We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great Stay! We landed really early in the morning from South Africa and without delay or shuttle was there to pick us up straight at the main door!

Staff were great, and we were lucky enough to get one of the best rooms at the resort. If you can choose, ask for the rooms to the right of the reception and on the top floor.

We only stayed at the hotel for about 1.5 days until going through to Zanzibar but was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you can choose, ask for the rooms to the right of the reception and on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelMatodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear MarcelMatodes,

We would like to express our sincere Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are very proud of our Team and the true, friendly, Tanzanian hospitality that they offer.

It was a pleasure hosting you as a valued Guest, although only a quick stop before your trip to Zanzibar and we hope that next time you will stay a little longer.

Best Regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely hotel and serene environment by the beach. Spent a day by the beach with friends. Free wifi available. Customer service needs to be improved upon. Honesty is wanting- Our over bill was inflated by 50% of what we had taken and on cross checking the amount was not tallying. The waiter was later to apologize for this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dohryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Dohryn,

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience at the Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the serenity of our facilities as many of our valued Guests do. We are very proud of our Hotel.

We do, however, apologize sincerely for the error concerning your bill and have addressed this with the relevant staff. Service excellence is our main priority and therefore take our Guest's concerns very seriously.

Thank You again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spent a few months working in Dar and we put our visitors there. We also used the conference rooms for training. I also used to go there to relax at weekends because the beach is great there. It's probably one of the top few hotels there with a decent beach. The food and service is great in the restaurants, the location wonderful, nice pool and gardens and great views of Mbudya Island (you can get there by boat from the hotel beach). All in all a great place to be!!

Room Tip: Get one near the main building overlooking the sea, otherwise it's a bit of a walk to the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Jeremy P,

We appreciate your feedback on your Hotel White Sands experience and thank you for not only taking the time to write a review but also for bringing your Guests to stay with us.

Our Team will be so pleased to hear your positive comments as this motivates us to continue striving towards service excellence.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been to this hotel many times in the past few years and enjoying to experience their improving services ever since. Friendly staff and well informative reception. Spacious and clean rooms. The restaurants have excellent ocean & beach view which adds up to the great meals. Wide range of buffet lunch was nice and the restaurant manager was very helpful to arrange to meet some of our dietary requirements, Nice big swimming pool. few but good options for water sports and a great experience of the mbudya island just a few minutes boat ride from the hotel.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fal-The-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear FB-The Traveler,

Thank You so much for taking the time to write such positive feedback about your experience with us.

We take great pride in our Hotel and every effort is made to continuously improve our standards, facilities and service.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the Mbudya Island experience, which is a favorite among many of our Guests. It is unfortunate though that you were not here to experience the arrival of our new boat, jetskis and paraseiling this month, but hopefully, you will return to us and can then enjoy the addtional watersports now on offer.

We do hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good sized well-equipped rooms. Fridge, desk, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Free wifi. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we ate well in the restaurant. Ideal situation right on the beach and also has a pool. There are boat trips to the islands and facilities for children. Pleasant, well-kept grounds and pool area. Looking forward to our return trip at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenerfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear greenerfingers,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and please accept our sincere Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We too look forward to your return as a valued Guest and wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Preplanning with the hotel was easy and straight forward. The hotel arranged airport pick up and drop off, accommodated last minute changes to our program with ease, touched base with me regularly to make sure everything was going well and provided a menu that met the needs of all of my attendees.

As a guest, I appreciated the 24 hour room service option, the pools were clear, clean and full of people. Plenty of chairs and lounge chairs to sun bath. The poolside bar was never overly busy. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner had plenty of variety. I loved the Pweza Jetty - the bar was open until 11pm each evening with beautiful views.

I'd plan an event here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacy_Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Jacy_Barrett,

Thank You for your wonderful feedback following your event at the Hotel White Sands, Resort & Conference Centre, our Team were delighted to host your group.

We are so pleased that your conference was successful and we hope to Welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Hotel is stunning, Rooms are comfortable, Staff are SUPER friendly and helpful.
Such a pleasure when coming home ( back to hotel ) after a long day of business to the beach and clean rooms. On days off there are tonnes to do like Scuba , boat trips to the islands etc.
I would not stay anywhere else in Dar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rindie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen T, Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Rindie,

Thank You so much for taking the time to write a review. It was an absolute pleasure having you as a Guest and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Your Dar es Salaam 'Home' Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#14 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
315 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.7 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Address: Africana Road | Jangwani Beach, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £95 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real gem of the East Coast of Africa! The White Sands Beach Resort is situated on an idyllic stretch of private beach front, just 25kms North of Dar es Salaam city centre, making it the gateway to a unique East African experience!Immerse yourself in the welcoming culture of Africa whilst you enjoy sincere, heartfelt GUEST service. The seaside accommodation comprises of 118 spacious, well appointed, standard rooms and 28 studio, one or two bedroomed apartments.Satisfy your palate with sumptuous fare from one of our restaurants, quench your thirst with an ice cold drink on the deck of the Pweza Jetty overlooking the warm Indian Ocean, unwind with a relaxing treatment from our White Sands Spa, take a boat trip to one of the nearby uninhabited islands, be adventurous and experience the beauty of the underwater world with a Scuba course from our PADI Dive Centre, have a work-out in our Gym or simply relax at the swimming pool or on the beach. Whether on Holiday, Business or Conferencing, the White Sands Hotel & Beach Resort is proud to provide our GUESTS with everything that they need and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing