceptionally high-profile clientele and regularly plays host to bothregional and international events. Stylish yet relaxed, the hotel is one of the capital city’smost popular rendezvous and makes the ideal venue for both corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam mövenpick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing