We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hidden spot in Dar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobab Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

Baobab Restaurant & Lounge
Price range: US$40 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The cooking club is a melting pot of culinary activities and a unique fun alternative for a night out in dar es salaam. We offer cooking workshops, cooking for kids, private lunches & dinners, wine pairing, chef training, and a great venue for your "Something different" management or board meeting. Workshops: tapas, sushi & sashimi, homemade pasta, baking & pastry and more.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hidden spot in Dar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been to Baobab the first time in May and I found the atmosphere really welcoming and relaxing. Definitely it's not a place just to eat and go.. The food is very unique to what Dar has to offer and very exceptional.The service is quite fast and talking about the management, I find them friendly without being invasive. I would definitely suggest it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sim0nar0me0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Under 16 children are NOT allowed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Arrogant manager
Strict no children policy for children under 16
You should clearly display the no children policy instead of letting the people in and kick them out afterwards.
We will of course never ever come to this place again

Helpful?
2 Thank DBTZ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We won't be back, the attitude of the management is very much that this restaurant is run for their convenience and not that of the customers. As to the no children policy, how come the same management run a lodge on Mafia with a pool and children are not banned??

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Since when 'No children' Policy gets linked to racism?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Comment of DBTZ76 really made me step in and reply. Sorry, Ma'am, Sir, since when did the 'No Children' Policy became linked to racism???
Your ignorant and aggressive comment/review is actually the one that deeply smells of racism or plain ignorance?...
Anyhow, in support of common sense and deep concern for the well-being of kids around swimming pools at restaurants, where life guards are not an obligation as the swimming pool is used for ambiance purposes only, I do support 'No Children' policy.
I've known too many cases where the parents would be too busy chatting and enjoying themselves and some guest would have to jump in fully clothed to save their drowning child...True stories from Dar life where parents tend to irresponsibly leave their children around swimming pools under the supervision of nannies or hotel staff (who are not qualified life guards and cannot swim in most cases) while enjoying their grown-up time out.
Plus....What is your child doing out at all after 8PM??? Isn't it time to be getting ready to sleep?
Just a thought...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Archipelago, Tanzania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Children not welcome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was the first and definitely the last time I've come to this place. being told upon arrival that children are not allowed, it the worst reception i ever experienced.
it only opened a short while ago, but I can guarantee you that with this attitude they won't stay open for long.
good riddens!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elassooy, Owner at Baobab Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Dirk,

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret the fact that your first experience with us has been a disappointing one. We understand and respect your response and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused but hopefully the following background information will help to put it in the right perspective.

When we opened the restaurant in February 2014 we discussed the issue in great length. The size and overall depth of our pool, the fact that the (small) shallow end is far from the restaurant section and the negative advise of our insurance company made us decide to implement the no children policy. Under the current circumstances we are simply not in a position to guarantee the safety of children. We trust that you understand and respect our choice to put the safety of your children first and hope to welcome you again to enjoy the unique ambiance and the eclectic mix of Michelin start level dishes we have to offer.

With kind personal regards,

Erwin Lassooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baobab Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing