We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest restaurant but good portion and fresh fish”

Ashibe Sushi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 307 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modest restaurant but good portion and fresh fish”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I we are funs of sushi ( we ate sushi around the world). First I need to say this restaurant is not classy, not for special dates, but the service is very good.

I found the prices and portions very correct, the rolls are big ( yes not prepared like authentic Japanese) but the flavor is correct and the sashimi very fresh ( is right that is a little bit thicker but is water in your mouth!).

Anyway is always full of japanese and chinese people I think that is good!
Of course I return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favourites in Dar”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I go to Ashibe for sushi pretty often. Almost every time there are Japanese customers in at least one other table, which I would take as a good sign anywhere.

The food is always great, nicely presented, fish is fresh. The wine list is very limited and only wine available by glass is Pearly Bay... but overall really nice food and good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristiinaLahde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to the food after reading the reviews but were very disappointed.
The sashimi was cut far too thickly and the tempura was also not presented nicely (quite greasy) with very big pieces of vegetables and prawn heads rather than a nice piece of prawn.
Don't think we'll come again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Japanese cousine”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We went Japanese restaurant tonight. We were very amazing japanese food. Sushi and sashimi is very fresh never see in tanzania restaurant. I can say " Real japanese orginal foods than ather restaurant". The staff is very shape, kindly and hospitality. We had a good time for enjoy. We return next time. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi I've ever had!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Last night we went for this smal place, and it was the best choice! The staff was very friendly and the settings was amazing. We had different rolls, spicy tuna, pankofried prawns, calamari and cucumber and tuna maki. It was the best meal we've eaten so far in Dar! we paid 140.00 TSH for whine, water and food for 4 people. Better then Osaka, for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LiseBundgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashibe Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Ashibe Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing