We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY HOME FROM HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Suites
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I have been a regular visitor to Dar es Salaam on business over the years so I have tried all the top hotels. Last week I stayed at the Harbour View Hotel, and I recommend it without reservation. Everything about the hotel was excellent. My one bedroom suite was a clean, well furnished and a true ‘home from home’. It was a joy to get back to each evening after a day in the office. Every member of staff was welcoming, polite and caring. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The restaurant is excellent with beautiful views over the harbour. The roof top terrace is an oasis for an early evening drink, the breeze was refreshing, the view magnificent and I cannot think of anywhere I enjoyed that a drink more. The food menu is extensive and every meal I had was a culinary delight. And yet the hotel was very quiet but I doubt it will be for long as travellers like myself make it their first choice in Dar.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UNILINKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2009

Stayed in the 2 room studio while visiting Dar. Limited view of harbour from the rooms. Had to take stairs to the next floor where suite was located, which was inconvenient. Staff were pleasant and helpful.Location was good. Rate for the breakfast was a " turn off " - Too high for what was offered. Driver Mohando was pleasant.
Air conditioning flows from ceiling and placed right above bed - not good! Only shower available - no bath.
Furnishings are adequate. Overall, a very ordinary place which charges too much.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelier21, General Manager at Harbour View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

Its almost a year later, and we are now a much larger hotel with all the facilities we were lacking back in May 2009. Our restaurant, bar, swimming pool, gym, sun deck and gardens over looking the harbour. 31 new Executive rooms, and 7 of these have a jacuzi as well as the shower, and each has a large balcony. We have many more special offers on accommodation rates than last year as well. A belated thank you for staying with us and your feedback on your stay. kind regards. Andrew Wingrove. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I had high hopes for this place, after reading such rave reviews on this hotel in tripadvisor. The hotel is well located in the centre of town. It’s conveniently located next to a tiny mall where you can get nearly everything you need. From the outside, the hotel looks more like an office than a hotel. The hotel premises are a lot smaller than I had imagined and you get the feeling when you see the small reception area. The hallways are very warm, since no air-conditioning exists there and there is nothing on the hotel premises where you can do anything. So you need to walk around the streets of Dar to pass time.

The rooms are very spacious, with a kicthenette so you can cook your own meals. You can buy groceries from the supermarket in the mall next to the hotel. The bathroom is fine for 1 person. The beds are ok, although the pillows are quite flat not that comfortable. Modern furnishings in the room are well maintained as well. Wifi in the room is charged at $15USD per 24 hours, which is quite expensive considering the connection is very slow and unreliable. I had paid similar rates at other hotels that had a better connection. Another annoying aspect about my stay at the hotel was the consistent crashing of the internet happening at least once everyday, the satellite TV would also crash losing channels at least once every night and power would also cut out every night I was there.

The only other public area in the hotel is the tiny breakfast area. The hotel breakfast has humble offerings for $10USD. I would only recommend the breakfast if nothing else is open nearby or you can’t be bothered walking to any other places. You get very little for what you pay to eat and in a squashy area. I found a survey card in the room promising a new restaurant, gym and pool to be completed in June 2007. It’s now 2009 and still no sign of it.

The saving grace of this hotel is the service from its staff. They are most friendly, professional and very attentive to your needs. However, I would only recommend this hotel if you are looking for a central location, strictly just a place to crash and/or on a tight budget where you can cook your own meals.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Entering this apartment was a very pleasant surprise. Modern, spacious and clean. These are characteristics not often used of tanzanian hotels....

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tigerpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

I stayed at Harbour View Suites on 2 separate occasions on a recent trip to Tanzania and can't recommend them highly enough!

Note that some web sites show no availability for this hotel (e.g., Orbitz) on any date and I suspect that this has something to do with a reservations system glitch. I, however, had no issues getting a room at this hotel by contacting and booking the hotel directly at its web site at http://www.harbourview-suites.com/

They offer excellent value for the buck. I paid only $84 for a studio (after 30% discount on presentation of a tourist guide). The rooms are spotlessly clean, huge (almost 1 1/2 to 2 times the size of a normal hotel room) and are furnished with very comfortable beds, stylish leather couches, satellite TV, and full kitchenette (microwave, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, utensils, refrigerator, etc). One one occasion the room I was provided had floor to ceiling windows and on the second occasion a window that stretched the whole width of the room thereby offering a beautiful landscape view.

Access to the hotel is through a special elevator and entry to the room is only through a credit card sized "card key". Also, all the rooms have an electronic safe. Therefore, from a security perspective, I felt perfectly safe.

The hotel is located on the 9th, 10th and 11th floor of the The Harbour View (a.ka. JM) Mall. In the Mall is a laundry, money changing center, bank, internet center, pizzaria/cafe, supermarket and casino......all very, very convenient and useful services.

Also, where Samora Avenue crosses Ohio Street (5 minutes walking distance from the hotel), you can find a food center/court where you can get Indian, Chinese, Thai, Stellers (burgers),etc., food.

The hotel arranged for airport pick-up and drop off and their charge for it ($20 one way) is slightly cheaper than if you had to independently take a taxi on your own. Also I used their car service for a round trip ($20) to the Mwenga Center to pick up wood carvings, tinga tinga paintings, etc). The car service cost for the shopping trip included a one hour waiting charge. Very reasonable!

The staff are very well trained and are courteous, efficient, polite and provide great service with an every friendly smile.

The hotel is located on Samora Avenue which is in the city-center and a mere 20 minute drive from the airport. For comparison purposes, The New Africa Hotel and the Movenpick Hotel are 10 minutes walking distance from Harbour View Suites.

The only area that the hotel needs improvement is their breakfast services ($7.50). The breakfast is continental-style but can easily be enhanced by providing "hot" food such as eggs/omlettes and bacon.

The hotel which has about 50 rooms has plans to add another 40 rooms and they are constructing a conference center, gym, and swimming pool. Harbour View Suites is comparable to 4 star hotel but offers 5 star value because of its extremely competitive price. You don't have to take my word for it - all the tourist guides (Lonely Planet, Bradt and Rough Guide) rate it as an outstanding value.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DravidDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

This hotel is in an excellent location in the heart of downtown Dar es Salaam. It has excellent views of the city, and the rooms are large, spacious, with kitchen, dining and living room. We had the 2-bedroom executive suite, and there was plenty of room for the 4 of us to spread out. It felt very safe here. The rooms occupy the top 2 floors of the building and there are plans to add more rooms and a restaurant on other floors. There is a convenient little mall on the ground floor, with dining, internet cafe and grocery store. There is also an ATM here. This is good as the hotel charges high rates for internet access and money changing.

The room rate is fairly expensive, but worth it for location, cleanliness and quality of the room. It's a quiet place, and there's air-con in every room. They offer a convenient airport taxi service and it's worth it getting them to pick you up from the airport--thus avoiding the touts.

Everything was in walking distance - the National Museum, the Markets, and plenty of restaurants. It felt safe walking to all of the attractions during the day, but I would hesitate to venture out at night (but you'd probably get injured tripping over the broken sidewalks in the dark before you got mugged).

The room was well-maintained, with the exception of the in-room safes which did not lock.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We recently returned from our trip and can't say enough about the Harbour View Suites. We were met at the airport and when our driver found out it was our first visit to TZ, he happily pointed out landmarks, talked about the city and offered suggestions for our stay. We were greeted at the reception area with juice and warm greetings. When we inquired about changing two rooms to a 2-bedroom suite, they quickly changed our reservations - - saving us money and giving us much more space! Our rooms were spotless, spacious, and well stocked with water and supplies. (As there were 5 of us, we had a suite and a double room) All of the rooms opened onto balconies - - the suite had a private one and the other lead to a common balcony for 6 -8 rooms. While we didn't have a full view of the harbour, we did have partial views. (The view will be much improved when they complete the construction!)

The location is on a very busy street, but once inside, it is very quiet. Security is stationed at the street level in front of the elevators and also at the entrance to the attached "mall". While the small mall had a variety of stores including ATMs, a grocery store, internet cafe and small restaurant, it was never busy or felt crowded.

We truly enjoyed staying here - - we even cancelled our other hotel reservations for our return trip to Dar and stayed at the Harbour View a second time!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmomtotwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#12 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
684 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
184 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
511 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Suites

Address: Samora Avenue | PO Box 9163, Dar es Salaam 9163, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Hotel Accommodation, Serviced Offices, Meeting and conference facilities, Boardrooms, Business Center, Restaurant and Bar, Fitness Center with swimming pool, all within one hotel. That's what we call The Business Comfort Zone. Centrally situated and 200m from the ferry port to Zanzibar we are also an excellent location for tourists visiting Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing