We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and suitable for a very short stay”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simple and suitable for a very short stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

If you in on a late flight arrival and out on an early then this works due to traffic in dar wouldn't stay for an extended stay but for a one night it's fine. Rooms are clean and reasonably priced and food was ok. Price is good value and I would stay again

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kckenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
21
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Sapphire for two weeks while in Dar for business. My room cost about $100/night and had a fridge, hot plate, safe, microwave and cable tv. There was no hair dryer but when I asked for one, a brand new one was provided within minutes.

Pluses:
- strong wifi throughout the hotel
- quiet comfortable rooms
- they were very quick to fire up the generator during dar's many power outages
- plenty of hot water
- provided plenty of bottles water
- very nice rooftop terrace
- good gym
- newspapers provided in lobby
- friendly staff

Downsides
- very slow elevators
- the restaurant serves good Indian did but everything else is pretty horrible.
- ventilation in bathrooms inadequate and actually made my bathroom smell like cigarette smoke.
- staff should be able to provide local maps to guests


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainyday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Sapphire from the 29th March - Till April 9th with a 2 night break, i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for excellent value and service, i cannot rate this hotel highly enough , the staff are both friendly and professional , the food is excellent and the management are both very helpful and accomodating. Its location is right in the thick of things. The rooms are large and comfortable and having stayed in many places throughout Africa , for its price , it offers a top level of all services which would never be found in hotels of a similar price range. If you feel like walking around the streets , i would suggest that you employ the services of one of the masai tribe to escort you, also wages are very low in Tanzania , and although staff do not expect to be tipped, i would strongly suggest as it is very appreciated, and considering the difference in the dollar to the schilling, a small tip can mean the world to these people

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The rooms are big but that is about it. I stayed in room 104. Their was a very damp smell in the room. The aircon isn't really giving you cold air. The bathroom finishing is very poor. However the location is good to explore the city. The rooftop bar has a great view and the price is right. So it's OK for a night or max 2 nights stop over.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SebastienBruggeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Large clean rooms. The staff were helpful. Good value for money.
We arrived very early for our booking, at 05.30hrs, The night manager did everything in his power to get us into our room early. This he achieved. We were in our room before 07,00hrs

We stayed for one night ,twice within a week. My wife found the food a bit too spicy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed there twice within a week in 2 different rooms. Both of them were very big and clean. They were more appartments with cooking area and fridge. Best value for money I ever had for a room. Internet in the 1st room (805) wasn't very good, but the 2nd room was good. Lovely terasse bar where you can have a drink and watch the sunset. The staff was very helpful and friendly - I personally just didn't like the food in both restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks for work purposes. The food was delicious and room service arrived very quickly. The front desk staff were friendly and very competent. Rooftop bar staff were great. Good sized rooms with excellent bathrooms. Some people had various problems with inroom safes, fridges and a/c units. Great location, supermarket closeby and withon walking distance of port.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearlkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#26 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Mtendeni Street, Dar es Salaam 20009, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sapphire 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sapphire is a Contemporary and vibrant 3 Star Hotel in the Haven of Peace and is centrally located in Dar es Salaam just a few minutes drive from International Airport and within a major commercial and shopping area. It is a splendid and comfortable Hotel offering personalized service & great value for money. Suitable for Business, Leisure & Family clientele. Hotel Sapphire is the perfect place to saturate your carvings for a fine lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing