We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Willingness of staff to help was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Willingness of staff to help was amazing”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

General friendliness of the staff and willingness to help in any way possible was so refreshing. Tarryn Clark, Reservations Manager, in particular was superb and helped in every way she could to make our stay memorable. Location was beautiful and the Mbudya Island trip well worth it. Breakfast buffet really good. This was a totally relaxing week's holiday.
Wifi was a challenge at times but there was always help available whenever needed.

Room Tip: Go for ground floor, sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Brian D,

Your positive Review is very much appreciated, so Thank You for taking the time to write it.

We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday with us and that you experienced the Mbudya Island excursion.

We are committed to our Guests and services like Wi-fi remain a primary focus.

We are working hard to continuously improve on our Guest Service and the Team will be inspired by your feedback.

We look forward to Welcoming you back again.

Thank You & Best Regards
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    126
    41
    21
    27
See reviews for
68
37
15
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Visited the resort to visit a nearby Island. Stopped here for a quick bite. Nice pool side restaurant which faces the beach. . They also have ferry services to nearby Islands at a nominal charge around USD 3 per person

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank karansunthankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Karansunthankar,

As a valued Day Visitor to the Hotel, we welcome your Review and are pleased that you enjoyed our poolside facilities en-route to Mbudya Island. The Island excursions that we offer have become a firm favorite with our Guests, as we realize the importance of providing all of our Guests with value-added Guest service.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to the opportunity of Welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stumbled on this hotel by chance as we were driving out of Dar esalaam early in the morning via Bagamoyo road.The hotel is at Mbezi area,not far from the Bagamoyo road and we decided to go a\in as non residents guests for the sole purpose of having breakfast.The breakfast buffet was wonderful,tasty and with an excellent variety.Restaurant staff were welcoming.It was a wonderful experience.How we wished we had spent a few nights here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Munir T,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your Breakfast experience. Our staff and management team will be pleased to hear that our continued efforts to provide our Guests with excellent service and quality is proving to be successful.

We do hope that should you travel to Dar es Salaam again, that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back as a valued Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We booked the White sands resort with my family and spent a weekend at this beach-side resort and we were pleased with the services! The family room was spacious and the food just okey. The water park next door meant that our younger son found it lots of fun to spend much of his afternoon at the water slides! The bar at the peer is lovely at sunset sipping a glass of bubbly! A must return when back in Dar-es-salaam!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilli-Bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Chilli-Bite,

Thank You for your review. It is always wonderful to receive feedback from our valued Guests, as this is the only way to ensure that we continually strive to not only maintain but improve on our service and standards. The recent addition of a new Executive Chef to our Team is adding great value to ensuring that we remain focused on providing you, our Guest with an all-round great experience.

We are glad to hear that your family had a pleasant stay with us and that your son enjoyed the water slides.

We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
201 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent our first night in Tanzania in this hotel. It was quiet and relaxing after a full night on the plane. The rooms were quite small, but very nicely furnished and the bathroom was good. The Indian Ocean was very close by and coming from the ice cold Nordics it was very refreshing with a swim in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. This was a buffé type of dinner. If you can, have something else. The poolside bar was a nice spot with a many outsiders coming in for a drink. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed and if you want to wind down this could be a nice place to stay a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Harald J,

Thank You for your review. We are pleased that we were able to provide you with a pleasant first night experience in Tanzania, as we continually strive to ensure that our Guest's comfort remains our priority, especially after a long journey.

We look forward to Welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We hosted a conference for 130 delegates. The staff were brilliant and helpful. Always on hand to assist with any request from our side. Beautiful rooms. Beds were turned down every night and mosquito repellent was sprayed in the rooms every night. The GM met us as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Dar es Salaam

Room Tip: 2 Bed apartments are good for 3 ppl sharing and families
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Glynis D,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre. Knowing that we have provided you with a great conference experience makes us extremely proud. My management and STAFF will be very delighted by your positive feedback and motivate them to strive for excellence even more.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was at the White Sands running a conference with colleagues in the HIV field. By the time I left I knew the staff and I can't think of a problem they didn't address. The guys running the restaurant actually stand to one side, checking to make sure there are no problems. very good conference venue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cape-Town-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques d, General Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Cape-Town - Steve,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your Hotel White Sands, Resort and Conference Centre experience. It gives us great pleasure to learn that we are providing our GUESTS with excellent facilities and great service. I will ensure that your review is shared with my management and STAFF and rest assured, your comments will encourage all of them to maintain and do their best ,to meet your and our future GUEST expectations, consistently and continuously.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#18 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
293 reviews
9.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
157 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
271 reviews
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Property: Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Address: Africana Road | Jangwani Beach, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real gem of the East Coast of Africa! The White Sands Beach Resort is situated on an idyllic stretch of private beach front, just 25kms North of Dar es Salaam city centre, making it the gateway to a unique East African experience!Immerse yourself in the welcoming culture of Africa whilst you enjoy sincere, heartfelt GUEST service. The seaside accommodation comprises of 118 spacious, well appointed, standard rooms and 28 studio, one or two bedroomed apartments.Satisfy your palate with sumptuous fare from one of our restaurants, quench your thirst with an ice cold drink on the deck of the Pweza Jetty overlooking the warm Indian Ocean, unwind with a relaxing treatment from our White Sands Spa, take a boat trip to one of the nearby uninhabited islands, be adventurous and experience the beauty of the underwater world with a Scuba course from our PADI Dive Centre, have a work-out in our Gym or simply relax at the swimming pool or on the beach. Whether on Holiday, Business or Conferencing, the White Sands Hotel & Beach Resort is proud to provide our GUESTS with everything that they need and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing