We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Intro to Tanzania” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour View Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Suites
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
princeton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Comfortable Intro to Tanzania”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice sized King Suite with desk, large TV and convenient bathroom. Lighting was with a key card. View of the harbor was obscured by construction but we did have a nice view from the restaurant. They obviously care about security. Breakfast was a huge buffet with a sufficient variety to please anyone. The service was attentive, friendly and very polite. We were here just overnight and for that purpose it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    112
    43
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
41
21
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I'm staying at Harbour view suites. It's a place with very spacious rooms. I was not lucky to get a harbour viewing room and I got a room that had construction work going on right outside which means I can not open my windows and go out into the balcony due to dust and also the lack of privacy.
There is a stench in the bathroom that is more pronounced during the day.
The restaurant on the 9th floor is very nice but does not offer enough variety.
All in all I had an uneventful stay.
I'd recommend this for work trips but not leisure.
Internet speeds are impressive!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Big spacious rooms but the bathroom needs some renovation and toiletries should be better . Added attraction is the casino in the basement of the same complex. You get good Indian food. The view of the port and the sea was amazing.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms in higher floors have excellent view of the Indian Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Harbour View Suites from August 7 to 12 and then 14 to 16. As many have said in their reviews, if you are in Dar Es Salaam for business then that is a really convenient place to stay. It is quite safe and relatively cheaper.

Two people had indicated in their reviews that the room had some smell. Yes they had this sewerage smell which I came to find that it was not coming from the sewer but from the air conditioner. At 25 degrees Celsius or higher, the smell was bad. However below about 22 degrees, the smell disappeared.

I love to cook so I booked a studio with kitchen. Funny enough, the power cable did not have any plug on it and they did not have enough supply of plates; there was no cutting knife. Some of their receptionist asked for money which took me aback.

One good thing about the place was that there was a convenient store and a bureau de change on the ground floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EbonyConda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This place is a bit grotty really. Don't believe the website! The rooms are relatively clean but they're also old and tired. Breakfast was poor. The staff kept giving us a hotel car when we asked for a normal taxi, then proceeded to try to overcharge us hideously for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

After looking at a couple of places to stay in Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania, we zeroed on The Harbour View Suites for its proximity to the city and easy access to travel from the port to Zanzibar. Direct communication and reservation queries to the hotel administration were flawless and responses good. There was no deposit required and we were offered pick up from the airport for an approximate fee of US $25 which proved to be a good deal and a hustle free ride to the hotel (apart from the terrible traffic log). The chauffeur was waiting for us and he was very friendly.
Check in was swift and we were assisted to our rooms by very friendly staff. I speak Swahili so this assisted with communication and other settling in matters. The room on the 12th floor was very clean, although navigating from the Reception to rooms proved confusing at first, but was ok as days went by. We did not have a room with a balcony, however we were able to see the harbour and Kigamboni Ferry, which was pleasant. Sleep was great and hot showers available in the morning. I visited the gym that evening which was not great but adequate for normal exercises. This is situated next to the dining room, terrace and swimming pool. Great views of the harbour from here. The music part is a bit mis-leading as there is no live band there playing New Orleans Jazz! Breakfast and lunch was great and staff very friendly and chatty. Downstairs, there are taxis for hire and shops..pharmacy, exchange bureau and a supermarket. Its a 6-10 minute walk to the port to get a ferry to Zanzibar, so no need for a taxi at all. There is also easy access to WIFi and local sim cards can be purchased downstairs. Walking around the city is a breeze through Samora Ave and other. The Hotel is safe, which is a comfort for first travellers. In all, we had a great time and stayed again at this place after our visit from Zanzibar. We were allowed to leave our luggage here till our return from Zanzibar too. Leaving 2 hours earlier before reporting time at the airport is advisable due to traffic contestation. "Better early then late !!

Room Tip: The rooms were great and if one can afford, the ones with a balcony should provide a great view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChimMarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have stayed at the HarbourView Suites regularly for over 3 years. The hotel is located on 4 top floors of 12 storey commercial building in central location in Dar. Hotel plus: (a) great location if your business is in town center (b) spacious comfortable rooms with adequate cooking amenities (c) convenient supermarket in same building on ground floor (d) gym is adequate (e) management friendly and attentive to client needs (f) very friendly and helpful staff (g) chef is very talented, accommodating and can prepare excellent indian dishes according to your likes (h) taxi stand in front of hotel building. Very convenient and comfortable, overall good value for money. Some construction presently nearby and at building but noise is barely noticeable inside room and works stop by late afternoon, so noise has not been an issue during this stay.

Room Tip: If you plan to cook meals regularly, get one bedroom or even better two bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnSGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#16 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Suites

Property: Harbour View Suites
Address: Samora Avenue | PO Box 9163, Dar es Salaam 9163, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Hotel Accommodation, Serviced Offices, Meeting and conference facilities, Boardrooms, Business Center, Restaurant and Bar, Fitness Center with swimming pool, all within one hotel. That's what we call The Business Comfort Zone. Centrally situated and 200m from the ferry port to Zanzibar we are also an excellent location for tourists visiting Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Harbour View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing