We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

fantastic experience for the whole family. I fancy coming solo next time to this oasis of tranquility. Staff are curteous and polite. Managers always present to help, and nothing is much trouble. Free wifi on the beach is a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manc2014657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiss03, General Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear valuable guest
All the Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I could note that the venue and service have met your expectations.
Your observations are precious as it allows us to, constantly, improve the quality of our service in the sole aim of keeping you always satisfied.
I hope being able to welcome you again in Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach to offer to your good selves a new unique experience.

Wissem SOUIFI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    50
    15
    13
    9
See reviews for
34
21
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a lovely stay here in July 2014, an oasis of calm from Dar es Salaam. The staff were attentive, warm and extremely pleasant to deal with. We were travelling with young children and had a adjoining rooms which were excellent, lovely comfortable beds. Hygiene is extremely good. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day, floors mopped, etc. which when you have children crawling about is very reassuring.We stayed elsewhere in Tanzania and this hotels standards were so much better, winning hands down on both food and cleanliness. The food was magnificent, the a la carte menu in the restaurant has a great selection, it was beautifully cooked and the buffet meals are also very good, the staff were willing to make child portions and were always pleasant and helpful with service. I really could not recommend this hotel more, location is great, lovely beach, great pool, great food and most importantly wonderful staff. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are cottage style thatched huts facing out onto the fabulous beach so you are guara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoSaTaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiss03, General Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valuable Guest ,

All the Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I could note that the service and hygiene have met your expectations.
Your observations are precious as it allows us to, constantly, improve the quality of our service in the sole aim of keeping you always satisfied.
I hope being able to welcome you again in Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach to offer to your good selves a new unique experience.

Wissem SOUIFI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Overall nice hotel but would not say 5 star. This is a tourist level hotel. Had initial problems with checkin and room service but got sorted out. Do not try and order anything from the room service menu that is too complicated.....Understanding of English can be a problem. Dinner was excellent and service by waiter was great. Hotel transfer is $50 each way if organised by hotel...probably would say that is on the expensive side since it is only 18km away. Be prepared for Dar es Salaam traffic....it took well over an hour to get to the hotel and that is on a good day....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiss03, General Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear valuable Guest ,

All the Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I could note that the service provided by staff have met your expectations.
Your observations ( specifically check-in , room service and English language issues ) are precious as it allows us to, constantly, improve the quality of our service in the sole aim of keeping you always satisfied.
I hope being able to welcome you again in Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach to offer to your good selves a new unique experience.

Wissem SOUIFI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had been there before but the experience of 29th July was amazing. Good food, good service, very good property, lots of activities beach, swimming pool, tennis, basketball. Most Importantly the STAFF IS ALWAYS READY TO ASSIST. We had problem with food and the floor manager and F&B Manager assisted us in a superb way

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiss03, General Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear valuable Guest ,

All the Ledger Bahari Beach team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I could note that the staff service have met your expectations.
Your observations are precious as it allows us to, constantly, improve the quality of our service in the sole aim of keeping you always satisfied.
I hope being able to welcome you again in Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach to offer to your good selves a new unique experience.

Wissem SOUIFI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited this place on a Tuesday afternoon....It was pleasant, not a whole lot of people...BUT we had to pay to use the pool...on a Tuesday??? aND The staff by the bar (not the bar staff) were not nice about it either...we almost left but my son already saw the pool and he is the last person on earth i'd want to disappoint....

We were here with friends and their kids too...they were all too excited to swim...so we stayed...It changed when we got downstairs...the guy behind the bar was awesome! the waiter was equally great...helped us pick the fish we wanted from the menu dependent on what we explained and they did not go wrong...they told us about the new soda in town...unfortunately i forgot what it was...we did end up trying it too...but my love for stoney tangawizi won out again no matter what drink i try...well except for freshly squeezed juices...anyway...back to the hotel...the pool was clean, and not as small as what others have said on their reviews. but i could see it becoming smaller if it's really packed...

We went to the beach as well...unfortunately they hadn't cleaned it yet or something because i there were some bottles and i stabbed my foot on a dull broken thing...i just didnt care what it was i just sanitized my foot and got back to the pool...

I am giving it 4 starts for those reason...reiterating, paying for the pool mid week when no one was there, the food is a bit on the pricey side and the beach was not clean...this should have been 3 stars or less anywhere but the staff really made us feel welcome and constantly checked on us, all the suggestions they made about the food were on point...I wish i took their names for this review...because the staff upstairs sure could learn a thing or two from these two guys...IF management reads these, i think it was July 15 around noon? but we stayed until around 4pm.

One thing i did not check were the bathrooms...i found it best to avoid public bathrooms altogether...not worth it...

P.S great views, most my pictures had my son and my friend's kids so these will have to do....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proudmama35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiss03, General Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear valuable Guest ,
All the Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I could note that the service provided by staff have met your expectations.
Your observations ( specifically the beach issue ) are precious as it allows us to, constantly, improve the quality of our service in the sole aim of keeping you always satisfied.
I hope being able to welcome you again in Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach to offer to your good selves a new unique experience.

Wissem SOUIFI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited there with family and friends. It is a clean and cool place with facilities of swimming pool, pub, restaurant, beach and more. It has no entry fee, and you should not take any eatable inside as it is not allowed. However, food, snacks and other eatables available there at little high costs. It has facilities of free wifi also. Scenes are good for pictures and a good place to enjoy and rest for 3-4 hours. Located not very far from the City center, it can be a nice trip.

Room Tip: Enjoy the trip, take care of not taking food inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiss03, General Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest ,

All the Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I could note that our resort facilities have met your expectations.
Your observations are precious as it allows us to, constantly, improve the quality of our service in the sole aim of keeping you always satisfied.
I hope being able to welcome you again in Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach to offer to your good selves a new unique experience.

Wissem SOUIFI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The prime location is on the seaside with engaging view of the Indian Ocean. While the buildings are solid and rooms inviting basic services are missing. Telephone to rooms keep on buzzing with ni response. Room service is slow and when delivered the commission is staggering. Guests feel robbed. The Main restaurant is infested with Crows and the birds pick food in the sight of guests while waiters just lounge by as if it is a tourist attraction. The price for both buffet meals and a la carte is overly forbidding. Parents who come on weekends with kids crying for a hotel with good facilities are disappointed by the overpriced meals. The hotel should do better on this score. The poolside service is also poor. Waiters run around in confusion serving incoming guests and forgetting those that are seated. My thoughts are that the hotel has great potential of a great hotel. You can see fr the surroundings that it has enviable space and location. Great things can be done here if the owners look for professional managers and staff who can raise it to greatness. It should raise way above mediocrity that is the bane of neighboring hotels. The owners have done a good job in bringing it up from its dilapidated conditions of the past but in terms of service they are way to go.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MbialoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiss03, Guest Relations Manager at Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Valuable ,

All the Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach team and I would thank you for sharing your experience further to your stay within our property.
I took note of your comments with particular attention, especially regarding the service and ask you to accept my apologies for these inconveniences.
We shall ensure the close monitoring of the details linked to our service.
Looking forward having the great pleasure to, personally, welcome you during your next stay.
Please accept my warm greetings

GUEST RELATION MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.6 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#17 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.7 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#45 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#13 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel

Property: Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Address: Kunduchi Mtongeni Road, off Old Bagamayo Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing