We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, good staff, good rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
worldwide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food, good staff, good rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks for work purposes. The food was delicious and room service arrived very quickly. The front desk staff were friendly and very competent. Rooftop bar staff were great. Good sized rooms with excellent bathrooms. Some people had various problems with inroom safes, fridges and a/c units. Great location, supermarket closeby and withon walking distance of port.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearlkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
21
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed just one night at this hotel. The hotel itself appears to be fairly recently renovated: the room and kitchen were quite clean, but our bathroom looked very worn down and there was mold in some areas. The AC worked well and was quite necessary. The hotel is not in a great area of Dar. Upon arriving at the hotel, I was surprised at how rough the neighborhood was, but I did walk around and didn't feel unsafe.

The staff were generally quite helpful, even sending someone to walk with me to buy our Zanzibar ferry tickets when I asked for directions. The ferry terminal is within walking distance, but if you have suitcases and it is hot, you will want a taxi. They are cheap, with the ride costing less than $3.

The included breakfast was good. In addition to a continental breakfast, they also offer omelets cooked to order. I went to the rooftop bar for one drink and it was very nice. Unfortunately, it closes at 11 PM.

Some weird things we observed:
-Some of the staff appear to have virtually no customer service experience. One girl that brought us water gave us a look like we were aliens when we opened the door.
-The lobby has air conditioners, but the room adjacent to it had its windows open on a very hot and humid day.
-The hotel advertises "24 hour in room dining", but after midnight, dining is limited to soda, tea and coffee. (There is only one pizza place in the neighborhood that is open past midnight.)
-Our taxi driver charged us for one ride (paid directly to him) and the other ride (same driver) was charged by the hotel. When asked why this was, no explanation was given.

All in all, for leisure travelers, I would recommend this hotel only for an overnight stop from the airport to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is my second time in Dar és salem
The first time we stay in a good hotel .
This time we try to choose another with better
Price and it was a good choise.
Big and good rooms equiped with kitchinet good
Satelite tv and wireless.
Good pressurised hot water and all facilities.
Rasonable Quality for food at restaurant.
We read the information about the hotel and
it open last October .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FERNANDORODRIGUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

First of all Hotel manager Ramesh is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean comes with ac free wi fi microwave kettle refrigerator.

Only thing that I don't like is the breakfast. Indian style strange food for breakfast.

If you're not looking a fancy hotel like hilton, check this one out. Staffs are nice and friendly as well.

Tip: try Mamboz for bbq dinner. Very close to hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

A great stop-over for those on their way to Zanzibar as it is a walking distance to the ferry,..5 minutes walk. Also close to other attractions in Dar including the St. Joseph Cathedral, the fish market and the museum among others.
The hotel is fairly new so the rooms are in great condition. Decor is very modern and the facility is extremely clean. AC & Fan options, with kitchenettes in the rooms.
Staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming. The bar at the roof top gives you a wonderful view of the city.

Room Tip: Get the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valentine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#27 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Mtendeni Street, Dar es Salaam 20009, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sapphire 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sapphire is a Contemporary and vibrant 3 Star Hotel in the Haven of Peace and is centrally located in Dar es Salaam just a few minutes drive from International Airport and within a major commercial and shopping area. It is a splendid and comfortable Hotel offering personalized service & great value for money. Suitable for Business, Leisure & Family clientele. Hotel Sapphire is the perfect place to saturate your carvings for a fine lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing