We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, unsafe and nothing is working properly”
Review of YMCA Dar es Salaam

YMCA Dar es Salaam
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YMCA Dar es Salaam
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Filthy, unsafe and nothing is working properly”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The room we stayed in had a fan, but it only worked sometimes. The beds were dirty, the toilet didnt flush, the floor in the "bath room" was always wet and the electrisity went out at least once a day. The locking system also felt really unsafe. Wouldn´t be hard to break through that. Also the door to our room had a big hole in it, so anyone could get in if they wanted. Were here on a study tour, so this was the best option. Wouldn´t go here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
9
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I'm backpacking through East Africa with a couple of friends and we decided to give YMCA a try for a night after our train from Dar to Zambia was delayed for a day. We called them and asked for the price for a triple and they said 27,000 Shillings total for the room but when we got there, they asked for 39,000. Big surprise. The room was nothing special. It was pretty old but the good thing was that it was clean. The bathrooms were a mess though. They were clean also but very old and not everything was working. Also, the toilets are Eastern style (squatters) so just a heads up on that. The biggest thing that annoyed me was the attitude of the staff. It was by far the rudest staff I have ever encountered in my life. The lady always answered in one word answers and rolled her eyes every time we asked for something. Maybe its the language barrier or maybe she was having a bad day but they just did not make us feel welcomed at all. The one great thing about this place was the food. The cafeteria food here was delicious! I would recommend trying the chicken for lunch here. It is to die for. Overall, this place is decent. You can definitely find better hotels with better staff and rooms around Dar for the same price but if your stuck of everything else is booked, this place is acceptable for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jammer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Y is cheap and central, but you can find better rooms for the same price in Dar, with private bathrooms and professional staff. I booked groups here for nine months and had to stop, as the staff never kept reservations, even when I paid in advance. If you are lucky enough to stop by and get a room, great. But don't count on the YMCA to hold a place for you- especially if you are arriving late to Dar, as they will not help you find a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel00Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The good:
-Very clean
-Friendly staff
-Free breakfast
-restaurant/cafeteria on-site
-Internet on-site
-Beer served! until late! ... which you pretty much can't find anywhere nearby in Dar
-In a safe, walkable area

The not good:
-Not much sound protection in the rooms - and lots of construction going on outside the rooms

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It is cheap. It is very central. It is opposite the Holiday Inn where you can use their internet and get a good breakfast. The hostel itself is poor. The staff were generally rude, particularly the woman on the counter. I stayed here for about 10 nights over the course of a ocuple of months and it never improved. Their luggage hold which I used while travelling further North was safe and reliable. The shared showers are useable but toilets are pretty disgusting. Make no mistake, you stay hear because it is dirt cheap. It is not even that great for meeting other travellers as it is fairly heavily used by Tanzanians travelling for work. The room fans are hit and miss and it is very noisy.

Room Tip: I stayed in a few and they were all pretty dirty and very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The YMCA is a MUCH better choice than the nearby YWCA. We stayed for about 10 days in several different visits. The rooms are clean, most have a small balcony, and staff is friendly. There is a great budget cafeteria downstairs. Location is very convenient for the Posta dala dala stand and downtown exploring. There's a decent internet cafe downstairs. The bathrooms aren't great - the plumbing was broken when we were there and the toilets were often plugged.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back, away from the canteen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yalayala y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Spent one night in Dar at the YMCA, arrived on the ferry from Zanzibar which was a 20 minute walk away. Rooms were simple and clean, bathrooms were not great but definately not the worse we saw. The canteen does cheap food and drinks which we really liked and there is also an internet cafe downstairs. Really easy to get taxis out the front, 5 minutes from a subway! and the main post office. Nothing fancy but was safe and suited us for one night.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#63 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
TEC Kurasini Training & Conferen...
#27 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Dar es Salaam

Property: YMCA Dar es Salaam
Address: India Street and Upanga Road | Opposite of Holiday Inn Hotel, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing