We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Sports Bar”

Mokka City Cafe & Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Television, Waitstaff
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Super Sports Bar”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A great bar that makes a welcome change from the bars at nearby upmarket hotels. Beer is well priced, and nicely furnished in leather and chrome style, with coloured neon lighting. It's predominately a sports bar with numerous screens, one huge one, showing different sports. Which is mostly UK Premiership football and European Champions League football. They stay open until the matches finish, which can be 1.30am. When they don't have the football sound on there is a decent sound system playing music. They serve simple bar food, which looked ok.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurleyBoy-XLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
key west, florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food; good menu; attentive staff”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have been eating lunch at the Mokka City Cafe and Lounge lately. The staff are very attentive,the food is very good and the menu has lots of choices. From breakfast into the evening it is a good choice. (Free wi-fi as a bonus)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice food and nice staff and very clean”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

been this place twice , the food so good and WiFi is very powerfull , nice place to be during the day, close to port to go Zanzibar in the middle of the city, so relaxing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Best coffee and best service in Dar es Salaam”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have lived, travelled and worked in Tanzania since 2004, and have tried most of the cafes in Dar es Salaam over the past 9 years. Mokka City sticks out, firstly due to its high quality coffee and the location in the city centre. Not even in the best hotels will you find this good coffee. Besides, the service is excellent.

For me afternoons are the best - when there are less guests (I always try to avoid the lunch hour), the low sun flows through the windows, music fills the room and you have no rush to enter the traffic jam. Visitors mix, which is cool. Tourists, backpackers from the Zanzibarboat, businessmen, embassy staff, locals, old and young. I have sat here countless times, with friends from all parts, have good coffee, surfed the net, worked and talked about the news in general. I also came in one afternoon and a dad of a friend called me to his table, treated me to ice tea, and told me of the time they worked with President Nyerere. And by this I want to say that this is unique - the blend of people, but it also means that it is an easy place to meet, as there is something for everyone on the menu and all feel welcome.

The success of this place is partly due to its manager, Benson, who is hardworking, ambitious and a good host and manager.

Absolutely a must in Dar es Salaam-

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuniaDuara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Good location, when you stay in the centre(like we did). If you need peacepuf atmosphere, chill breeze, good food and Wifi, this is it. Saw many tourist, but it didnt bother. Manager came to chat with us and we talked about the place, people etc. Recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triinuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mokka City Cafe & Lounge also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Mokka City Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing