We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 26 March 2014

... for eating and sleeping and going to business meetings. Stayed 1 night. Quick and very efficient check in service. Decent WiFi - complimentary - although a bit shaky. Rooms large enough, also the bathrooms. But in some years if maintenance is not taken well care of the cracks will show. The decoration in bathroom is not set up properly - bits and pieces missing or malplaced. Showerhead on strike, but the handshower worked. Note that it takes a bit into the shower before you get warm water.
The best in hotel - more than the serviceoriented staff - is the restaurant. Brilliant dinner - i tried the "indian corner" - and very good breakfast.
Definitively a hotel to return to.
And yes, the mosque nearby provides a very relaxing and nice wake up call.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Despite the chaotic feeling from the narrow and busy street the hotel is facing, the overall impression has been good particularly because I felt they are trying to make some efforts to improve the operation. At lunch time, a survey sheet was given to collect feedback. The room I stayed had many amenities such as coffee/tea, slippers, bathrobe, towels with the hotel's logo. However, there are much room for improvement. The airport pick up had to be confirmed several times. A colleague of mine did not have a pick up even after a phone call confirmation. The room I stayed had a shower curtain not professionally installed. Otherwise, the internet access in the room was OK for early morning and late evening. The shower's water temperature and pressure was good. The breakfast served in the restaurant had some cooked vegetables, fruits and some bread. We also had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and the dishes I ordered were satisfying. If one prefers to stay in town, I would not mind recommending this hotel. Just be prepared to be woken up at 5am by the prayer of the mosque as pointed out below by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fukuyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to say thank you for choosing our hotel to be your host in Dar.

Your review it has made us to take an aggressive step to improve our services were we are lacking. We eager to learn from you as our guest and take your review seriously to better our business and services we offer.

Telling us where we are lacking it has been appreciated and again thank you for supporting Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa

Guest Relations Manager,

Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed two nights in a room which had a lot of space for two people (and an extra bed), nice view from the 4th floor and it was very clean. The bathroom was also spacious. Breakfast was OK. The hotel is near to the ferry to Zanzibar. There is a mosque on the other side of the road, so it might just wake you up at 5am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

At first on behalf of the hotel management I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel out of many in Dar es Salaam.

We also wanted to thank you for your honest review, and if there is any thing you have in mind that will make serve our customer better that will appreciated to let us know where we lacking.

The hotel management and its staff are working harder to maintain our clientele and improve our service where are lacking.


We hope to see you again on your return,

TDH & Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at this Hotel on Feb 13th, Hotel room was excellent, staff service was also excellent, the best part of this hotel is the Indian food available, mouth watering :), Hotel also provides airport transfers !!

Room Tip: I was on 17th Floor, nothing specific to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruds20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Essau Pwelle,
At Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

We have seen improvement day by day since our establishment...that means we are striving to make our guests feel at home and provide them with service they deserve and that should be our driving force to get more reviews = more guests by meeting our guest needs. This is about your comment review that we are trying to reach out to you and say thank you for such a positive review and we'll continue working on improving our service and training our staff in varies departments.

To sum up about our hotel rooms, staff service, shuttle service, and enjoying Indian cuisine at our in house restaurant...you said was excellent!! Thank you again and you are always welcome back and we'll keep improving our service.

With regards,

Essau Pwelle
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel is not much to look at from the outside, but the rooms are beautiful and spacious, and conveniently located within walking distance of the Zanzibar ferry. We stayed here on a Friday night at the end of our trip, and when we got off the elevator on the 9th floor, we could feel the hallway vibrating from the club upstairs. We were relocated to a 4th floor room, which was fine. We experienced no problems with the showers. The breakfast buffet offered a lot of variety and was very good.

Room Tip: There is a nightclub upstairs, so stick with lower level floors (we could not hear it from the 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Essau Pwelle

At Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

On behalf of the hotel management and staff I would like to thank you for being one of the hotel you choose from many hotels in Dar es Salaam city. We also real appreciate for your honest review that our hotel should not be examined based on the outside look or get the first impression from out side.

I agree, you can have a stunning beautiful hotel building from outside and inside having terrible amenities. You summed up about our rooms spacious, cleanliness and our staff listening to you when you needed to move from the 9th floor to the 4th floor. It is what we expected as a management to hear from you our guests, and we'll continue to improve our service and perform ongoing training for our staff to be listeners and competent.

We also appreciate that you never had any problem with using showers in our room, and indeed we are very close to the fast ferry to Zanzibar.

Tiffany Diamond Hotel management and its staff we would like to welcome you again in the near future to stay with us and we'll look forward to serve you.

With regards,

Essau Pwelle
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Do not stay at this HOTEL. We had made reservation to stay there in Feb. 2014. When we made the reservation it was thru Expedia ( Never will use them again ) and no where on there website do they mention that the elevator does not work from floor 1 to 10. This was informed to us after we got there and I refused to check in since I can not do steps due to health reasons. I called Expedia from DAR as I was waiting for some one responseble from hotel management to come and release me from my reservation oblogation. I explained the situation to Expedia and they promised me to call me back in a short while. Today it is the 1st of March and expedia has still not called me. No one from the management came to help us and so I left and checked into near by property called TANZANITE SUITES. This is a very good property .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank livkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

At Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

At first on behalf of Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa I would like to apologize for unfortunate event that took place on February/2014 after arriving at our hotel were you could not use our service due to an safe elevator which was temporary out of order, and you could not use our 10 level stairs to the 1st floor where our elevator was working due to your knee problem.

Later that evening around 9pm our hotel staff called you to info you that our elevator from the ground floor was working, but unfortunately you were booked to the neighbor hotel already. We feel sorry for all the trouble you went through and we hope in the near future we'll be able to accommodate you.

We also wanted to let you know that we are not that "horrible" if we could have provided you any service, but an elevator issue could have even happened at your own home or apartment. The issue here was from the third part whom you reserved our hotel from, that they promised to call you back and they never did that. I wish they could have called you and listened to you when you needed them.

We remember our management issued you supporting letter as a proof that you could not stay with us due to having knee problem and you could not use our service. Therefore no charge were made to you or they should have not charge you ( but we could not interfere because of conflict of interest).

Again on behalf the hotel management and staff, I'm asking for an apology and would like to welcome you again to stay with us in the near future.

Regards,

Essau Pwelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for a week in January on a business trip. Overall, this is a nice place, immaculately clean and spacious, for an excellent price. But service is slow and at times lacking in competence.

PROs:
- rooms and ensuite bathroom are large and spotlessly clean
- in-house restaurant with very good prices and wide selection, with varied food choices.
- located in the heart of downtown
- rooms have many electrical outlets
- rooms have mini fridges
- breakfast is not bad: breads, cereals, fruits, eggs, sausages, baked beans, freshly made juices.
- free wifi
- staff is very friendly and warm. They organise sim cards, phone credits, taxis and are very eager to help with whatever you ask of them.
- there is a money exchange place right downstairs with excellent rates
- you can print at their business centre downstairs
- bed and pillows very comfortable

CONs:
- poor lighting in room makes it impossible to do work at night. No lamps in rooms.
- staff is slow:
Your restaurant order will take no less than 45 mins to an hour GUARANTEED. Drink orders like tea or fresh juice- 20-30 minutes. Do not bother to order here if you are in a hurry.
If you have any kind of problem, though willing, staff is very slow to respond.
- do NOT rely on the wifi for ANYTHING. It's slow, sometimes non-existent, and if you have a problem after hours, there is no IT assistant to help you.
- windows are not double paned. You can hear any and everything on the noisy streets.
- desk and chair were uncomfortable for working
- the toilet had no extractor fan and there was a bad smell coming from the drain in the toilet

In summary, I would definitely stay here again if I came to just see the sights and was looking for a good clean place to stay. I would not stay here at all if I was travelling for business.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further from noisy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpurpleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany D, Guest Relations Manager at Tiffany Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

At Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa,

On behalf of the Hotel Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel out of many hotels in Dar es Salaam.

We are sorry for taking so long to respond to your review due to going through management transition in order to improve services to our guests. Your review is very appreciate and from your review we'll know where to fix. Summing up about our indeed spacious rooms with excellent price, spotlessly clean, in house restaurant with wide selection of menu and very good price, the location of our hotel being in the heart of Dar es salaam downtown, staff being helpful to you regarding your communication needs for getting you sim cards, credit cards, taxi, and whatever you asked they were their to help. We say thank you for such honest review.

And for what did not make your stay comfortable such as lacking of lighting in the room, uncomfortable chairs, reading table, smell from the bathroom, our staff being slow, and food taking so long after ordering. The management it has already taking serious approach to fix and improve where our service is lacking and train the staff to be more competent .

We would to welcome back again in the near future so that you could experience our improvement from what you made us improve.

With regards,

Essau Pwelle,
Guest Relations Manager
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#12 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#26 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
10.3 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#35 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#23 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiffany Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiffany Diamond Hotel

Address: Plot No. 810/75 Indira Gandhi Street/ Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £59 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiffany Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiffany Diamond Hotels (TDH’s), Ltd started to establish its brands in June/2013 when the sister hotel (TDH- Dar es Salaam) was raised from the ground after an old building believed to be built in 1956 at the time of Colonial erra was demolished, and built a 10 story building with 75 en suite and spacious rooms:Standard rooms 06,Superior kingsize rooms 42,Superior twin rooms 15,Junior suite rooms 04,Executive suite rooms 04, and Diplomatic rooms 04. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tiffany Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing