We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YMCA Dar es Salaam
Nearby Hotels
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
1
9
14
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
9
14
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fanferry terminaldormsheetsfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I only gave this place three stars because we arrived at 1am without a booking and with no money and they let us stay using our passports as money.
This is a place for convenience only. I would recommend other places in Dar es Salaam - this was one of three places that we stayed when we were in Dar es Salaam and it was better than the Safari Inn, but not as good as the Econo Lodge.
Breakfast was dreadful. Quite dirty, no hot water (expected in Tanzania) but a good simple room with air conditioning.

Room Tip: Air conditioning. More expensive. Worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurabonny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The room we stayed in had a fan, but it only worked sometimes. The beds were dirty, the toilet didnt flush, the floor in the "bath room" was always wet and the electrisity went out at least once a day. The locking system also felt really unsafe. Wouldn´t be hard to break through that. Also the door to our room had a big hole in it, so anyone could get in if they wanted. Were here on a study tour, so this was the best option. Wouldn´t go here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I'm backpacking through East Africa with a couple of friends and we decided to give YMCA a try for a night after our train from Dar to Zambia was delayed for a day. We called them and asked for the price for a triple and they said 27,000 Shillings total for the room but when we got there, they asked for 39,000. Big surprise. The room was nothing special. It was pretty old but the good thing was that it was clean. The bathrooms were a mess though. They were clean also but very old and not everything was working. Also, the toilets are Eastern style (squatters) so just a heads up on that. The biggest thing that annoyed me was the attitude of the staff. It was by far the rudest staff I have ever encountered in my life. The lady always answered in one word answers and rolled her eyes every time we asked for something. Maybe its the language barrier or maybe she was having a bad day but they just did not make us feel welcomed at all. The one great thing about this place was the food. The cafeteria food here was delicious! I would recommend trying the chicken for lunch here. It is to die for. Overall, this place is decent. You can definitely find better hotels with better staff and rooms around Dar for the same price but if your stuck of everything else is booked, this place is acceptable for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jammer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Y is cheap and central, but you can find better rooms for the same price in Dar, with private bathrooms and professional staff. I booked groups here for nine months and had to stop, as the staff never kept reservations, even when I paid in advance. If you are lucky enough to stop by and get a room, great. But don't count on the YMCA to hold a place for you- especially if you are arriving late to Dar, as they will not help you find a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel00Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The good:
-Very clean
-Friendly staff
-Free breakfast
-restaurant/cafeteria on-site
-Internet on-site
-Beer served! until late! ... which you pretty much can't find anywhere nearby in Dar
-In a safe, walkable area

The not good:
-Not much sound protection in the rooms - and lots of construction going on outside the rooms

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews