We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent place for conferences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

i loved the attitude of conference staff and receptionists. The wash rooms are kept clean. Cuisine is good. My request for my special diet was fully met.

My congratulations!

Prof Michael Munkumba
mbmunkumba@gmail.com

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAAArusha_Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and choosing our conference facilities for your seminar. I am glad that our TEAM look after all your needs, especially the special diet request. I will pass your compliments on to our TEAM.

We look forward to host you again soon.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

As others are noting, the service here is great. Always very friendly smiles and people eager to help in any way.

The room was very comfortable and nice, although a bit on the cozy side. As I was travelling solo for business, it didn't matter -- was just right. The rooms look out over the courtyard and pool, creating a very tranquil vibe. Great buffet breakfast including a wonderful chai. The food for dinner is good quality too, and the glasses of wine are generous!

I would definitely recommend & would be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Beccarito

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with is and taking time to write this candid review. I am glad that our TEAM did a great job in ensuring your comfort and that you found the hotel to be of good value for money. We look forward to host you again soon. Have a great week ahead.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We came to this hotel after a 2 day stay in Dubai and I must say the warm reception and friendly staff was a welcome change. The rooms are very clean, charming and overlook the pool and a beautiful courtyard. We spent 4 nights and ate 3 breakfasts and 3 dinners in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was included in our stay and offered many choices. My favorite being the watermelon juice, fresh fruit and masala tea. In the evening we began in the cozy bar eating samosas and sampling African beer. I wanted to sample everything on the dinner menu
so the 4 of us ordered different entrees every night and sampled each others but there were still some things we didn't get to taste. Every bite was delicious!
The location of the hotel doesn't lend itself for wandering but the hotel itself is extremely safe and peaceful. I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if stairs are a problem you will want to stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear laurzig

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dar es Salaam and sharing your experience with the travel community. I am delighted to hear that everything that a discerning traveller needs was taken care of and we managed to tickle your taste buds. I will pass your comments to the STAFF, especially the Kitchen brigade. I consider myself lucky to be managing a hotel like this where each and every STAFF try to excel in what they do. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Dinish-you have an absolute gem here! Excellent and friendly staff and every request was attended to promptly and efficiently. Everything works here from the aircon, lights, Wi-fi to the plumbing and everything is spotlessly clean. Well done to you and your team! I shall have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending your hotel to friends and colleagues and I shall be mentioning this to my company. We were on business and had the pleasure of staying at the Protea Hotel Courtyard for three very enjoyable nights. The rest of the Protea group can learn a lot from you and your staff. Very well done!
Captain Watkins & crew.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Keith W

Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard, Thank you and your crew for staying with us recently and taking time to write this absolutely wonderful review. I am really glad that we managed to score on all points, needless to say all credit goes to our wonderful TEAM. I will definitely pass your comments on to them, they will be delighted to hear that their efforts are being appreciated.

We look forward to host you again, Ahsante Sana!

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stopped here for a night before starting an overland tour. There was a small snafu with the rooms because I had booked through my tour company (mistake!) and the hotel couldn't do much because they were fully booked. Also we were having difficulty dealing with the heat and we went apoplectic when we accidentally turned off the A/C and couldn't get it turned back on. They dealt with us very calmly and fixed everything that could be fixed for us--yes we slept very well with the assistance of modern HVAC working properly :)They also met our special request for a birthday cake and made us an entire black forest cake which was delicious and on the house. I owe a debt of gratitude to Miriam who kept her cool and took care of us even when we were flipping our lids.

Rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. Breakfast was good and the restaurant in general good and very accommodating. I can't comment on the location as we didn't get out to visit much of Dar in the short time we were there. But if you have reason to stay in Dar, they will take good care of you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear mullydad

Good day, greetings from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience with us. I am Really glad to hear that our STAFF took good care of you with the genuine hospitality that we are known for. I will definitely pass your message to Miriam and will thank her for a job well done! We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Welcoming staff in a well kept and charming small hotel. Visited for lunch and had an excellent meal with chicken biriani and murg salwala which were all very tasty. The courtyard setting is great also great though staff should be trained not to speak across the courtyard and perhaps plates could be carried on trays. Minor distractions to a great lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavinareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Gavinareid

Good day, thank you for dining with us and taking time to review your experience. I am happy to learn that you had a very enjoyable lunch with great service and delicious food. I apologise for the minor distractions caused by STAFF noise, I will address the issues you pointed out with them. We look forward to serve and host you again.


Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After long days work and cruising through the traffic jams of Dar it was like landing in a peaceful heaven. Very good food, friendly and professional staff. Very clean and large room. What more could I have asked for ?

Unfortunately, did not have time to enjoy the SPA !

Room Tip: 209 Chamber was perfect ! but it is the only one I know !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Dear Maya W

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Courtyard. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am really glad that we managed to score on all the essentials. Sorry to hear you didn't get time to try the gym ( spa is offsite, not in the hotel). We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#11 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
719 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
517 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard

Address: Seaview Ocean Road, Dar es Salaam 1000, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £72 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Courtyard offers affordable accommodation in Dar es Salaam, the financial hub of Tanzania. Apart from the friendly and efficient service, along with the high quality facilities, Protea Hotel Courtyard’s location makes it one of the most preferred hotels by both corporate and leisure travellers. This is because the hotel is only 12 kms from the airport, 3 kms from the city centre and 500 metres away from a tranquil, beautiful beach. The hotel offers attractive rates for overnight accommodation to leisure travellers before or after safaris to the famous Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, Sealous Game Reserve and Zanzibar. All 52 en-suite rooms are built around a beautiful, lush, green courtyard with the view of the pool. They are tastefully decorated and are equipped with all modern amenities including 32 inch LCD TV offering satellite TV channels (DSTV), personal electronic (laptop friendly) safe, mini bar and direct dialling enabled telephones. Free high speed internet is available via WIFI for our hotel residents. Protea Hotel Courtyard offers a wide array of wining and dining facilities, which comprise of Langi Langi – our multi-cuisine restaurant, Open House – 24 hr coffee shop, Jahazi Bar and 24 hour room service. With so many activities in the area, like a swimming pool, golf courses, yachting and a gym; get ready for an action packed holiday. Not to mention the shopping facilities nearby for all those last minute gifts and memorabilia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing