We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Decision Made”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Chehalis, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Decision Made”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

With so many properties available within Dar for hotel choices it is sometimes difficult to settle upon one (given their range of ratings and reviews) and after my recent 2 night stay at Protea I know that I made a great decision. The hotel is very clean and well maintained...the courtyard is nicely landscaped, well groomed and a comfortable place to just sit and relax for the day. Pictures of the pool are a bit deceiving and make it look much bigger than it actually is, but at the same time it is still a pleasant place to take a dip and cool off from the heat. The rooms are beautifully decorated...a bit on the small side and a little dark, yet very comfortable. The staff for the most part are exceptionally friendly and helpful with the housekeeping and restaurant employees leading the pack. Warm greetings, friendly smiles and a real willingness to help in any way they can. I met and talked to the restaurant supervisor who displayed a true professionalism in his position and a pride rightly deserving of his entire staff. The reception staff was courteous but a little stiff...not quite as friendly and welcoming but with proper training could very well turn this around. This being said, the good definitely outweighs any of the not so good.

I would certainly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a very nice place top stay in Dar. I am quite confident that I will pay another visit and lengthier stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusljbei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thanks a lot for staying with us and taking to write a candid review. I am extremely glad to notice that our TEAM delivered what we promise - genuine hospitality. Most of our STAFF have been with us for a very long time and we hire people for their attitude and train them for their skills. I have noted your comments about the reception STAFF, surprising as most of the GUESTS appreciate their friendliness and professionalism. I will definitely chat with them and do the needful. I am delighted to hear that we have managed to get another loyal GUEST, we really appreciate you recommending us to other travellers.

We look forward to host you again, have a great week ahead.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    159
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
70
25
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Couldn't get into a couple of the better known hotels in Dar so opted for the Protea for the one night. Very pleasantly surprised. Friendly, clean, excellent rooms and the best curry menu I've eaten from in a while. Pool area great to relax in after Dar traffic and the trip from Morogoro. Convenient to city and not too bad a run to the airport. Good internet. good value. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking the garden I think but with no lift that might not appeal to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buccaneer-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear GUEST

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard, thank you for trying us out and I am happy that we have managed to impress you & convert you into a loyal GUEST! I am extremely pleased to learn that you found the overall experience excellent, we look forward to host you again soon. I will pass your compliments to the TEAM and to the chefs.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels-Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we received a warm and friendly welcome from the receptionists.it is a romantic venue for weddings,honey moons and other special occasions,blending understated luxury and sophisticated style in an exequisite location.its rooms have a nice view of the Indian ocean.the meals are finger-licking especialy the seafood.the service was excellent!

Room Tip: select rooms that are overlooking the I ndian ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyachwayageoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Nyachwayageoffrey

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thanks a lot for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. Please note that the rooms do not offer view of the Indian Ocean though, a few metres walk from our hotel will place you on the beach. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels-Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

An oasis of seemingly old world charm in the middle of the chaos of Dar es Salaam city. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and make you feel welcome. Rooms up to scratch and hotel ahs all the amenities. Their indian cusine in the restaurant is especially good and combined with local and european food as well it caters for all

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Dave

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post your positive and candid review. I will pass your feedback on to our TEAM, they will be happy to hear that their efforts are being appreciated. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I lodged here also in October 2012, and the experience was very nice. The mel's are wonderful, the staff are very professional, the environment I very clean and the management is also very friendly.

The facilities here are fantastic, the pool is very clean and beautiful, the gym is first class, and the overall environment is very green and an e/cellent place for business and pleasure. The internet services are very efficient, the room service is quick and the rooms are very very clean. The bathroom is spacious and very functional, it is very well played out and very clean.

The compound of the hotel I very small, and does not have enough parking space, so once there are many guests for a meeting or conference, parking immediately becomes a major problem. I think it would also be help full if the hotel arranges airport pick up and do offs as part of their accommodation packages.

Overall this a good value for money environment and would be highly recommended to all for a visit.

Mgbarasa.

Room Tip: The various rooms have different configuration, so pick a room that has a bit of space for sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgbarasa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Mgbarasa

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in October. Thanks a lot for the candid review of our facilities and services. I will definitely pass your positive feedback on to our TEAM.

I agree that the parking space get filled up very soon, especially on weekdays as we host a number of conferences on these days & Protea Hotel Courtyard is quite a popular conference venue. However, we have sought permission from the municipality to landscape, develop and expand the space along the main road so that more parking can be offered. I am positive that this will address the issue to some extent.

The tariffs are quite reasonable and the costs involved in operating airport transfers are fairly high ( high cost of fuel due to heavy traffic, wear and tear of vehicle etc) , hence offering airport transfers as part of the accommodation package might be tough, but we will definitely consider your suggestion. We charge $25/- one way for one person, which is line with the normal taxi charges in Dar.

We look forward to host you again soon.

I remain,

Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels-Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Jambo Habari Gani - Dinesh (& Staff)
As always you guys exceeded the normal boundaries of hospitality!
Jumping into your crystal clear pool fully clothed is my best treat after weeks on the road, followed by an ice cold beer, pipping hot shower and a "real" bed with clean crisp sheets to sleep in! All the staff knew Raine by name within minutes of our arrival.
Anyone you stays anywhere else when in Dar is missing out.
Safari Njema
Barry, Annaliene & Raine

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BezzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Barry, Annaliene & Raine

Good day and Jambo from your beloved Tanzania! It was an absolute pleasure to host you, Annaliene & Raine at our hotel. I am delighted to hear that my TEAM, as always, ensured your comfort. They are a great bunch and I am privileged to be working with them. We look forward to host you again soon and wish you all the best with everything that you do.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

A mix of old world colonial and Zanzibari style, a quaint little hotel that offers reasonable service, decent rooms at reasonable prices (by Dar es Salaam standards).
Nothing particularly spectacular but reasonably good value and good food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. Thank you for the positive comments, but sad to hear we couldn't offer you anything spectacular. We look forward to host you again and perhaps impress you with our genuine hospitality. Please do let me know if there is anything I can improve on as I noticed that you have stayed in many hotels in Dar and have reviewed them. My email address is below.


Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
681 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Address: Seaview Ocean Road, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Courtyard offers affordable accommodation in Dar es Salaam, the financial hub of Tanzania. Apart from the friendly and efficient service, along with the high quality facilities, Protea Hotel Courtyard’s location makes it one of the most preferred hotels by both corporate and leisure travellers. This is because the hotel is only 12 kms from the airport, 3 kms from the city centre and 500 metres away from a tranquil, beautiful beach. The hotel offers attractive rates for overnight accommodation to leisure travellers before or after safaris to the famous Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, Sealous Game Reserve and Zanzibar. All 52 en-suite rooms are built around a beautiful, lush, green courtyard with the view of the pool. They are tastefully decorated and are equipped with all modern amenities including 32 inch LCD TV offering satellite TV channels (DSTV), personal electronic (laptop friendly) safe, mini bar and direct dialling enabled telephones. Free high speed internet is available via WIFI for our hotel residents. Protea Hotel Courtyard offers a wide array of wining and dining facilities, which comprise of Langi Langi – our multi-cuisine restaurant, Open House – 24 hr coffee shop, Jahazi Bar and 24 hour room service. With so many activities in the area, like a swimming pool, golf courses, yachting and a gym; get ready for an action packed holiday. Not to mention the shopping facilities nearby for all those last minute gifts and memorabilia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing