We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a unique place”
Review of 305 Karafuu

305 Karafuu
Ranked #6 of 310 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a unique place”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very very unique place! And the food was sooo delicious and the owner very inspiring to talk with.
I will definitely come back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petervanerum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    64
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem! Perfect food & experience!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We thought we were in the wrong end of town as we were off the beaten track. The taxi waited out the front whilst we checked it was the right restaurant and wow we soon realised we had found the hidden gem.

The atmosphere hits you instantly and you know, that feeling 'this is exactly the place we set ourselves out to find'. The evening began with a wide selection of wine brought out on a home made wooden wine display where we could choose from an array of South African and French varieties. The waiter was very knowledgable and helpful.

After we finished a glass of wine or two we decided to skip starters and all three of us ordered the seafood platter. Im from Australia, living in London for the past 3 years and I have not had seafood this good since being back home living on the west coast. Seafood platter - A MUST ORDER.

Afterwards we moved onto the homely bar area for mojitos and port, and caught up with the owner of the gem Casper. He is a legend!

We had one night in Dar Es Salaam and we could not have been happier with the staff, atmosphere and of course the food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SelenaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Annica. Hannes. Gio. Rhona. We loved it. Lamb shank was Devine. Everything fabulous. Now bring on the desserts. Yummyyyyy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinnyTanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Deserves is place as #1”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Arrived in Dar that day and only staying one night so looked to TripAdvisor to make sure we picked a good restaurant and we weren't disappointed. Fresh, well cooked seafood, good service and nice decor, it stood out as a little oasis in this traditional neighbourhood. Excellent value too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alibi_JX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just love in it!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Probably my favorite restaurant in Dar.
Is on the peripheries of masaki, in kinondoni. To get there is a trip through real tanzanian neighbors, but once you arrive you feel like home.
The furniture and decor is very well design, all wood with an open kitchen where you can see the stoves and smell the nice flavors of the sea food and other fusion dishes.
Cousy atmosphere, great and lovely waitress, excellent food.
Perfect environment to go with friends and enjoy a good meal, good music, good wine and a nice long chat, and also a lovely cozy place to go with your couple and enjoy a romantic dinner.
10 over 10!!
my favorite!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank claracomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 305 Karafuu also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to 305 Karafuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing