We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stay here often and find it clean efficient and friendly. Limited resturants and not the place to go if you want to party but great business venue. Snack meals available in the downstairs bar area. 8th floor bar has great views but usually quiet

Room Tip: 6th floor has a private lounge for drinks and continental breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    215
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
50
109
42
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

After a long day of flying from New York to Dar es Salaam with a connection in Dubai, I have never been so happy and relieved to check into a hotel. This is not just a hotel...it's a really nice first rate hotel. We had arranged with the concierge prior to our visit to have a driver pick us up from the airport and that was just the beginning of a very pleasant experience. The hotel lobby is beautiful and sophisticated and very welcoming after a long day of flying. We were immediately greeted by the staff who quickly checked us into our room so we could take a much needed shower. The room was nice and comfortable and the internet worked well so it was easy to let everyone in the states know we had arrived safely. It was a nice surprise to discover the room not only had a nice shower but a big tub too.
After a nice long bath and a quick nap, we arranged with the hotel to have a car and driver take us around Dar es Salaam for the afternoon. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. The driver they gave us was very good and took us to a great little bar over looking the Indian ocean as well as to a fantastic Indian restaurant for dinner.
If you are worried about security, there is no need for concern. This hotel is behind gates and there are guards at the entrance. Unfortunately, the top floor restaurant/bar was closed the night we were there, but it looked nice when we checked it out and if we are ever back there, I am sure I will have a cocktail or two.

Room Tip: We had a king room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
345 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our eight days on safari due to difficulties getting flight connections. Good business hotel - good rooms including a nice new and clean bathroom and shower.

We had dinner in the asian restaurant as I was craving for some Asian food. It looked like one of the places to go for a business dinner in Dar. I probably have learnt my lesson not to try Asian food in Africa and expect anything interesting! The soup unfortunately (corn) was pretty tasteless so I needed to out lots of soya sauce in it but the chicken was ok (spicy as they left the seeds in the chili padi).

Overall the hotel was better than expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegemitelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

As a tour operator I will never hesitate to accommodate my clients there! since my very very VIP clients told me to add more one night after they enjoyed the real meaning of being in holiday in Tanzania and in this hotel! Super staff,amazing smile and wonderful delicious food and more good things they noted is what Im proud for this hotel! Thanks all

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is perfect. Comfy beds, trendy rooms, fast and efficient service. Nice gym, nice infinity pool overlooking the seafront. The yummiest food i have ever tasted in a hotel restaurant in all my travels across Africa. Courteous, pro, and friendly staff. I loved how Seleen the receptionist offered me a complimentary internet access card when i told her that i am checking out but i need the internet for a couple of hours till the drop off time to the airport. Last, but not least, this hotel is conveniently located in the business district. Again, food was so yummy that i almost gained weight in the 5 days of my stay. Next time, Chef, have mercy on me please; food was finger-licking good.

Room Tip: A sea front view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YousefOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Quite possibly the best hotel in Dar es Salaam. But at the end of the day you're still in West Africa! Stayed here for a night between flying into Dar and heading to Zanzibar the following day. The hotel was quite nice but the staff weren't the most helpful and were usually hard to find when you needed them! For example trying to check out so you can try to catch a flight when there is no staff to be found in the lobby! I will forever remember the concierges directions to his recommended restaurant for dinner. Once you leave the hotels compound turn right and follow (given directions) but whatever you do, when leaving the hotel do not turn left! You may not return... lol

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidrineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A Sunday burnch at the Hyatt is a great treat at the end of a tiring week. Wide spread of food. If you like middle eastern cuisine, you will love this brunch. They serve kofta, olives, dips, greek salads... I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleafaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
9.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Property: Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing