We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt in Dar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My second trip to the Hyatt, was previously the Kepinski Hotel - and still such a Awesome Hotel! Situated very close to the central hub of Dar es Salaam, and was within walking distance for me . The rooms are outstanding, and the service is out of this world. The Palm restaurant has themed nights for dinner each evening , so it was fantastic to experience a wide variety of food . The Level 8 Bar , situated on the roof of the hotel with views over the harbor is absolutely stunning, and the pool deck with the rim flow pool is Awesome! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency D... T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro. It has always been our utmost focus to provide all our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is feedback such as yours, which motivates the entire team to strive towards excellence. Your generous compliments have been shared with our team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were only there for about 6 hours on a transit to Johannesburg, but the rooms were modern, neat and tidy, and fantastic bathroom.
The check in staff were friendly, and efficient.
Beds were comfortable,
We dined in the Asia restaurant, which was busy and service a bit slow. Food was great though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency D... T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro. I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectation. Feedback such as yours, motivates the entire team to strive towards excellence. Your generous compliments have been shared with our team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

Thank you.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Despite a slight difficulty while checking in (I had a sea view and they wanted to switch it it for a city view room), the stay was enjoyable. Service could have been better. I had to make at least 2 calls to get ice after hitting my face with the corner of the bathroom sink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgardostern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It's a luxurious place, with a fantastic oriental restaurant, nice clean rooms, spectacular view and very friendly crew.I had the best morning coffee ever there, and they had an amazing a la carte breakfast menu.


A very beautiful design in whole, and nice outdoor swimming pools. Besides the fact that weather was too hot for me, the rest was great. Totally recommend it if you are going to DAR.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masterandhisdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Cool and amazing location. Simply and chic at the same time. Staff and service are caratterized by courtesy and efficenty. The sea view from the room is amazing. The restaurant serves an international cousine and with a great variety of food. This is a new brand hotel where spend a delicious weekend or business trip. Well equipped gym.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Oscar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hyatt seemed to have put an effort into upgrading a 70s lie building into avery modern hotel. By that you need to accept white design and white walls all around...its more like waking up in Osaka or Tokyo then in Africa, sober style.
Servive is mediocre and variable , room service also.
breakfast buffet and dinner buffets are outstanding - in general good gastronomy. Terras is very poor and rooftopbar cold maybe make up for it

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

No real surprises here - this is a good chain hotel. Good pool, good food, good staff - fantastic breakfast. Just what is needed in Dar Es Salaam.

Pool is great and the view from the bar is well worth a look. The Japanese restaurant does very good (surprisingly so) sushi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate12345_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.6 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.4 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £198 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing