We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and safe option in Dar”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value and safe option in Dar”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here just one night before flying out. The staff is very helpful and friendly and security is sound here. My experience with the restaurant was mixed. Breakfast had painfully slow service and the food not very good/poor variety. However, lunch was excellent having ordered Indian food.

The room was large and clean...except for the bathroom. The bathroom was pretty disgusting. There was black mold on the walls near the ceiling and the shower was very poorly designed with the shower set up causing water to leak all over the bathroom floor. But, for one night, and given the value/safety/comfort of the rest of the room, I was able to live with that. The room has great amenities - kitchenette, coffee service, satellite TV, free wifi (albeit *very* slow), frigde, and A/C. The beds, albeit clean, were a bit too firm for my liking. The location was interesting with some good restaurants nearby. There were also some interesting Hindu temples within walking distance as well. It was safe to walk around the area.

Room Tip: Try and find a room with a cleaner bathroom....if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    47
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
22
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esbjerg
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is situated in the center of Dar Es Salaam, it is the most convenient place to stay if you have to work in the center or in the port. You will save a lot of time by not staying at the Peninsular, where the expensive and non personal hotels are situated. The breakfast was basic and you had to ask for cheese and jam everyday. The rooms are clean, the internet is ok and the people at the reception and the management are friendly and service minded. The bar at the roof top is ok and a good place to relax away from the air condition. The rates for the room is ok (USD 80,00 to 120,00) is value for money. Around the hotel you will find a lot of good local restaurants like Mambos BBQ as well as good supermarkets.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistercarsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

If you in on a late flight arrival and out on an early then this works due to traffic in dar wouldn't stay for an extended stay but for a one night it's fine. Rooms are clean and reasonably priced and food was ok. Price is good value and I would stay again

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kckenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Sapphire for two weeks while in Dar for business. My room cost about $100/night and had a fridge, hot plate, safe, microwave and cable tv. There was no hair dryer but when I asked for one, a brand new one was provided within minutes.

Pluses:
- strong wifi throughout the hotel
- quiet comfortable rooms
- they were very quick to fire up the generator during dar's many power outages
- plenty of hot water
- provided plenty of bottles water
- very nice rooftop terrace
- good gym
- newspapers provided in lobby
- friendly staff

Downsides
- very slow elevators
- the restaurant serves good Indian did but everything else is pretty horrible.
- ventilation in bathrooms inadequate and actually made my bathroom smell like cigarette smoke.
- staff should be able to provide local maps to guests


  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainyday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Sapphire from the 29th March - Till April 9th with a 2 night break, i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for excellent value and service, i cannot rate this hotel highly enough , the staff are both friendly and professional , the food is excellent and the management are both very helpful and accomodating. Its location is right in the thick of things. The rooms are large and comfortable and having stayed in many places throughout Africa , for its price , it offers a top level of all services which would never be found in hotels of a similar price range. If you feel like walking around the streets , i would suggest that you employ the services of one of the masai tribe to escort you, also wages are very low in Tanzania , and although staff do not expect to be tipped, i would strongly suggest as it is very appreciated, and considering the difference in the dollar to the schilling, a small tip can mean the world to these people

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The rooms are big but that is about it. I stayed in room 104. Their was a very damp smell in the room. The aircon isn't really giving you cold air. The bathroom finishing is very poor. However the location is good to explore the city. The rooftop bar has a great view and the price is right. So it's OK for a night or max 2 nights stop over.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SebastienBruggeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Large clean rooms. The staff were helpful. Good value for money.
We arrived very early for our booking, at 05.30hrs, The night manager did everything in his power to get us into our room early. This he achieved. We were in our room before 07,00hrs

We stayed for one night ,twice within a week. My wife found the food a bit too spicy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#28 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Property: Hotel Sapphire
Address: Mtendeni Street, Dar es Salaam 20009, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sapphire 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sapphire is a Contemporary and vibrant 3 Star Hotel in the Haven of Peace and is centrally located in Dar es Salaam just a few minutes drive from International Airport and within a major commercial and shopping area. It is a splendid and comfortable Hotel offering personalized service & great value for money. Suitable for Business, Leisure & Family clientele. Hotel Sapphire is the perfect place to saturate your carvings for a fine lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing