We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Desserdly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five Star Desserdly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Truly a Five Star Hotel with Five Star Restaurents. Location is a good distance from the airport, and the drive can take an hour in rush hour. Extensive security omni-present.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    214
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
50
108
42
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed for a week at the Dar Kempinski at the end of July 2011 (2 kids + 2 adults on a work/vacation combo). Comfortable with excellent amenities (nice pool, spa, gym). Rooms were large - we had a king bed and two extra beds for the kids with room left over to sit around and work/chat. Rooms were clean and well kept. The main drawback with the hotel is that the service is well meant but a bit on the slow and scattered side. Also, I could be wrong about this, but the staff does not seem to know much about the area around the hotel (nearest ATM if the hotel ATM does not work, local stores, etc.). The restaurants are not great (though the view from the rooftop bar is excellent) - the palm in particular tries to do everything but nothing comes out well. The lounge is the best bet for good food at a good price. All in all, a great place to stay but it could be better given what we paid and given the reputation of the chain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have been several times to Kilimanjaro-Kempinski (nowadays Hyatt), and it is still a relief and joy to enter into their proper 5 star establishment. It is very clear to me that it is the best hotel in Dar Es Salaam. Why?
1.Excellent service. The staff is really helpful, even with small things. As it is an expensive hotel one get quite picky when it comes to details, but here it is usually up to the limit. The porters are my favourit, as they keep on remembering me through all these years I have stayed here. The transfer and taxi drivers are very helpful and although not the cleapest ones around, they do an excellent service for the guests. The only downside with service is that it sometimes takes a bit long to get things happening, but this still Africa and things take time here.
2.Good Location. If you manage to get a room with harbour view you can truly enjoy the big panorama window in you room and to me it is interesting too see out over the busy port, the buzzling streets and the ferrys going out to Kigomani and to Zanzibar.
3. Rooms. They are always well kept, clean and with proper equipment. Only two things here which could be better. The Internet connection is terrible slow and is cutting off all the time, but I know also the difficulties with power supply in the whole region which affects everything. As it is a business hotel the interior is not displaying anything from africa.... which would perhaps give a nice spice to the decor. (minor thing actually).
4. Last, but not least, the food.
-The Mezzini floor Asian restaurant (Oriental) is actually the reason for me to come here time after time. Its a very good restaurant with the best from China, Japan, Indonesia, Mongolia and never I have been dissatisfied with the food.
-The breakfast buffe downstairs is one of the best I have experienced, but upstairs in the business lounge the breakfast is too poor. A bit more choices would be very good. Not like downstairs, but a bit more, please.
-Room service. Better that usual on these kind of hotels. Food is always warm, no mistakes in the ordering-delivering, and a fairly good choice of meals. Very fast and accurate service here again.
-The roof top bar. Very good Mojito and drinks. Sometimes crowdy and noisy and then the service is slow. But in general a very good place to start the evening on. Excellent view again over the port. Relaxing place with good selection of snacks.

I noticed a review here where they were dissapointed on the mattresses. Well, we are all different, and eventhough I also think its not the best possible matresses perhaps i keep coming back.

Keep it up Hyatt, you have a challange in taking over this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

First as the Kempinski, since August 1st, managed by the Hyatt Group, this Hotel is by far the best in Dar es Salaam if not one of the best in East Africa. The rooms are comfortable, and well equipped . The Oriental Restaurant serves a nice mixed of far eastern delights. For a private trip maybe a little too pricy, but for business the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaapv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

hotel is great... staff are helpful... clean and spacious suit rooms... cheap... excellent breakfast... fine open buffet dinners... secure...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _wanderer_2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

It is a gorgeous and luxurious hotel, the best I have seen in a major city in East Africa. However I really do not understand how they came to choose the worst beds of any hotel I have stayed at, from no stars to 7 stars. The beds are the old style hard top mattresses. If you like sleeping on the floor, you'd love these beds. My suggestion to the hotel, please get better beds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed at the Kili once again, and did not disappoint.

Some small recurring issues though:

- The door card kept resetting daily, and I had to get it done. I was there for 4 nights, and it seems the staff who had entered my reservation had not indicated 4 nights, hence daily reset.

- The air conditioning in the rooms is brutally cold!! And it seems like the controller for temperature does not work. I have stayed here now 4 times, and it is always the case with all the rooms. I wish they were less aggressive with the low temperatures.

- Coffee served at breakfast is usually cold/tepid. Make sure you tell the waiter you want your coffee hot (moto moto in swahili).

- Check in in sloooooooooooooow, no matter whether on ground floor for regular room, or 6th floor for club rooms.

Otherwise clean rooms, good food, friendly staff. make sure to try the shoe polish guy in the lobby, and give him a good tip, he makes your shoes shine!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KulaRaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Property: Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing