We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you're after somewhere cheap”
Review of Mbezi Garden Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mbezi Garden Hotel
Ranked #29 of 115 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great if you're after somewhere cheap”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The main reason for rating this average is the location. It's not in the centre, nor is it anywhere near oyster bay. it's a bit of a nowhere area, off the main road. So it's a bit of a trade-off; you get the room for really excellent value (it's really, really cheap and perfectly ok if rather cramped) but then you have to pay for taxis a lot, and put up with the Dar traffic.

It has a nice garden, where you find a restaurant with good simple food. The staff are also very pleasant. Seems to be used a lot by locals for weddings and parties and things - so you might find you get a bit of a noisy friday/saturday night. Didn't see many foreigners staying there - possibly it's the location that makes it less useful for business trips, and it's not really a holiday place - more for those traveling, or doing business on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anemone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I had deliberately chosen the hotel as it was not in the middle of Dar - with the intention of catching up on sleep having done some intense work in the preceding week.

Wedding on the first night with the bass virtually booming me out of bed!

Was assured that there would not be any noise the following night but when it was already too late to go elsewhere the guests started to arrive and it was a repeat performance.

In addition, some women were making a music video right outside my cottage, virtually standing against the window with spotlights shining right in!

The room itself was pleasant enough and clean and the staff were very sweet, but it did not make up for the nightmare nights!

Note that to get into Dar to go to the airport it took 2 hours due to endless traffic jams!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mieke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Although the Mbezi garden Hotel is out of town by some way it is fully worth the effort, as once there you are treated like family and all the staff soon get to know you and you feel relaxed and at home. Rooms in the garden are really great a place where you can sit outside and relax or even do some work on the laptop in peace and quiet. I am going back again late October for a few weeks stay, can't wait to get there.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Besides the odd glitches, the hotel is tops in our list, we stayed for the whole of 12 days, cottages are cozy and reasonably clean. Its a bit far from the city but close to white sands and some more scenic spots. Food is good but they need to bring some more variety in their breakfast menu.

All and all its a thumbs up from me.

Room Tip: A cottage is a much better choice than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samirgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Big rooms with basic bathrooms-- complete with hot water, screens, mosquito nets, some rooms with refrigerators. Most rooms are bungalows within the complex grounds. Decent location, although road to the property is not paved and can be hard to access on rainy days. Rooms were clean but somewhat worn. Breakfast was excellent and staff helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Mbezi Garden Hotel is located not very close to the city center of Dar es Salaam (approximately 40 minutes drive from the harbor). During the rush hour the drive could be even much longer. The room rate is quite cheap. The hotel is situated in a residential area and the place is very quiet and calm. The hotel has some bungalows and a main building. Usually the rooms are double, however some of the double rooms have common facilities and can be used by three persons and even four. There is a conference center and a restaurant on site. The food there is amazing and very cheap. Actually, one of the best I tried in Dar es Salaam. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a night flight and they allowed us to check out later for half price. The hotel offers free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel is clean and the price is modest. Some improvements required on the food though. The staff was very receptive and friendly. The hotel is at a good distance from the beaches of mbezi and Kunduchi

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NairobiCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.9 mi away
The Landmark Mbezi Beach Hotel
The Landmark Mbezi Beach Hotel
#57 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
674 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbezi Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbezi Garden Hotel

Property: Mbezi Garden Hotel
Address: Mbezi Beach, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing