We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Conference Hotel in relaxing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed at White Sands on several occasions in 2008 and 2009 (approx 20 nights, all in all). It's a good location if you want to mix business with relaxation. Service occasionally not up to Tanzanian standards of friendlyness.

Rooms are clean and of good size, many of them in small houses with four units. Location is not ideal if you need to travel to downtown Dar on a regular basis, especially in rush hours, plan for at least an hour. In-room Internet access (network cable) available at cost, but does not work in all rooms. Had to change rooms a few times to get one with functioning Internet.

Restaurant is OK, a la carte food nothing to write home about. One evening, we requested a seafood BBQ for our group, which was incredible. Lobster, shrims, all kind of fish, BBQed to perfection with great side dishes. Shows the chefs are capable if a need arises.

Beach is nice, provides opportunities to relax with a drink, a small boat takes guests to a neighboring island for a fee, which is a great trip for an afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vienna-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2009

THe journey to this hotel is a nightmare, the roads are clogged with traffic. When you arrive the receptionist has not got a clue. Your room, if ready, will not be the one you booked and if you want hot water forget it. The aircon may work so pray it does because if you have to call room service be prepared for a long wait. Breafast overlooking the indian ocean is great especially if you like cats and birds cos they want to share it with you.

The indian ocean looks lovely but be warned the sewage in it will give you more than a stomach upset!

Service is less than poor and the chefs run out of ideas. So unless you like curries and indian food day after day this is not the place for you.

The management are a mix of south Africans, eastern europeans and far eastern and sadly they couldn't care less about you as they bark their orders at the poor undepaid staff - slave labour you bet!!

THis hotel used to be nice before it started branching out into the business market. Now it is rubbish.

Good points - sadly I cannot think of one. Room service is slow, laundry takes for ever and comes back dyed different colours The wind blows off the indian ocean with such force you just want to go to your room for comfort but then you realise they havn't fixed the aircon.

So you turn on the TV and find reception in your room is hopeless. Room service forget it.

Still the highpoint comes when eventually you have to leave - goodbye Whitesands, I am afraid the one thing you did overlook was the customer!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

I have never been to a beach resort for a vacation where the service was so terrible that I couldn't wait to leave. The staff were extremely unprofessional and downright rude. If we needed something, we had to ask at least 4 times to get it. The staff at reception would start talking to you and then pick up the phone in mid conversation and leave you standing there for 10 minutes. The food was also disappointing and over-priced. Even the beach front was small and littered with garbage. The only redeeming quality for this hotel was the gym and pool. And if you're going for work, their business center only has two computers and an internet connection that rarely works and each page takes 5 minutes to load. I have never been so stressed out at the end of a vacation. We left 2 days early and booked ourselves at a hotel down the street.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetlizzyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

When going to White Sands hotel just to have a lunch we were asked to pay TZS 3000 each for entrance fee and 75000 TZS for lunch.
When paying with master card I was charged in USD. First there was a 5% charge for paying with credit card, then they used a convert rate of 1150 to TZS when it should have been appr 1350.
This kind of greediness will at least I communicate to friends and others.
Beware!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank SurprisedDarEsSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Our last stop of our vacation in Tanzania was at White Resorts. Nice quality resort, ( not like the one we stayed at in Zanzibar) clean, well looked after gardens and grounds, nice beach. Rooms were modern and clean with all we needed. Food and service was good, mix of swahilli, seafood and european meals, beakfast was good.

The only short fall in service in some was tat some of the staffs english was not the greatest, but I suppose it was the same throughout our trip in Tanzania, but the main thing was they were friendly and tried to please us at all times.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Got invited to White Sands Resort and Conference centre as a guest speaker for an international aid conference. Must say I was very impressed with standard of venue, excellent conference centre, well equipped , very nice hotel rooms(I was lucky and got allocated a suite with a wonderful view). Hotel was clean, lots of ope space and well kept gardens. Staff helpful, service was good food, nice with a good variety of local and international cuisine with some fresh seafood thrown in

I ended up extending my stay after I finished up my bit at the conference, it was a good choice and really enjoyed the 4 days of rest , a good book and sun before flying back to the UK. Must say weather is perfect at this time of the year in Tanzania, sunny, and little humidity not like the last time I visited in February where it was very hot and humid

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnLUK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Was visiting my father who works in Dar es Salaam for two weeks and decided to stay at White Sands Resort for a long weekend. Hotel was excellent, service good, spotless grounds and facilities, nice garden and beach.

Best thing I like the hotel had a mix of food not only the same old continental type food most hotels serve , it had a couple of local dishes to, which is always nice to try. The Saturday night seafood buffet was very good and very much value for money. Hong Kong seafood is very costly.

All of us enjoyed our stay ,our excursion to Bogoyo( island in front of resort) by speedboat was a great addition, beautiful white beach, fish caught fresh for you and grilled on a charcoal fire. Water nice and warm blue and clear, snrkelling was good to.

if you visit dar do the island trip you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Linda90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
408 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#5 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
537 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#17 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
530 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
303 reviews
6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort

Address: Africana Road | Jangwani Beach, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £92 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real gem of the East Coast of Africa! The White Sands Beach Resort is situated on an idyllic stretch of private beach front, just 25kms North of Dar es Salaam city centre, making it the gateway to a unique East African experience!Immerse yourself in the welcoming culture of Africa whilst you enjoy sincere, heartfelt GUEST service. The seaside accommodation comprises of 118 spacious, well appointed, standard rooms and 28 studio, one or two bedroomed apartments.Satisfy your palate with sumptuous fare from one of our restaurants, quench your thirst with an ice cold drink on the deck of the Pweza Jetty overlooking the warm Indian Ocean, unwind with a relaxing treatment from our White Sands Spa, take a boat trip to one of the nearby uninhabited islands, be adventurous and experience the beauty of the underwater world with a Scuba course from our PADI Dive Centre, have a work-out in our Gym or simply relax at the swimming pool or on the beach. Whether on Holiday, Business or Conferencing, the White Sands Hotel & Beach Resort is proud to provide our GUESTS with everything that they need and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel And Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing